We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed two nights in the pousada as part of the Pousada Passport package. It was a little confusing finding the hotel although we could see it clearly as we crossed over the bridge. The driveway looks more like an esplanade and the sign was hidden behind a tree! However, we figured it out (roundabouts were very helpful here in turning around) and the staff was very friendly.

Note that the guest rooms are NOT in the palace, but are in the neighboring restored factory. It sort of annoying to move between the two buildings, but that's what happens with historic buildings. The palace is lovely and we enjoyed the main rooms and the bar (I posted a restaurant review separately). Breakfast was included in our package and the food was fine but the coffee was terrible. What is it with the pousadas and their bad coffee? (We had similar issues in Guimaraes and Estremoz.)

We had a room on the second floor overlooking the palace and a bit of the river. The room was spacious and well-appointed but was painted the most hideous shade of muddy olive green and the curtains, carpet and bathroom tile ALL MATCHED. Wonder who made that design choice!

Room service was prompt and requests for extra towels and an iron were answered quickly.

The palace is quite far from town. We had a car so we drove in one day and just parked and walked around. Not sure if there is a shuttle service, but taxis are abundant and not very expensive.

Room Tip: Pick a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank slipjiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The chilled rose port welcome drink on arrival is a lovely touch and the best welcome drink ever. Check in was fast and friendly and we were shown immediately to our room. Superior rooms have river views but just be aware that you could have a side room with views of the the next door factory and derelict buildings too. It wasn't a problem for us but a full river view would have been really special.
The room is a typical hotel room with comfortable beds, a tv and strange artwork on the walls. There are no tea or coffee making facilities so if you like a cup of tea or coffee in your room be prepared to pay for room service or take your own. The hotel will provide a kettle and cups very quickly if asked. Strangely though it's not housekeeping's job to provide clean cups so don't expect that. The rooms are quiet with very little noise from other guests. There is free, fast wifi.
On the first evening we had dinner in the restaurant. There is a 4.50 euro cover charge per person for bread and olives. I'm not sure what happens if you don't want bread and olives. Living in France we are not used to having to pay for bread but now we know but 9 euros stillseems excessive!
The food was ok but not outstanding and the desserts were from the buffet.
For breakfast there was quite a good choice of cold and hot food, as well as fruit, cereal and sparkling wine if you wanted it. The orange juice was from concentrate sadly but there were a couple of other juices like watermelon.
We used the shuttle service to and from the town which was prompt and very useful tho taxis are not expensive and the staff are happy to call one for you.
Overall this was a very pleasant place to stay with friendly, helpful staff but I wouldn't put it at five-star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Douro River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayd one week on this property. Front office staff were really helpfull when we asked different kind of services and help to explore city and surrounding areas. Also breakfast staff were helpfull, specially when one of our friends was glutein free, she got nice glutein free products straight from kitchen. However i have to say that when this hotel is 5 star, they have extremely poor tea selection at the restaurant during breakfast time (only lipton teabags, which are awful). Generally pool area was nice and tidy, but they had over priced products there. F.ex. my Caesar salad cost 11€ and it was so small that it wouldn´t be even apetizer size. Hotel rooms at least 309 and 308 were enough large either that we stayd longer period. General cleanliness was ok, but in the bathroom it wasn´t so nice. There was black mole or something on the walls. However this hotel would be any way our choice if we would go back to porto.

Room Tip: Ask rooms to douro view, it is nice during evening and Morning times. if you like to have larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mikko_J_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Majestic, marvelous, and top notch. As a member of the leading hotels of the world, this hotel is the place to stay. The lobby, bar and meeting rooms are amazing, with high ceilings, tasteful decor, amazing paintings on the ceiling. Everywhere in the hotel, there is class and attention to detail. It explains why people want to have their weddings here (there were 2 happening when we were here). Best of all, the beds & pillows were very comfortable. If ever back in Porto, this will be my place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bmorecmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. It was amazing. The public areas are in a former mansion and the rooms are in a former warehouse. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. It is also very quiet. Our room was a corner room and it was huge. It overlooked the Douro River. High speed internet is free and there is a high definition TV in the room. The breakfast served is amazing. The choices are many. There is no public transportation to the hotel and cabs are about 6 to 7 euros to the touristic parts of the city. The hotel is full feature with every amenity that you can think of. The only criticism is that the bath tub is irregularly shaped with high sides and hard to get in and out of if you are a big person. The staff was always willing to help and called cabs and obtained and printed boarding passes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything was wonderful! The setting is beautiful on the Douro River. We had our twelve year old grandson who enjoyed the infinity pool. We walked to the boat harbor for a casual meal one evening. Our only regret is that we should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ahowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A lovely former palace converted into a hotel. Just a mile or so up the Duoro River with a lovely pool and almost sea side feel. It's a nice riverside walk (45mins) into the town centre but the taxis are cheap (6E) or there is a regular bus service for 1.85E. Breakfast buffet is huge and staff are helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BarnsleyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 111 in Porto
1,135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £129 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most unique and vibrant city of Portugal, discover the palace of the eighteenth century that, for a few days, will be your haven. Pestana Palácio do Freixo belongs to the Leading Hotels of the World and offers a unique and absolutely memorable experience, wrapped in classic luxury and filled with contemporary comfort. Located on the river that gives life to the best wine in the world, Pestana Palácio do Freixo rises serene, between French-style gardens and granite stonework, in a contrasting and balanced dialogue that welcomes you with care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing