We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Vilamoura
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool, Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Great, cool hotel in the center of Porto. Really enjoyed my stay at Teatro. From the beautifully-designed contemporary entrance, I knew I was in for a special treat. The ambiance oozes "design hotel," with interesting visual surprises everywhere. Dim dramatic lighting, now a trademark of trendy boutique hotels, works to an advantage in this theatrical-themed hotel. Staff is great, friendly and helpful. Rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Special kudos for the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was perfect, especially considering it is complimentary. And, the dinner was unexpectedly innovative and delicious. Recommendation: order the mango fondant for dessert.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBVilamoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    562
    170
    30
    20
See reviews for
154
898
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Great Breakfast in a good ambiance helps us in a good beginning of the day
Peace and quite is in all hotel.
I love the port wine welcome upon arrival.
Prices are fair, service is helpful,
Garage available is a plus in the zone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

.
In Porto you can see the “crisis” in Portugal. In spite of the renovation efforts, the city is clearly not prospering. But hotel and restaurant Teatro makes an exception. The rooms are “special”, with a decoration inspired by the theatre. Quite dark, and sometimes quite small. And not too practical. It was impossible to take a bath without creating a mess. But for one night, these special effects compensate for the impracticalities. And the hotel is ideally situated, on walking distance from the major sightseeing locations. By the way, Porto does not really “vaut le voyage” anymore, probably, “vaut le detour”.
Also the underground parking availability is a plus.
The hotel restaurtant is outstanding. This earns a Michelin star, for reasonable prices. And Portuguese wines are amongst the best.
The hotel and restaurant staff are very friendly. Apparently, this is a common characteristic for the Portuguese people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozef_of_Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here two night in June 2012. Porto was our first stop on our roadtrip through Portugal. Special atmosphere in this hotel with the "theater" design, maybe a bit dark for some people but we liked it. Hotel is situated in the city center but in a more quiet street (no night or street noise) and nearby the subway. Breakfast choice was very wide, even with bubbles. Very nice and friendly personnel. Room was certainly big enough with a comfy double bed. We really enjoyed the rain shower also. Only negative point was that we could not open our window.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on our first trip to Porto. A lot of the sights are nearby although our favourite area by the river was a good 15 munute walk with a steep hill. The rooms are a good size although we found the use of a curtain instead of a door to the bathroom a bit too quirky. Buffet breakfast was really good. Staff were helpful with advice on where to visit. Dinner in the restaurant was long winded and a bit pricey but good quality. The hotel is a good safe bet for a short stay in the city and offers reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Teatro Hotel is smack in the center of historical and downtown Porto. My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon through Portugal and Spain, picking this place over the Intercontinental largely because of the price.

It's theater theme is presence everywhere you go, the rooms are small (from an American's point of view), the shower is a bit weirdly designed (doesn't be surprised if there is water kind of everywhere, reason for the lack of a perfect rating). But if all you want is a confortable bed to crash on after running all over Porto, this place is a great deal. It's located around the corner from the market, a 10-12 min walk from the River Douro and 25-30 min from the port wine lodges up the hill accross the river.

There are also some great local restaurants and bars all over the area. Around the corner from the hotel is a terrific place called Restaurante A Regaleira that claims to be the originator of the Francesinha sandwich. If you don't know what this is, ask the hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Staying at the Teatro is a real treat. Very different from the hotel clones available in so many destinations, Teatro is different from the outset. Built on the site of a theatre that burned down, the owners have themed the establishment along theatre lines. Quite dark throughout the public spaces of reception, bar and corridors, the curtains, spotlights and themed carpets exude a feeling of mystique during your stay. The bar is luxurious, if a little expensive, and breakfast features a range of food to suit most palates, including champagne for those who like a fizzy kick start to their day! Most importantly of all, the service in the hotel was first class. On checking in, we were treated to the best hotel check-in we have ever experienced with our receptionist, Sonya, providing us with a map-enabled description of Porto's attractions, tours, restaurants and transport links that would rival the very best tourist information offices. By the time we had finished check-in, and received our coupons for a free welcome drink at the bar and discount for eating at the hotel's restaurant, we were very well prepared to begin our exploration of Porto. The hotel was great value too, at a modest nightly rate. If we return to Porto, we would certainly stay at this hotel again. A different hotel experience with first class service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmillen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing