We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect venue for a 3-days business meeting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a 3-days business meeting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I can only recommend a stay in the Pousada! The location, the rooms, the conference hall, the pool and the garden are excellent! The team is perfect, very professional and always ready to solve last minute changes with a smile!
If someone needs to organize a meeting - either professional or private - the pousada is definitely the right place!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank office628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear RosellaMunich,

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are really glad that your meeting went well and you enjoyed our Pousada. We are sincerely grateful for recommending us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Have a great day!

Warm regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    324
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
328
904
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

On a first trip to Porto we picked the Freixo palace as it looked slightly quirky for a city hotel and we liked the idea of the swimming pool overlooking the river. We couldn't have been more delighted with our choice. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left everyone was very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel transfer into Porto is useful but with 4 of us in our party it was far easier to jump in a taxi and the cost was minimal. The rooms were fantastic but we did treat ourselves to a suite so cannot comment on standard rooms. Breakfast choice was lovely and on a couple of occasions we did get tempted with the champagne, can't praise this hotel enough and we fully intend to return sometime.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluegirl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Bluegirl1957,

WOW!!! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank very much for your kind words.

Have a great day and until next time, hopefully soon!

Warm regards,

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent four nights here with my sister and we had a lovely time. Super rooms with the best black out curtains - could have slept for hours more! A beautiful hotel that has been so tastefully renovated keeping the original charm, lots of antiques but not ostentatious. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. A good 50 minute walk into Oporto along the river but a shame this was the road - the other direction had a riverside walk with the road a distance away. The breakfast was great and the one night we had dinner at the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor where it was very quiet but you could see the river and beautiful hotel g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed two nights in the pousada as part of the Pousada Passport package. It was a little confusing finding the hotel although we could see it clearly as we crossed over the bridge. The driveway looks more like an esplanade and the sign was hidden behind a tree! However, we figured it out (roundabouts were very helpful here in turning around) and the staff was very friendly.

Note that the guest rooms are NOT in the palace, but are in the neighboring restored factory. It sort of annoying to move between the two buildings, but that's what happens with historic buildings. The palace is lovely and we enjoyed the main rooms and the bar (I posted a restaurant review separately). Breakfast was included in our package and the food was fine but the coffee was terrible. What is it with the pousadas and their bad coffee? (We had similar issues in Guimaraes and Estremoz.)

We had a room on the second floor overlooking the palace and a bit of the river. The room was spacious and well-appointed but was painted the most hideous shade of muddy olive green and the curtains, carpet and bathroom tile ALL MATCHED. Wonder who made that design choice!

Room service was prompt and requests for extra towels and an iron were answered quickly.

The palace is quite far from town. We had a car so we drove in one day and just parked and walked around. Not sure if there is a shuttle service, but taxis are abundant and not very expensive.

Room Tip: Pick a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slipjiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The chilled rose port welcome drink on arrival is a lovely touch and the best welcome drink ever. Check in was fast and friendly and we were shown immediately to our room. Superior rooms have river views but just be aware that you could have a side room with views of the the next door factory and derelict buildings too. It wasn't a problem for us but a full river view would have been really special.
The room is a typical hotel room with comfortable beds, a tv and strange artwork on the walls. There are no tea or coffee making facilities so if you like a cup of tea or coffee in your room be prepared to pay for room service or take your own. The hotel will provide a kettle and cups very quickly if asked. Strangely though it's not housekeeping's job to provide clean cups so don't expect that. The rooms are quiet with very little noise from other guests. There is free, fast wifi.
On the first evening we had dinner in the restaurant. There is a 4.50 euro cover charge per person for bread and olives. I'm not sure what happens if you don't want bread and olives. Living in France we are not used to having to pay for bread but now we know but 9 euros stillseems excessive!
The food was ok but not outstanding and the desserts were from the buffet.
For breakfast there was quite a good choice of cold and hot food, as well as fruit, cereal and sparkling wine if you wanted it. The orange juice was from concentrate sadly but there were a couple of other juices like watermelon.
We used the shuttle service to and from the town which was prompt and very useful tho taxis are not expensive and the staff are happy to call one for you.
Overall this was a very pleasant place to stay with friendly, helpful staff but I wouldn't put it at five-star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Douro River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayd one week on this property. Front office staff were really helpfull when we asked different kind of services and help to explore city and surrounding areas. Also breakfast staff were helpfull, specially when one of our friends was glutein free, she got nice glutein free products straight from kitchen. However i have to say that when this hotel is 5 star, they have extremely poor tea selection at the restaurant during breakfast time (only lipton teabags, which are awful). Generally pool area was nice and tidy, but they had over priced products there. F.ex. my Caesar salad cost 11€ and it was so small that it wouldn´t be even apetizer size. Hotel rooms at least 309 and 308 were enough large either that we stayd longer period. General cleanliness was ok, but in the bathroom it wasn´t so nice. There was black mole or something on the walls. However this hotel would be any way our choice if we would go back to porto.

Room Tip: Ask rooms to douro view, it is nice during evening and Morning times. if you like to have larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikko_J_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Majestic, marvelous, and top notch. As a member of the leading hotels of the world, this hotel is the place to stay. The lobby, bar and meeting rooms are amazing, with high ceilings, tasteful decor, amazing paintings on the ceiling. Everywhere in the hotel, there is class and attention to detail. It explains why people want to have their weddings here (there were 2 happening when we were here). Best of all, the beds & pillows were very comfortable. If ever back in Porto, this will be my place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bmorecmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing