We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable room, convenient location”
Review of Ibis Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Porto Centro
Ranked #26 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We didn't spend much time in Porto and decided to go with a brand we're familiar with -- the Ibis chain.

Sure, they're pretty characterless and you won't recognize one Ibis room from another in a different continent, but at least we knew what to expect: clean, modern and relatively comfortable rooms. Best of all, the prices are great. Just don't expect great views or luxurious sheets.

We had a bit of a hard time finding the entrance to the hotel. The funny thing was that we saw the logo of the hotel on the side of the building but couldn't figure out how to get in. We finally figured it out by asking the staff at the supermarket next to it, and found a cool little passageway through the supermarket.

Porto is a small town, so the location of this Ibis is pretty convenient to most places, easy walking distance to the waterfront area and even across the river. (By the way, take that funicular down to the water, it's fun.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absolute_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Ibis is a good choice for Porto. Close to most things in the small town, it is clean and the room is a good size. Walking distance to the river, although Porto is very hilly. Wifi is only available in the lobby area. It is cheap to take taxis in Porto and we found the metro to the airport cheap, clean and efficient. The Ibis is about 10 minutes walk to the metro, but if you have suitcases take note of the cobble stones which can make it hard to wheel suitcases.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Modern, clean and comfortable hotel within a short walk of all the main sights of Porto.

The hotel looks a bit 'iffy' from the outside but this hides a modern and stylish interior. The restaurant/bar area is bright, modern and cheerful and prices more than reasonable. €1.50 for a coffee, €1.90 for a beer.

Staff throughout the hotel were all very helpful.

The rooms are clean and comfortable if a little on the small side, though clever storage makes the most of the space. Only one towel each and no hand towels, though these were changed daily. Extra pillows would've been nice, too.

Breakfast was fresh and tasty - continental style and well worth the price. I wouldn't bother with food from the menu as there doesn't seem to be a kitchen in the hotel - I ordered a hamburger as a snack which was microwaved! This shouln't be a problem as plenty of options for food locally.

10 mins walk to Ponte Dom Luis and the funicular to Ribeira quarter. 5 mins walk to main shopping areas. 5 mins walk to Bolhao metro station - direct link to airport.

Port cellars in Gaia are well worth a visit - particularly the Taylors site which is well signposted from the Gaia river bank.

Andante travel card is a good idea - €15 for 3 days unlimited metro, bus, funicular travel. Trams not included but these are well worth the €2.50 fare.

All in all a bargain hotel which offers pretty much everything you need for a short break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank historymanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Centrally placed hotel with rooms (we were in 506) that are slightly larger than standard IBIS and new showers. Despite the windows being open we slept without hearing any noise. There is a Mom-&-Pop restaurant across the road that has main dishes for less than 10 euros. An adjacent supermarket makes it ideal for the budget conscious. As in Coimbra and Lisbon the coffee machines at breakfast can't cope with the throughput of guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is very clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet is good and the staff are very friendly. The only downside to this hotel is the lack of choice with the lunch/evening meal menu and it's a little overpriced but you get that with most hotels. The dining area is very smart and chic looking and they offer free internet access near by reception.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A hotel chain that continues to give excellent value for money. Well positioned in Porto for sight seeing, transport and shopping.
Plenty of restaurants locally, which offered good value for money.
Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Spent my last 2 nights in Portugal here and was very pleased. Gracious and helpful staff, great location, and a good price. I had breakfast elsewhere - lots of good cafes all around Porto - but the dining possibilities looked OK. Room was sparse, but clean and had everything I needed. I would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 108 in Porto
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#42 of 108 in Porto
619 reviews
2.5 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#47 of 108 in Porto
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#64 of 108 in Porto
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Porto Centro

Address: Rua da Alegria 29 A, Porto 4000-041, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing