We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different hotel experience with first class service”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Staying at the Teatro is a real treat. Very different from the hotel clones available in so many destinations, Teatro is different from the outset. Built on the site of a theatre that burned down, the owners have themed the establishment along theatre lines. Quite dark throughout the public spaces of reception, bar and corridors, the curtains, spotlights and themed carpets exude a feeling of mystique during your stay. The bar is luxurious, if a little expensive, and breakfast features a range of food to suit most palates, including champagne for those who like a fizzy kick start to their day! Most importantly of all, the service in the hotel was first class. On checking in, we were treated to the best hotel check-in we have ever experienced with our receptionist, Sonya, providing us with a map-enabled description of Porto's attractions, tours, restaurants and transport links that would rival the very best tourist information offices. By the time we had finished check-in, and received our coupons for a free welcome drink at the bar and discount for eating at the hotel's restaurant, we were very well prepared to begin our exploration of Porto. The hotel was great value too, at a modest nightly rate. If we return to Porto, we would certainly stay at this hotel again. A different hotel experience with first class service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmillen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel is excellently located in a very central position only a 5 minute walk from Sao Bento metro station. The metro runs every 30 minutes from the airport and only costs €2.30 (June 12). The total trip takes about 50minutes, if you get your timings right with one change of line at Trindade station.
On arrival we were upgraded to an Audience room for our 3 night stay. I had booked a Tribune room for 2 nights and an Audience room for 1 night. The Audience room was spacious with a free standing large bath in an open alcove off the main room. There was also the usual toilet and large shower separated by glass panels from the room.
The decor was as noted in previous reviews dark brown and gold. If you are a very private person who likes bright open spaces, then the Hotel Teatro is probably not for you. Personally I had no problem with the Theatre themed interiors and enjoyed a Hotel that was not afraid to be different from the standard boring international interiors. My wife however did find it a bit too dark in the room to apply makeup.
I enjoyed the welcome drink of Port and the free sparkling wine at breakfast was certainly different. We also enjoyed two full evening meals in the Palco restaurant and found the quality of food to be excellent. We particularly enjoyed the 5 course tasting menu at €35 and accompanying wines at €17. The only point of note is that the menu while offering lots of choice is laid out in a way that does differentiate well between the tasting menus and the a la carte, particularly if Portuguese or English is not your native language. We actually observed one couple leave without ordering, because I think they could not understand the menu rather than they did not like the food offerings on it. Perhaps the waiting staff should take a little more time at the start to explain how the menu is laid out.
The staff otherwise were very helpful and the only problem I had was I could not get the hotel wifi to work on my laptop or I phone. It could just as easily have been a problem with my equipment. It was however easy to get around in that I just used the free hotel computer in the lobby for anything I need to check over the Internet.
My wife would have liked a Tea/coffee making option in our superior room, but i know that this is not standard in a lot of continental hotels. All in all we greatly enjoyed our visit to Porto and the Hotel Teatro was a great base to do it from.

Room Tip: Big open bath in the Audience room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawindmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My fiancé and I were celebrating our engagement, and had booked the Romantic Package (Audience Room) for one night. Our flights were delayed and our stay was quite short at the end, but we did enjoy the room and the delicious breakfast really much. The toilet with a glass door was maybe not that romantic, but the bathtub in the middle of the room was quite nice. The hotel has a unique atmosphere and is very centrally located.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumpula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights in June 2012. The hotel has a theatrical theme with plenty of curtains, costumes and low lighting throughout. The check-in staff were excellent and gave us a thorough rundown of what to see and do in Porto. We were also given a couple of great tips about where to eat. We found the staff at the front desk overall to be 50/50 with some being excellent and others being a little abrupt. The room was clean however it lacked storage space (a couple of extra shelves would have been nice). Bed was good and room was quiet. We did not experience any issues with the shower (as some other reviews have mentioned) and the rainfall type shower-head was nice. Breakfast was good, some of the local bakery products were on offer and it was in-line with what you expect from a four-star hotel.

We like to explore on foot so found the location quite good. In addition, taxis are rather inexpensive in Porto so it will only set you back a couple of Euros if you do not want to walk back up the hill after a day's sightseeing along the river.

We were offered a welcome drink which was somewhat of a joke - it was 1cm of port in the bottom of a glass. Considering the location and how abundant port is in Porto, I think perhaps the hotel could have been a little more generous with its serving size. Also, the hotel bar was rather expensive and we found the Italian restaurant just around the corner serving the same quality aged ports at around 30-40% cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed at Teatro for 4 nights last week. I must admit that the first impressions on arrival were... 'have we come to the right place?' Its not like most hotels we have stayed at, the interiors being quite theatrical with lots of dark curtains and low lights. The hotel is part of the Design Hotels Group. We were a bit concerned that it might all be style over substance (and I AM a designer!). But the check-in was very professional and the room was excellent. The breakfasts were very good and the front desk staff were very helpful..they gave lots of good advice and even helped us book an all day Duoro river trip. We ate in the dining room on the last night (as the weather had turned wet!) and I must admit to being surprised by that too..it was first class! And not too expensive considering we were in an hotel. Everything went smoothly and they organised an early taxi to the airport on our departure. Its in a brilliant location for all the public transport and the tourist sights, and all in all, despite first impressions, when you get used to the interior decor, you can relax and enjoy the stay! (PS. Porto is very scenic too!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GomezandMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our stay in this hotel was greatly enhanced by the reviews on Trip Advisor. Because of what we'd read on this website, we were prepared for the little things that would otherwise have been a bit annoying - such as the shower which always flooded the bathroom floor, the dim lighting (which wouldn't bother everyone but which took a while for me to adapt to), and the lack of bathroom privacy (!) and storage for clothes. Apart from the flooding, which we had to mop up with towels every time, the shower was great - really powerful. The curtain and sliding glass door (watch out for that door - both of us walked into it at some point) which separate the bathroom from the bedroom could pose a problem for some people, depending on how comfortable you are with your travelling companion! Definitely something to take into consideration.

However, these things aside, the hotel was a good choice. Its location is very central and great for the metro and for wandering around exploring Porto. (Quick tip: If you're travelling to the hotel by metro, I recommend getting off at the Sao Bento stop, which is a little closer than the Bolhao stop.) The room was very clean and very comfortable. It felt quite luxurious. To some extent, it is 'design over function' but if you're prepared for that it's not too bad.

We had expected a little more from the theatre theme, but we may have been too picky.The lamps and curtains do lend a nice feel to the place. The buffet breakfast was good, with fresh and varied ingredients. Drinks in the hotel bar are hugely expensive in comparison to the local bars - we found that this was also the case in Lisbon.

We had booked well in advance and got a very good deal on the hotel. However, when we asked if we could pay upfront, as I didn't have my credit card with me, it seemed to be something of an inconvenience. On that note, the friendliness of the staff was 50/50 - some of the staff at the reception desk were lovely and welcoming, some of them were abrupt and a little dour. The barmaid in the hotel bar was very friendly and helpful though, and gave us plenty of information about the area.

I would recommend this hotel if you get a good rate and if you're looking for a little luxury in the centre of Porto.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Banana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A very comfortable theatre themed hotel in a good location. The bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable, having a very large bed and the bathroom had a bath and an excellent shower. The hotel is unusual in that it appears somewhat dark at first, although the style of décor works well and gives the hotel a unique atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner was slightly disappointing but the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £96 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing