We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location is very good, just central in a walking distance from most of the touristic locations. All downtown is very well connected with the metro, this hotel too.
The hotel is "stylish", very dark (intentionally) with quite audacious choices such as, for example, the transparent wall/door both for the toilet and shower.
Wifi is ok.
Breakfast is apparently average as quantity and variety but I found the choice quite interesting and unconventional.
Personnel is professional and kind.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Teatro. The location is perfect for walking the whole city. The staff were very helpful and gave us great recommendations for the local restaurants. Carlos at the bar was also great and made excellent wine suggestions to us for our afternoon wine drinking at the bar. The rooms are good and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are the only complaint I may have, small as it is. They are small and poorly lit and the bathtub/shower is hard to use. I would also strongly recommend you ask for a room not on the Main Street as it is very noisy, especially when the theatre next store is having a party. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for a great place to stay in central Porto!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We chose this Hotel for it's central position close to the shopping area of town. Easy to get to from the airport via the Metro, about a 7 minute walk. Loved the entrance door, sort of like you were entering a secret grotto. Staff very helpful. As others have said, there is a theatre theme throughout and it is well designed, the lighting is as if you are half way through the first act of a play. Very good breakfast although after day 1 of eating in Porto I was only able to fit in fruit! Booked well in advance at £73 a night so very good value I thought.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Excellent location in the historic center, walking distance to the main attractions. Very good and attentive service at the front desk. Stylish, a bit quirky. Sleeping area in the bedroom could be larger and the pillows weren't very comfortable. Cleaning was faulty in the first morning. Very good breakfast, with sparkling wine! Good rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodrigoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staff were lovely, very helpful when checking in. The room was luxurious and tastefully decorated with a beautiful copper-painted bath. The bed was very comfy, you could easily get lost in the mountain of pilliows supplied. Breakfast finished quite early (10am), and predictably everyone choose to have breakfast between 9.30-10 which meant on one morning we couldn't even get a table in the restaurant and had to take breakfast in the bar. No problem in doing this - it was a lot quieter with more room, just not what we expected for the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_C46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Been here last year with my partner but eight of us went last weekend for a long weekend. One of the group was celebrating a birthday and with her husband their wedding anniversary. We were able to order a cake in advance and staff were happy for us to decorate part of the bar area as a surprise for our friends.
Hotel is a little dark but that's because of the theatre theme. Good clean hotel with nice breakfast. Fridge in room was useful. Super value. Central for tourists. Very good friendly staff. Our celebrating friends were given a complimentary bottle of champagne and cake even though this was not requested. As returning guests so were we which I thought was a nice touch.
We had separate bathroom and although the door was glass it was coloured therefore you could not see through.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back or side of the hotel not at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solrsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Teatro Hotel is in a great location to explore the heart of Porto. It is within walking distance to the river and all amenities. There are several good cafe's and restaurant's only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The room was spacious and well appointed. The best attribute of this hotel is it's staff. We were made to feel at home from the time we arrived until the time we checked out. Every staff member we had any interaction with were very friendly yet professional. I will definitely stay at the Teatro on my next visit to Porto.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trytoseeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing