We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Teatro Porto
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$986
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$318
US$282
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$435
US$342
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
US$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$306
US$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$199
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveller rating
800
661
191
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
661
191
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheatrical themedesign hotelsmoked glassdim lightingglass doorthemed hotelcentral locationrain showerthe rivercomplimentary glass of portsparkling winejunior suitereception staffbreakfast was excellentwelcome drinksao bento train stationport wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in September this year for his birthday. I didn't tell him anything about the stay, I just took him to the hotel and said 'Surprise, Happy Birthday!!' he was very pleasantly surprised!
The staff are very helpful and speak good English, which not that many places in Porto do. A porter showed us to our room which was like something I've never seen before.
We booked the 'more romance' package which was lovely, we had champagne on ice in the room and some chocolate and fruit (which did look like it had been sitting out for a while).
The audience room was fantastic, there is a huge wooden headboard which sweeps right over the top of the bed and gives it a modern 4 poster bed look. There is a stand alone roll top bath tucked away in the room and a lovely bathroom separated into 3 different parts (shower, sink, toilet).
The only criticism I have is there is only a curtain that blocks off the bathroom to the bedroom, so if you are trying to have a romantic getaway, hearing your partner do their business right next to you in the loo isn't the nicest thing! Although without it I would have missed when my partner didn't see the very visible glass when getting out the shower and walked straight into it!
We didn't eat in the restaurant as we wanted some proper Portuguese food (and my friends live just round the corner) but it did seem to be quite expensive. We had breakfast in bed one day, which comes with the package which was lovely when you just want to laze around in bed for half a day! When we had breakfast in the restaurant the next day there wasnt any hot food but otherwise the food we did have was nice, not the mass produced breakfast crap some hotels try and feed you!
Its in a great location too, a 5 minute walk from the river, and right next to Sao Bento Train station and metro.
Overall a very good hotel, recommended for couples wanting to treat themselves!

Room Tip: Go for the audience room, they are a little bit more but very special!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Ok I get the theatre theme and there are some beautiful touches of design, but why so dark. I guess it cuts down on the cleaning bill. We stayed in room 102, close to the lifts.. watch out for the noise of people having drunken discussions about how much fun they have just had. Perhaps head for an end of corridor room.

Breakfast is good but there is more fun to be had in the older cafes of Porto. The bar serves some good looking cocktails.. but be prepared to wait for them to arrive. We could not make much sense of the dinner menu... it tries too hard. It is best to head out for dinner.

The location is great and a Tram leaves on the hour and half hour in the square nearby... that's a great way to see the city.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lifts.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shapeset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our stay was for 2 nights for our honeymoon.

We were awed with such quality hotel well hid for about 10 minutes walking to the river. We were sad we couldn't stay more time.

We stayed at one of the 5 Audience rooms which has a shower for 1,5 meter wide and 1,5 meter deep which is excellent since it has glass doors from top to bottom. It has, as well, a bathtub. The bathtub should have a drainer beneath it, on the floor, since while showering in it will spray a lot of water around it, nonetheless it will be dry when you return to your room on the end of the day after the hotel service cleans it.

This room really breathes Theater because of the room curtains, which look like the ones when a play starts/ends and the lighting is really amazing, because when you're on the bathtub with all the lights off except the one on the bathtub, it looks like you're on stage.

The common areas of the hotel are really dark, they really play well with the lights in this place.

The location of the hotel is top notch, you are about 1-2 minutes walking to the main avenue.

Room Tip: This review was based on an Audience Room. Perhaps is better to ask for a room not so close to the elevators since sometimes we heard them beeping when doors opened/closed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroNunesMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Quiet & dark hotel with a lot of style and class, but at a price. I enjoyed the "design" hotel experience but it had some flaws like finding out how to turn off all the lights in the room...there are like 6 switches per room and you find yourself flipping them on and off to find out which light is left on. We wound up taking the key out one night and calling the front desk the second to help us shut off the lights! Overall, the experience was wonderful (minus the lights). The staff was amazing, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and of course very stylish, and the breakfast buffet was just enough. And yes, it is dark in the hallways and the rooms but it is supposed to be a "theater like" environment as they have costumes throughout on display and and the ambiance is as if in a theater...nicely done!

Room Tip: Inside rooms yield noise from the bar and smokers but the outside rooms are loud when the college "rush" initiation takes place....get a room on a higher floor on the inside if you ask me!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Hotel Teatro is a very conveniant Hotel to explore the city of Porto. We had one time dinner at the restaurant and had a menu with 7 courses including wine...you have to do that, it was excellent!!!!
Rooms and hotel is a little bit dark but I like that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m44ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews