We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ***** Palace hotel of total good taste and refinement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A ***** Palace hotel of total good taste and refinement”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First of all, this hotel is situated just by the river Douro with incredible views.
The way this old palace was transformed in a top-class hotel deserves an architecture prize.
The interior of a former industrial plant sitting just next to the palace was completely redesigned and rebuilt to host the guests' rooms, spa, warm swimming pool and meeting rooms.
The palace itself hosts the classic salons, restaurant and event rooms.
The outside swimming pool is of the type in which the water level is the same as the surrounding terrace. Therefore, if you swim in this pool, you will not have any visual obstacle between yourself and Nature (the river and the trees). Magic !
The snack close to the swimlming pool is a good choice for lunch.
We had dinner in the hotel. Very good.
Breakfast is one of the very best I ever had in terms of variety, quality of the products and service as well.
Prices are more than reasonable for such a magnificent place.
If you intend to visit Porto (Oporto), leave ypour car at the palace and take the free shuttle to and back from town. Reception will inform you about the timetable of available shuttles.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top-floors room. The view from there is even more astounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    353
    84
    38
    15
See reviews for
363
1,003
16
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just back from four nights. Stayed in a suite (room 418) which was gorgeous - tons of space. Note, your rooms are not in the palace but the building next door, which has a charm of itself. The breakfast area is sensational, as are all the public rooms. The temperature rocketed while we were there, so the pool area - they have one on the river and an indoor one - was fantastic. Only gripe I had was the distance from town - but they do lay on a free minibus for 10 and 11am to get you in, if you remember to book it. Porto is a great place for a long weekend, much better than Lisbon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Such a lovely experience with great staff in every area that we tried.
The reception,bar,restaurant,pool side etc.
Food well cooked,understood and interesting with some delicious local items.
Wonderful public rooms,with well maintained rooms.
The staff gave wonderful advice and we will go back again.
We were made to feel very special.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 834Beauchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzelia, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This beautiful hotel deserves a day to stay in and enjoy it. A palace turned hotel with all the luxury details of a first class hotel. The rooms are big and comfortable. The pool in front of the river. The breakfast spectacular! A must! Located just minutes from downtown but not walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yharary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West hartford Ct
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Not only were the room, breakfast and facilities excellent, but the service by the staff was outstanding. With their assistance, we were able to return our rental car to the rental agency, when the GPS could not find the address. Porto streets were difficult for driving: the Concierge (Louis) led the way in a hotel vehicle and stopped traffic to allow us to enter the driveway of the car rental shop. No way we could have found it without him! Our three day stay was a perfect visit to Porto! Arlene

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the the Pousada do Porto from May 7th and departed on May 9th. The rooms were huge, and the balcony was amazing. The breakfast was excellent. The buildings were beautiful, and we even took several pictures of the inside of the hotel. The only problem was that the hotel is located outside the city of Porto, and you need transportation to go to the city center. Our tour provided the transportation, so it was not really a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on business for just one night. When I arrived, my reservation was not there because of a mistake, but not from the hotel's side. However the staff of the hotel performed on the highest level when I could really feel the care taken of me. Most things were guessed in advance and I felt like the things will go rolling even if I don't focus on it.
The site is also impressive, it is a palace on the bank of the river and from the first step it gives you good relationship with the city.
I was however not very much impressed by my room. It was very good quality but the interior was rather basic. I guess there are better ones, however I expected something rather historical. Besides, the view of my room was on the backyard and it was not spectacular.
I have to point out the breakfast was great - with champagne and fresh fruits.
I really wish the weather was better when I arrived because I'm sure it would ensure a better overall impression.
Thanks to the girls on the reception! Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing