We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay while discovering beautiful Porto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while discovering beautiful Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed in Audience room which was very good sized room, with lots of space. Seperate shower and bathtub, nice cosmetic products. The room was on the dark side but this is the thema of the hotel so no problem with us. The bed was a little bit too hard for me but then again had a good sleep on it. Missed audio set for Ipod which nowadays a must accessory for the hotel of this class, in room tea/coffee making facilities would be a nice plus as well. Breakfast is good though I did expect more local products. Hotel Staff is friendly and helpfull. Nice place to stay in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    562
    170
    30
    20
See reviews for
154
898
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bordeaux
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Good central location, great buffet breakfast each morning and nice bar area to sip a glass of porto before or after one's meal (although did not dine in the hotel itself). Most disappointing was the bedroom - it was really dark even with lights. That aside it was tiny, everything was hidden behind a curtain which revealed minimal hanging space, no shelves for clothes and not even a chair to sit on in the room apart from at a desk. Bathroom was not very private - glass partition to area one side with loo and glass partition to shower on other side. NO where to put anything ... and all hidden behind - yes you have guessed a curtain! Never once on 4 evenings we went to bar area did the bar man utter a word or smile apart from to give us our bill ...but that aside morning waitress in restarant was friendly. Bedrooms were the big let down and now worth the price that we paid. Most disappointing .....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This is a newly refurbished hotel with a theatrical theme. Lighting in the corridors is provided by spotlamps, the carpet is patterned with spotlamps and the overall feel is very plush.

The negatives first: my wife and I both felt the room was a little cramped. Trying to avoid the end of the bed I kept bumping into the TV mounted on the opposite wall. I am well-built but my wife had the same problem and she is only 5 foot 1. The lighting, which we assumed was supposed to be 'subdued', actually feels quite gloomy. The bathroom was well fitted out, but smoked glass doors didn't make for privacy which even the closest couples want at some times.

Breakfast was good. There were organic products available - bread, fruit, yogurts and milk - which I haven't seen in a Portuguese hotel before. Again, however, there was a lack of space - the serve-yourself tables soon got crowded and dining tables were very close together.

On the positive side, the hotel has an excellent location and is an ideal base for exploring Porto. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel must be well sound-proofed because there were no noise problems at all. We both slept like logs. Finally, the staff are excellent and attentive and really add to the experience of your stay. Well done to them!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enoch_Sneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Great hotel, centrally located, close to tube, beautiful room, great breakfast , lovely bed and friendly staff. Only down side was the internet connection was very slow but that didn'tt bother me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AoifeMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Cool design. Modern style. Dark but we liked it.

Breakfast was a cold buffet but it was well stocked and plenty of variety.

Good location and good service. rooms clean daily to a high standard. Beds were super comfortable. Room not huge but adequate.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alocinapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Teatro Hotel Porto is very central, close to Sao Bento metro station, and only a few minutes away from many of the sites (cathedral, Ribeira area, etc...).

Teatro Hotel Porto has an interesting design, with dark colors (mostly brown, gold,...) and a pleasant bar with music or videos (giant TV).
My room was quite small, but very pleasant, as well as the bathroom.

Excellent breakfast with a lot of choice.

Curiously photos are forbidden inside the lobby!

Overall it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Our stay at Hotel Teatro was a highlight from our week in Portugal. I loved the unique design with the theater motif and how they managed to pull it off without being too kitchy. We stayed in a Gallery Room and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern with a great overhead shower (it felt like you were standing in the rain!). The breakfast (included in room rate) had a wide selection of pastries, fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses, and eggs cooked to order. We ate one night at the restaurant and the shrimp curry was one of the tastiest meals from the trip. I found the staff to be very helpful in making suggestions for our stay in Porto. Out of the 4 hotels from our trip, I would recommend this one first!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia70808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing