We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this hotel.”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel.”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Teatro Hotel is situated perfectly for the tourist. It's in a beautiful and interesting neighbourhood. It's in close proximity to many attractions. There are good restaurants nearby, shopping streets and the 'hop on - hop off' bus. We walked from the hotel, down through the old city to the river. Also, the specific deal we bought for the hotel included a 7 course dinner that was spectacular!
The hotel design itself is quirky but fun and extremely comfortable.
Because of this hotel, we sought out a Design hotel in Lisbon (which we loved) and are on our way to a Design hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian_Wannabe_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    588
    173
    33
    22
See reviews for
158
937
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I loved staying at hotel teatro. I stayed in room 510 which has a bad view but is quite comfortable.
Rooms are small but very very cozy, awesome beds and well equiped.
The desing and decoration is modern!!
The hotel offers free wifi connection and also a computer And a printer for free in the lobby.
Breakfast is complete!
My only complain is related to the bathrooms..... The shower is veeeeeery good and relaxing but the bathroom has NO DOOR which may be not good in case u want some privacity.
Staff is very Polite and helpful!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilianbrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here - but the most important aspect was how the hotel handled things AFTER we had departed...as I had left our passports in the room safe and only realised this after having driven 7 hours north to Bilbao in Spain!

I called the hotel and the front desk knew exactly what had happened. The front desk manager, Mr Manuel Soares, immediately arranged to courier the passports to me - and they arrived exactly as promised.

First class service!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Perfect location, 1mn from Av. dos Aliados. Very comfortable, clean and trendy. Excellent service, staff is very friendly.

I stayed on a Gallery room, very spacious great super bed, had a very good sleep quality.

If you are into romance, you can stay in bed watching you partner bathing is very cool. You also have (in some rooms) the option of NOT see.

It's a little bit dark (lack of illumination) , but at the same time is also charming.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpfcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff was great. The location was great. The included breakfast buffet was great. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

On the other hand, the room was too dark for a gentleman to shave properly or for a lady to apply makeup. There was insufficient storage (we were there for six nights). The "high concept" bath tub/shower looks great, but there was no planning for adequate drainage, and the bathroom and the foyer were flooded. The folks at the front desk said that this is a common occurrence. (This strikes us as cruel to the housekeeping staff.) The lack of privacy in the bathroom only works if you're sharing with somebody you're really in love with. Fortunately, we meet that criterion. Otherwise, it could be pretty uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Omnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Good location. 1/2 block from one of Hop-on, Hop-off bus stops, two blocks uphill from farmers market with fresh fruits and bakery goods. A nice and dirt cheap very tasty grill 1/4 block up on the other side. Hotel is intentionally dark which is great. Rooms are not that large but unusually minmalistic multifunctional design of toilet and shower doors ads some unexpected charm , creating in some cases rather theatrical atmosphere if you know what I mean. Beds are very good as well as bedding. Free Wi -Fi ! Morning breakfast like everywhere in Portugal- abundant and bland.
Go for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank directflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed in Teatro Porto for 4 nights in June. The hotel is quite special, with dark rooms and decorations form the teatre. The service was ok, rooms clean an tidy. The breakfast was good with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, some salamis and cheese. After four mornings this was a bit boring. The beds were a bit hard for my taste. During the weekends it can be quite noisy from the nearby nightclub.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tronder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing