We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bipolar review.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bipolar review.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff was great. The location was great. The included breakfast buffet was great. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

On the other hand, the room was too dark for a gentleman to shave properly or for a lady to apply makeup. There was insufficient storage (we were there for six nights). The "high concept" bath tub/shower looks great, but there was no planning for adequate drainage, and the bathroom and the foyer were flooded. The folks at the front desk said that this is a common occurrence. (This strikes us as cruel to the housekeeping staff.) The lack of privacy in the bathroom only works if you're sharing with somebody you're really in love with. Fortunately, we meet that criterion. Otherwise, it could be pretty uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Omnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    578
    173
    32
    21
See reviews for
157
918
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Good location. 1/2 block from one of Hop-on, Hop-off bus stops, two blocks uphill from farmers market with fresh fruits and bakery goods. A nice and dirt cheap very tasty grill 1/4 block up on the other side. Hotel is intentionally dark which is great. Rooms are not that large but unusually minmalistic multifunctional design of toilet and shower doors ads some unexpected charm , creating in some cases rather theatrical atmosphere if you know what I mean. Beds are very good as well as bedding. Free Wi -Fi ! Morning breakfast like everywhere in Portugal- abundant and bland.
Go for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank directflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed in Teatro Porto for 4 nights in June. The hotel is quite special, with dark rooms and decorations form the teatre. The service was ok, rooms clean an tidy. The breakfast was good with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, some salamis and cheese. After four mornings this was a bit boring. The beds were a bit hard for my taste. During the weekends it can be quite noisy from the nearby nightclub.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tronder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hotel Teatro is a very good hotel in the middle of Porto. Very close to the old city (Riberia and Caves area) and shopping district of Porto. The hotel rooms are clean and confortable. But beware they are a little dark due to the concept of the hotel. The breakfast is very good but not exceptional. The hotel staff is helpful. They make nice recommendations.

The only problem I noticed was the speed of Internet. They have a public computer in the lobby with free access to internet. But, the speed of the network was extremely slow. Conisder this problem if you need high speed internet during your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daverbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLV Waver
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Nice & modern room. In the heart of Porto Near big metro & trainstation.
Very nice and helpfull staff. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zico26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This hotel is certainly different!
It is stylish but I think the architect should have stayed here: his design is impractical.
You get used to the dimmed lighting but it would not suit someone with poor vision.
The glass shower room is lacking privacy and places to put towels etc.
There is nothing to stop water from the shower flowing under the glass and running across the floor to soak the carpetting which it did!
The room was small with beds jammed up to the bedside table resulting in the lights being switched on accidentally when turning over.
A good breakfast and location.
Given the rave reviews by some perhaps the quirkiness appeals to younger visitors

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judical2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

All the staff had impeccable manners and were very attentive... From the complimentary glass of porto on arrival until are check-out... we travelled with our 2 year old, who was treated like a prince, and stayed in the audience room with great free-standing bathtub in the room and walk in shower room...

I was initially worried that I would find the darkened theater atmosphere oppressive having a preference for light open spaces but found the the experience to be relaxing and cocooning

The only small thing was over the weekend we could hear muffled music from the local nightclub and we found the food in the restaurant not quite up to the standard we are used to (but then again I do live with a french chef). That said there are some excellent restaurants in porto so you are quite spoilt for choice.

Porto is a great city and I can recommend this member of the designhotels group as a good central location to explore it from.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing