We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very gratifying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porto Trindade
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

It was my first time to visit Porto or Portugal, and my friend & I were very impressed with the city. A free map at the airport and the convenient Metro system led me to believe that Porto is a very tourist friendly city.
The Porto Trindade Hotel where we stayed is only a couple of minutes from Trindade Metro station. The Metro is very convenient and inexpensive. You can pick up the Metro at the airport. The hotel is chic, well designed, and environmentally conscious. The staff is courteous and informative. A welcome drink of Porto wine warmed my body after a long flight and layover. The room is adequate in size, modernly laid out, clean, and comfortable. There is a fridge and a teakettle to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in the room. Two bottles of water are also provided every day. The plug outlet is for a two-prong socket. Make sure to bring a converter.
In front of the hotel, you can take a bus to the riverfront, where most of the sites are located, but we walked down every morning and evening. It is a good walking distance, 20 minutes straight down to the river and 25 minutes up. We enjoyed the walking because Porto is not very warm in summer. When we were there last week, the temperature went up to the lower 80’s. The mornings and evenings are chilly. You need good walking shoes, because the cobblestone streets were hard on our feet.
Breakfast the hotel provided us had many choices and was freshly prepared. The bar seems not to be frequently visited but the man in charge, named Raul, is very charming and educated us about the wine, the city, and the people.
We took a full day Doulo River cruise and were disappointed. It was too long and boring. We should have booked a winery tour, instead. The tram ride was a fun way to see the city. It brought us to different interesting parts of Porto. The cellar visit is a must. Of course, you can taste the Porto wines, and you will be well informed about the history and how to make Porto wines.
Porto was a wonderful city for us. We travelled easily & comfortably, and were gastronomically impressed. The Porto Trindade Hotel was very gratifying.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Porto Trindade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. The best about the hotel is definitely its location, 5 min walk away from 'Aliados' and right in front of Trindade Metro Station.

The hotel itself is on the low side of the 4 stars. The rooms are "modern", functional but a bit small and not very comfortable, the mattresses weren't very nice, we could feel the springs. The bedding isn't changed every day, but the towels are. Wi-Fi signal was very low in our bedroom, we decided to go to the bar one day as we needed to check our emails, but the Wi-Fi wasn't working there either, we were told they were having problems with the hub and waiting for someone to come and fix it.

There was a smell of sewage mid-morning in our bedroom and we complained to the staff, the smell was gone when we came back, however, we realised this happened the next day as well and the smell was throughout the hotel. Staff said it happens sometimes.

The staff at the hotel were ok, but they weren't as nice as in most 4 star hotels we've been.

As the bar didn't open until five, we decided to have a drink at the little cafe next to the hotel and whilst we were sitting outside, a woman sitting behind us was robbed. So if you're staying here, make sure you're careful around the area.

All in all it was good value for money as we got a very good deal, and the location of the hotel made it easy for us to go everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingBroomstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel was fantastic! Great breakfast, very clean rooms, comfortable beds and central location. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it whole-heartedly to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Topalova V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just back from a 5 day break at the Trindade Hotel which was a total joy. The hotel is just terrific; modern design, sparkling clean, superb breakfast room (and breakfast), effecient and friendly staff. It also situated directly opposite the transport hub where all 6 Metro lines pass through and where you can get regular buses (the 900's) to Riberia, the old town on the Douro River, and the Port Caves on the far bank. You can also walk in 5 minutes to the main central Avenue and in 10 to the shopping streets. And to top it off, there is small roof terrace where you can sit and let the world go by. Porto is a bit run down in parts - the recession is clearly biting here - but has great charm and well worth a visit. And if you are going make sure you go to the Trindade, one of the best value hotels I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a room at the back as on Saturday night last week they had DJ "music...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is a short walk from Trindade metro (go up the hill) and about 10 minutes walk into the centre. The neighborhood was safe, though not much around. The hotel is modern and new looking, with friendly, helpful staff. The room was generally clean and a good size, with 2 firm single beds. It also had a small fridge and a small bottle of complimentary water was provided daily. A rack was provided to put suitcase on. There was a personal safe in the room. A computer with free internet access and printer was available in the lobby, which also had a nicely decorated lounge area. There was a lot of choice in the breakfast, including scrambled and boiled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts, pastries and juices.

Though I was given a room away from the street as requested, the walls are thin, as I was awakened by boisterous talking from room next door. I called the front desk at 2am, complained and they addressed the issue, reaffirming the helpfulness and service orientation of the front desk. This was also reflected in the very quick responses they sent to my email requests prior to my arrival.

Small design item, is that it would be helpful if there were a soap dish in the wall of the shower. Good thing though is that unlike most European showers which are small, this one was a fair size.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from street, but be aware that walls might be thin. Bring earplugs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europetrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very good value for money. Room very clean, lots of space. Very modern style and decoration. Service, availabilty and attitude of hotel staff also grand. Breakfast great as well, lots of food to choose from. Our room had a safe and we hardly heard any noise from within the hotel or from the street.
Small minor elements: wifi only good at reception/lobby, # television channels quite limited, through ultra modern style the bar lacks some comfort/ cosiness.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arjo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It's been our second time in this hotel and it was really nice again.
Great location, right next to the Trindade Metro Station and 5min walk to the center.
The rooms are very spacious, confortable and clean. And it's a very quiet hotel.
The breakfast is vey complete and the staff is very friendly.
I'll certainly come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofiaG10_Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Henrique Hotel
Dom Henrique Hotel
#25 of 108 in Porto
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.4 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Premium Porto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Trindade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Trindade

Address: Rua de Camoes 129 131, Porto 4000-144, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £52 - £852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Trindade 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Porto Trindade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing