We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Teatro Porto
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eurostars Oporto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$986
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$163
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
US$282
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$450
US$342
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$308
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveller rating
800
661
191
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
661
191
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheatrical themedesign hotelsmoked glassdim lightingglass doorthemed hotelcentral locationrain showerthe rivercomplimentary glass of portsparkling winejunior suitereception staffbreakfast was excellentwelcome drinksao bento train stationport wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Teatro Hotel earlier this week and quite enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful (making a Duoro River cruise booking for us, giving several good recommendations for dinner, directions, etc, and speaking very good English compared to our almost non-existent Portugese). As other posters noted the hotel has darkly lit hallways & rooms which is part of its overall ambience of the "theater". We liked the unique decor. The lighting, comfy bed and quiet are perfect for sleeping late (which we did not but could have easily). It is well eqipped with a hair dryer and nice toiletries (I loved their soap). The hotel is well located in the centre of Porto with the train station only a 2-minute walk and the river district a short stroll downhill. If one is unfamiliar with the city of Porto, its one-way streets, & don't speak Portugese it is not the easiest hotel to locate/ access by car. The hotel has parking which is great as we just parked the car while we were in Porto. We would recommend Teatro Hotel Porto.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULOfrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We spent two nights at this hotel. Absolutely wonderful experience. Like all the other posters, the hotel is incredibly dark. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a very small selection of high quality breads and pastries - no hot food. The location was perfect, right in the centre of Porto. It's a very unique experience and we got a fantastic rate of €80/night from octopustravel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank po2tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I went to Porto with my husband and my son. Having read all the reviews, we were prepared for the unusual! The designer of this hotel took the theatrical theme to the very extreme. Even the carpets were printed with a curtain motif. It was like being in a theatre but the lights never came on! So we were permanently in subdued lighting - fun but tricky and sometimes a little frustrating. We were greeted with friendly and efficient staff who went out of there way to help us to enjoy our holiday. The restaurant was intimate and relaxing and the food and service very good. The location was brilliant, close to the river and yet near to the fantastic Majestik cafe and other sights and restaurants. The bedrooms were very relaxing, the beds comfortable and clean but there were surprises! The bathroom in our superior room had a glass wall looking directly onto the bath! By day two I had succeeded in not trying to walk through this wall and used the door instead. Again the lighting here was subdued and this would have been fine if only we had been able to increase the lighting when we needed it - for dressing, looking for socks etc. The gold sink was delightful to behold but not easy to wash your face in without moving away from the bowl slightly! So, some design flaws here but overall we had a lovely time and a memorable experience. Porto is a fascinating place, especially by the river. In the Majestik cafe we enjoyed the best service we have ever received (twice).

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARYW1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I was a bit unsure when booking this hotel with respect to the bathroom reviews but liked the look of it. Booked it and glad I did. The hotel is different to your normal run of the mill hotel. A bit dark which adds to the theatre feel. The furniture is unique in the public areas and the place is full of smoked glass. The staff were very good and knowledgable - nothing too much for them. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and the shower room spacious. The area is very central - nearby metro station and a short taxi ride from the main train station.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fio26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is a new design hotel in Porto. The hotel is nice and very centrally located but extremely dark, infact far too dark. When you walk in the corridors in the evenings you might as well switch your phone on just to make some light. The rooms are very dark despite the 6 lights available so not ideal for putting make up on or shaving. There is no privacy in the bedrooms with bath tub since all the walls are made by glass or mirrors so as much as it could be fun for a couple, if you are travelling with friends or even better colleagues it's definitely not a great idea as you can't have a shower without being seeing from the other person wherever in the room the other person might be and you can't even be in the loo without being seeing.
When we stayed there the hotel was fully booked hence we had to wait for over an hour and a half after check in time as the rooms were not ready and it would have been nice if they would have offered a drink at the bar while we were waiting for their delay but ... nothing.
Breakfast room only has about 20 tables which were obviously not enough to deal with 80 full rooms. In two days we had to wait twice for over 10 minutes in order to get a table for breakfast ... not ideal if you are there for work and the clock is thicking.
Not so sure I would recommend this hotel or stay there again.
Definitely stylish hotel though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews