We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but dark and coffin-like”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were staying in a gallery room for three nights. We found the staff friendly and helpful. And a lovely bottle of champagne was waiting for us in our room ..... Which was a nice touch. The breakfast was good .... However on both mornings the coffee was Luke warm. We ate at the hotel Restaurant ... The seven course tasting menu, which was delicious .

We found the whole hotel dark and dingy. The curtains that were hung every where made the place feel more like a coffin than a theatre. The rooms were dark also, in fact my wife had to perch next to the window in an effort to put on her makeup. And she wasn't at all impressed! We found our gallery room small and there was only one plastic chair in the room. We were so disappointed with the room that we would joke with each other...."Guess it's time to return to the coffin"

Room Tip: Don't go for a gallery room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunterbotzenhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was well located, well appointed and modern. Service was very good but the hotel is a bit dark. I know they are going for a specific thematic ambiance but a bit more light on the hallways would make it better. Other than that I really cant complain in any way. The breakfast was really good as well

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HildaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is a boutique hotel, so all the facilities in the room are weel thought. The courtains instead of doors are a nice touch to a teatro hotel.
Breakfast is great, take sometime to enjoy it, not a huge selection of choices, but a very good quality food.
Two small details, the ailes are dark, you can justify it because of the teatro environment and the fitness room does not have much, in fact when I went there, all was shut down and due to its limited equipment, I did not ask anybody to switch them on.
Staff was also extremely nice, told us all places to visit in our short stay.
Good joice of place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VCMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Added to my favourite places in Porto. This hotel (and the gourmet restaurant in the lobby) are both excellent and efficient. Clean and modern with character and friendly english speaking staff throughout.

Located in a central and safe area in downtown Porto.

Airport transfers are 25 Euros via private hotel hire.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Jr suite facing the street. Quiet though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaidAlothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Beautiful areas and decor so appropriate for the theater district. Service was great, very friendly. English spoken by all. Breakfast included was very tasty and offered a wide variety including champagne. Very easy to get to from the metro or the train station. Area offered so much. Only complaint was the night noise. Ask for a room to the back.

Room Tip: Request one away from the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel Teatro is four-star hotel located in the heart of downtown Porto. It's next to many wonderful restaurants and cafes and a heartbeat away from several of the great tourist sights in the area (Clerigos Tower, Aliados Square, Ribeira). The hotel is very close to the Galerias de Paris, D. Manuel II and Tunel de Ceuta areas. so that you can go clubbing or bar-hopping without having to take a taxi. However, it's also far enough to garantee that the constant weekend partying doesnt disturb your good night's rest.

Located next to the famous Teatro Sa da Bandeira (hence its name) the hotel is heavily decorated with theatrical motifs (heavy curtains, spot-lighting, etc.). Although some might find the dark decour of the hotel a little off-putting, it does create a rather sophisticated and tasteful ambient. The Hotel also has one of the best restaurants in town (albeit somewhat pricy). If you are looking for a culinary treat, then look no further then the lobby! They also offer private parking, for an additional fee.

The room I stayed in wasn't necessarily big, and unfortunately did not have a great view of the city. But it was clean and modern; the beds were wonderfully comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. They also offered free samples of several different kinds of artisanal soaps and shampoos made in the city.

Overall, I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Looking forward to revisiting Porto later this year :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_plain_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

stayed here for 3 nights in a gallery room. as all others have said its dark inside to resemble a theatre.
rooms are good....beds very comfortable...and excellent shower.
breakfast was also good although they did run out of things...coffee once...at the busy time.
the problem with our room 510...was the soundproofing. I could quite easily hear the people next door through the walls.i don't know who they were but knew they were French...which tells you how audible it was. you could also hear them in the shower. this should not be in a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: don't chose a corner rom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanaspinall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £96 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing