We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful design hotel but lacks practicality”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful design hotel but lacks practicality”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We (a couple) stayed in the middle of February for 3 nights in Gallery room which is the standard room. We had divided opinion about the style and appeal of the hotel but we both agreed it lacked some serious practicality - especially the bathroom. We had a rain-shower which was truly nice but it was impossible to take a shower not making all bathroom area floody. We had to use all hotel's towels to clear the water afterwards.
I must say room service was amazing - from housekeeping to meal delivery - and breakfast was simply amazing - high quality and always fresh. We also loved the pillows and bed linen. It was simple but with that touch of luxury. Best sleep ever.
The interior of Teatro hotel can give quite a different feeling. Overall I did not like it but my partner loved it. It simply depends on your taste really...
It is a 4* boutique hotel and is listed in Mr & Mrs Smith as one of most luxurious in Porto but it was weird that I could not find any hair conditioner in the bathroom. In Porto there are so many sunny days and using only shampoo after all day out can lead you to ruined look (girls will understand me). I think in 4* boutique hotel Hair Conditioner is a must. I have been in 3* hotels and they have it. The funniest thing was when I approached Receptionist she advised me to 'go to buy some on the highstreet'. Weird.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing Hotel Teatro for your recent stay in Oporto and for you kind comments on Tripadvisor!
It was a pleasure for us to know you really enjoyed your experience during your stay!
Your opinion really does mean a lot to us in order to improve our service.

We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to see you again!

Susana Tavares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    588
    173
    33
    22
See reviews for
158
935
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plunge, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excellent hotel designs,thought all do not like the transparent door to bathroom and toilet(funny).Hotel is very dark.Room dark, reception very dark...in the reception staff older woman is very unpleasant and ,ill recommend our tours around the city offered by the bus which goes infrequently,city tourism info centres you can find a lot of them be careful eating--cafe we saw near the river Douro is a lot of cockroaches-they run through the bread,plate,glasses everywhere,among other things restaurant in the hotel is very well produced.From the street comes a loud noise our room was in the 5th floor....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonataa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you choosing Hotel Teatro and for your time posting a review on Tripadvisor!
Your opinion really does mean a lot to us!
We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to see you again at Oporto!

Susana Tavares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very centrally located. Excellent and attentive staff. The architecture and decor are really fantastic. The Restaurant is definitely worth a visit (experts in exploring new tastes). Very good price-quality relationship.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant_M42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing Hotel Teatro and for your kind comments about the Hotel and Restaurante Palco!
Hope see you again at Oporto!

Susana Tavares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

At first sight it is another 'boutique-hotel' (like: great for architects/designers, not for real use) but that was not true ... We got 2 double conecting suites (we were with kids) and everything I wish in a hotal was above expectations: silence, confort, bath ... the staff is well trained and willing to help your needs. We had a reservation for dinner at a very well recomended place, but we decided to stay in and just relax. It was a wise decision. We chose the larger 'menu degustation' because of our 'always-starving' 14 y-o boy (and normally menu-degustation dishes are very small). Well ... in the end he was satisfied before the last dish came in. The dishes were superb going through cavaquina, mola-fish, bacalhau, foi-gras etc and the harmonization wines were perfect. I don't have time or like much writing, but vthey deserve it. Surely the place to stay in O Porto.

Room Tip: Probably all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwideleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing Hotel Teatro and for your time posting a review on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure for us to know your family and you really enjoyed your experience during your stay and also at Restaurante Palco!
We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to see you again at Oporto!

Susana Tavares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Teatro Hotel is beautiful with friendly,professional staff.I have to say I've never been in a hotel like it.Our room was amazing with lovely personal touches such as a complimentary bottle of Port.We dined in the restaurant as well and it too was fantastic.Overall I actually enjoyed the hotel more than Porto!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadiabernardo, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you choosing Hotel Teatro for your recent stay in Oporto and for you kind comments on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure for us to know you really enjoyed your experience during your stay.
We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to see you again!

Susana Tavares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cognac
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

the position of this hotel was excellent and the service from staff was better , although the hotel was not bright in lighting it was very relaxing , the bar we found was great with some great tapas on the menu , and the portugesse sparkling wine at 15 euros a bottle was very good , the shower leaked a little at the door but by placing the foot towel there its stopped it , very , very good value for money , and we will go back there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cognac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadiabernardo, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you choosing Hotel Teatro and for your time posting a review on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure for us to know you really enjoyed your experience during your stay and also our suggestions at Bar Plateia.
We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to see you again at Oporto!

Susana Tavares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Hotel is well placed and in a lively district of Porto. The service was excellent and the room we had was well appointed.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Front side of the hotel with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing