We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky design hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky design hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We chose Hotel Teatro mostly for its name as we are both theatre fans. The theme is nicely incorporated with the neat touches of costume rails in reception, lots of full length curtains everywhere and subdued lighting throughout. Our room was elegant with a comfortable bed and a great shower. Most nights were very quiet with practically no street noise - one evening did suffer from a party bus parked outside for several hours but there was nothing the hotel could do to move them on.
We appreciated the pair of umbrellas in the wardrobe and used them extensively through our stay. However, one day we did still get absolutely drenched and then realised that there was nowhere in the room to dry clothing - no radiators, not even a towel rail. So we had damp clothing hanging around for a couple of days until the aircon could dry it all out.
The breakfast is good with a fair amount of choice. On two of the four days, we had to sit around waiting for tables to become available though because the dining area is far too small to cope with the number of guests in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful though, even under these obviously stressful circumstances. The bar is comfortable with huge sofas and a plasma screen showing concerts every evening. We caught an interesting fado performance one evening whilst sipping a few ports.
Overall a good hotel and I would probably use it again if ever back in Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephjb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    606
    179
    34
    24
See reviews for
162
966
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a hotel with an interesting and different concept, with many pros and just a few cons , in a lovely city!

Pros:
- wonderful location, close to everything and major historical sites
- amazing multilingual reception /restaurant staff,
- average spaced rooms with all amenities expected for a 4 star-hotel
- comfortable beds
- tea making facilities in room
- great gourmet/fusion restaurant
- umbrellas in the room (it rains a lot in Porto)
- almost everyday we were offered small treats in the bedroom (red wine and cheese, port wine and cake...)

Cons:
- terrible bathroom for people with back problems (no easy walk in to the bath), maybe it is different in another roomtype
- poor lighting in the bathroom
- breakfast is not bad but could have some non-fat items (yoghurts and more fruit)
- Air conditioning was regulated only for heating

Would I go back? I sure would!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner court can be a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location is very good, just central in a walking distance from most of the touristic locations. All downtown is very well connected with the metro, this hotel too.
The hotel is "stylish", very dark (intentionally) with quite audacious choices such as, for example, the transparent wall/door both for the toilet and shower.
Wifi is ok.
Breakfast is apparently average as quantity and variety but I found the choice quite interesting and unconventional.
Personnel is professional and kind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights at the Teatro. The location is perfect for walking the whole city. The staff were very helpful and gave us great recommendations for the local restaurants. Carlos at the bar was also great and made excellent wine suggestions to us for our afternoon wine drinking at the bar. The rooms are good and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are the only complaint I may have, small as it is. They are small and poorly lit and the bathtub/shower is hard to use. I would also strongly recommend you ask for a room not on the Main Street as it is very noisy, especially when the theatre next store is having a party. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for a great place to stay in central Porto!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We chose this Hotel for it's central position close to the shopping area of town. Easy to get to from the airport via the Metro, about a 7 minute walk. Loved the entrance door, sort of like you were entering a secret grotto. Staff very helpful. As others have said, there is a theatre theme throughout and it is well designed, the lighting is as if you are half way through the first act of a play. Very good breakfast although after day 1 of eating in Porto I was only able to fit in fruit! Booked well in advance at £73 a night so very good value I thought.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Excellent location in the historic center, walking distance to the main attractions. Very good and attentive service at the front desk. Stylish, a bit quirky. Sleeping area in the bedroom could be larger and the pillows weren't very comfortable. Cleaning was faulty in the first morning. Very good breakfast, with sparkling wine! Good rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staff were lovely, very helpful when checking in. The room was luxurious and tastefully decorated with a beautiful copper-painted bath. The bed was very comfy, you could easily get lost in the mountain of pilliows supplied. Breakfast finished quite early (10am), and predictably everyone choose to have breakfast between 9.30-10 which meant on one morning we couldn't even get a table in the restaurant and had to take breakfast in the bar. No problem in doing this - it was a lot quieter with more room, just not what we expected for the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_C46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 106 in Porto
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing