We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

If you want to stay at Oporto you should choose this hotel. It is at the center of the city, close to the best places to see. Great location, the best services ever and a beautiful place. And don't forget to try its restaurant, one of the best in Oporto.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmcerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in April. I agree that the hotel is "dark" but this is probably great in the middle of summer when it will be cool and dark inside! The location is fantastic, very close to Sao Bento station, where you can catch trains or the metro. It is also a quick walk to most places in the city, although there are a fair number of steep hills!
The hotel staff were well informed and answered all of our questions as well as helping with restaurant bookings and information about where to go in the city.
The rooms are well appointed, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

It is located within walking distance of all the attractions. The hotel is designed as a theater. Very interesting, but dark and confusing. Breakfasts for people who take care of health - vegetables, fruit, cereal. Rooms are small but have everything you need. Good slippers.
I will recommend to friendswho not afraid of darkness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I like my stay in this hotel.
the rooms were beatifull and comfy, always very clean and the services and staff were very pleasent.
Another good thing is that is very near of everything in Porto, of the metro, stop bus etc.
Highly recomend it

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dairles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Website: http://www.designhotels.com/hotels/europe/portugal/porto/hotel_teatro

Hotel Teatro is lots of fun—the thoughtful, clever design greets you as you enter the front door and gets better. Stepping off the elevator to the floor with your room you instantly feel backstage at the theater. The dark halls with theater lighting create a sense of drama and excitement as you visit.

The rooms are spacious and intelligently designed, with interesting visual elements such as the designer’s playing with mirrors and glass inside the room, shower, and toilet. A disappointment in the room is that one has no control over the temperature, which we were told is centrally controlled for the entire hotel. We gained some control by opening windows, which provided fresh and cooler air along with alternately charming or annoying city background noises and music.

The high quality breakfast buffet offers something for hearty eaters, the diet conscious, vegans, and carnivores, and is available three hours per morning, a half hour later on weekends.

The Wi-Fi is excellent all over the hotel but having to re-enter cumbersome eight character mixed letter-number user names and passwords every three days in each electronic device seemed unnecessary and a bit of a bother for those of us who carry along a multiplex of laptops, iPhones, iPads, Kindles, etc. when we travel.

The shower, as in numerous European hotels and B&Bs, etc., has a half door that makes it awkward for tall people to shower without splattering water out on the floor. The tub was deep and had no hand grip so older people or those uneasy about stepping from a wet surface over a high reach may find it dangerous or at least scary.

Teatro is positioned in a fabulous location. Go out the door and no matter which direction you turn, you meet a feast for the eyes. Historical sites, colorful buildings, gorgeous tiles, crumbling structures with weary elegance, tea and coffee and pastry shops galore, fascinating people. Several fine restaurants are within a few minutes on foot.

The porter at the front door and the ladies at the front desk were friendly, attentive, and endlessly helpful whether we wanted directions, recommendations, maps, local information, or anything else. The afternoon clerk at the front desk spoke five languages fluently and her colleague who worked as porter spoke several.

Overall we were excited and pleased to stay at Hotel Teatro, although we’d rather have more control over the room temperature and won’t eat dinner in the hotel restaurant again (the breakfasts were great), and of course we’d recommend that they make the handling of user names and passwords more user friendly.

I should add that Porto is a wonderful city to visit. It’s one of those special places where simply taking a walk is endlessly entertaining, and Hotel Teatro is at the heart of it all.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that lets you open a window on a side away from the street in case you want to let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Teatro Hotel is a quite nice and cool place to stay. Very high design standard, but with an amazing focus on warm and cosy elements, like the illumination and the golden colours.
The room was really cool, cosy and high-quality matraces only the bathroom was a bit tiny. That was the only point I did not like so much. Rest was great. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for the evening. One night we stayed in and tested the Restuarant. Food was really good, typical Portuguese food with a touch of modern cuisine. Prices were in the upper level but not overpriced. The range of wines was extra class, but o.k. we were in Porto :-)
The location is quite near to the river and to the Metro station...All in all absolute recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here for a birthday treat in March,great place with really friendly staff.Very chic with the style and comfort of a top hotel,with none of the fuss and stuffiness. The room was lovely with no noise to bother you. The shower is huge as is the comfy bed. The room had no view but that's not what I went for!
The staff do their best to help guide you or call to book restaurants,we went to the lunchtime orchestra performance at the Casa de Musica with no hassle at all.The menu in the hotel restaurant was limited,so we asked for another nearby eaterie and they recommended the lovely La Ricotta which was decent of them.
My partner used the small but functional gym on the roof,and we enjoyed the privacy and dark decor and themed lighting.I would suggest this as an ideal weekend stopover for couples and people who like descreet and functional.The location is perfect for the centre of everything,station,Metro,shops,scenery and a short walk up the hill from the historic riverside.
Would go again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john45_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £95 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing