We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Little Egg Harbor NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at hotel as part of a Vantage river cruise package. Beautiful hotel. Our first room was missing a safe so they moved us right away to a beautiful suite. Staff were wonderful. Meals were great. So nice to sit outside by the river.

Shout out to Vantage since they always book the best hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    336
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
341
931
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Pousado do Porto is the most lavish, over-the-top hotel experience I've ever had. The reception, bar, restaurant and other common areas are in a gorgeously baroque riverside palace (built in 1742), surrounded by spectacular gardens and a stunning infinity pool. The rooms themselves are in an impeccably renovated building (and one-time grain storage structure) with fifteen foot ceilings, massive windows, and sleek, elegant bath facilities. Below the hotel structure are ballrooms, and below that (on the river) is a beautiful indoor pool with spa facilities. The staff is helpful, friendly, and oh-so-professional, and the amenities are second to none. The hotel is east of the Ribeira and the rest of Porto (and down a long, steep hill from the main train station), but other than a slightly-remote location, you won't find a more luxurious hotel on this or any other continent. The rack rate for a room is 240 Euros, which for a hotel of this splendor is a relative bargain.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on ground floor of the south side of the hotel, facing both the palace (on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerInNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

From the moment of arrival to leaving this Hotel it was fab, the location, the views across the River Douro was amazing. We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time, the staff where brilliant and nothing was too much trouble,never opened a car door, nor a door in the hotel and never lifted any luggage,either it was all sent to our room !! the food was simply amazing, the breakfast buffet worth a photo with chilled Champagne too! and we where even invited to the Italian Ambassadors cocktail and dinner evening, How nice was that!! The room was great with great views, They even had a courtsey bus to take us and collect us into Porto. Nice touch on check in with a glass of Port and a nice comfy chair.Cannot say enough about this supberb Hotel in Porto. Would like to return sometime.

Room Tip: In "The Old Mill" looking across The River Douro
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank particular315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights & were very impressed and this was mainly down to excellent service & the attitude of the great staff. We booked a suite & requested a river view room, which unfortunately we didn't get, so that was disappointing especially when you book 3 months in advance and an expensive room. However the suite we had was lovely; enormous & very contemporary but with a nice feel. We did have a bit of a view of the river, but unfortunately the main view was of the warehouses/lorries at the back. But overall this didn't really spoil our stay. We ate in the restaurant one night & were very impressed. Service excellent and food and wine good value for money.
It is around 2 miles from Porto centre so it is a taxi ride (5-6€) or the you can use the return complimentary shuttle bus which was useful. We did walk back along the river once & it took around 50 mins.
The building has an unusual layout & as previous reviews state - all the bedrooms are in a building attached accessed via lifts & corridors - but that was fine. Bar food was very reasonable, although drinks a little overpriced; we paid 12€ For a Tanquery gin & tonic! Breakfasts lovely & plentiful - great choice too - service slightly too attentive & I had my plate removed as I'd lifted the last piece of food to my mouth! Amusing rather than annoying though.
Our only real gripe during our stay were the behaviours of some of the guests who piled into the small bar lounge to watch the World Cup game Portugal vs. USA game on television. As real football fans we arrived early to an almost empty lounge to watch the earlier game so had a good view. Just before & after kick off before kick a large number of late guests arrived & spent the next 15 minutes moving furniture around, so they could get a good seat & then a fracas developed with abuse & throwing of peanuts because others were blocking the view! After half hour we were so appalled by the behaviour of guests we retreated to watch the game in our hotel room! Shame as we were looking forward to it. We did ring the duty manager the next morning to feedback & she was very polite & apologetic. But otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable experience & we loved Porto; it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneShropshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear YvonneShropshire_UK,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are really happy that eventhough you had a one or two misfortunate experiences, you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future, with our promise that we will do our best to make your stay perfect!

Warm Regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I can not say enough wonderful things about our pre-stay and stay experience at the Pousada do Porto. The communication via e-mail with the Guest Services Manager, Paula Coutinho was concise, friendly and informative. The arrival process was smooth, welcoming and professional- one is greeted with a refreshing glass of rose porto! And the room was superb. Well designed, comfortable and we had a great view of the Duero from our balcony. The breakfast was gracious and the service superb. While the property is a 45 min. walk to the old port the Pousada offers transportation in the morning and the afternoon. Paula thank you and your co-workers for a wonderful experience. I tell everyone I meet about the dinner at O'Paprico.

Room Tip: Make sure you work with Paula Coutinho and the staff. They know Porto well and are very friendly and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Olá Christopher000,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you! Have you learned a little bit more of Portuguese?

As I mentioned when you were here, Paparico is also one of my favourites places...

I wish you all the best and until next time, hopefully soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had an international three-days-conference in the ball room. The preparation and the service was perfect All conference members were accomodated in the hotel's nice and quiet rooms.
A delicious welcome dinner was served outside in the Italian garden - the first highlight of the stay. Although the food had to be carried about 30 meters, it stayed hot at the tables under a cloche and was served perfectly.
Lunch buffets were delicious and generous (5 starters, 2 quiches, soup, hot dish, 5 deserts).
Meals à la carte were delicious.
Breakfast with a lot of cut fresh fruit.

Room Tip: All rooms with -06 at the end have a sensational view, but all rooms are spacious and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank office628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear RosellaMunich,

Thank very much for the compliments!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Palace, especially our food. For sure our Chef will be very happy!

Have a great day and until next time!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just recently stayed in Porto at this outstanding Posada. The main palace has been renovated and is outstanding. The rooms are located in an adjacent old plant that has been converted to rooms. Incredible how well done and pleasant it is. The first night we ate in a special room with candelabras --truly going back in time with great hospitality and opulence. View from main hotel and rooms are of the Douro River. Had lunch by the pool and truly enjoyed the views and service.
Great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdentiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mcdentiste,

WOW! Thank you so much! We are really happy that you had an incredible experience in our Palace. I will share your compliments with our team.

Have a great day and until next time!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing