We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Great hotel, centrally located, close to tube, beautiful room, great breakfast , lovely bed and friendly staff. Only down side was the internet connection was very slow but that didn'tt bother me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AoifeMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    596
    175
    34
    22
See reviews for
159
953
49
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Cool design. Modern style. Dark but we liked it.

Breakfast was a cold buffet but it was well stocked and plenty of variety.

Good location and good service. rooms clean daily to a high standard. Beds were super comfortable. Room not huge but adequate.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alocinapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Teatro Hotel Porto is very central, close to Sao Bento metro station, and only a few minutes away from many of the sites (cathedral, Ribeira area, etc...).

Teatro Hotel Porto has an interesting design, with dark colors (mostly brown, gold,...) and a pleasant bar with music or videos (giant TV).
My room was quite small, but very pleasant, as well as the bathroom.

Excellent breakfast with a lot of choice.

Curiously photos are forbidden inside the lobby!

Overall it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Our stay at Hotel Teatro was a highlight from our week in Portugal. I loved the unique design with the theater motif and how they managed to pull it off without being too kitchy. We stayed in a Gallery Room and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern with a great overhead shower (it felt like you were standing in the rain!). The breakfast (included in room rate) had a wide selection of pastries, fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses, and eggs cooked to order. We ate one night at the restaurant and the shrimp curry was one of the tastiest meals from the trip. I found the staff to be very helpful in making suggestions for our stay in Porto. Out of the 4 hotels from our trip, I would recommend this one first!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia70808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
231 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is very centrally located and is about 5 minutes walk from the train and tube station. It took about an hour from the airport on the tube.

The breakfast was very nice and we ate outside in the evenings. As noted by other reviews the hotel is very "dark" but that is the style.

The service in the hotel was excellent and the complementary umbrella was very useful.

We would stay in the hotel again and would recommend.

I would recommend the Pimms Rest. down by the river, the Abbey Rest (Portuguese) which was recommended by the hotel and the Rest opposite the hotel was fine but be careful of the "free" starters which are not free at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Sited in a center area of Oporto, well communicated by metro and bus, It is also closer of the lovely area of Baja and the riverside. Hotel Teatro has an awesome design and an excellent service. I loved that only people who stay at the hotel can use the elevator (to prevent robs). Besides, the breakfast menu contains food for every kind of people, including biologic products.

Some criticism would be the price per night ( ;) ), just one pc to use internet (you have free wifi if you bring your own laptop) and small closet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van BC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Teatro Hotel earlier this week and quite enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful (making a Duoro River cruise booking for us, giving several good recommendations for dinner, directions, etc, and speaking very good English compared to our almost non-existent Portugese). As other posters noted the hotel has darkly lit hallways & rooms which is part of its overall ambience of the "theater". We liked the unique decor. The lighting, comfy bed and quiet are perfect for sleeping late (which we did not but could have easily). It is well eqipped with a hair dryer and nice toiletries (I loved their soap). The hotel is well located in the centre of Porto with the train station only a 2-minute walk and the river district a short stroll downhill. If one is unfamiliar with the city of Porto, its one-way streets, & don't speak Portugese it is not the easiest hotel to locate/ access by car. The hotel has parking which is great as we just parked the car while we were in Porto. We would recommend Teatro Hotel Porto.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULOfrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 106 in Porto
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Property: Hotel Teatro Porto
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing