We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Ibis Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Porto Centro
Ranked #29 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was very impressed with the IBIS Porto Centro Hotel. It is in a good location for the city centre. The hotel itself has friendly, knowledgeable staff who are only too pleased to help and it is very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Davidjtway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,870)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Porto Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

this is ok as far as hotels go ; nothing special really and there are better choices around if you search for them. but there's nothing wrong with this formula offering and you can sometimes get it at a good price...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I think the only positiv thing about this hotel is the location. It is located in the hearth of the city. Otherwise i have not any thing positiv to say. It is very gloomy. It is located in combination with av very little shopping senter. Very narrow and dark corridores. Elevator goes directly from street to the rooms. Even they told us we have to use the card but it was not necessary. The staff (some of them were rude). They checked our passport when we checked in. And first when she could not manage it she commented that it was false. A jook but not a good one. And when we asked for a pillow the same lady asked us why we needed a pillow?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Maybe the name of street (Portuguese: Rua da Alegria; English: Happiness street) make the staff be amazing, helpfulness and nice! The team of Reception and Bar was great! Thank you!
There is a metro station close to hotel (Bolhão) but I always was walking to Ribeira in front of Rio Douro (Douro River) where there are a lot pf restaurants and bars. A lot of tourists too, but ...
I think the best thing that hotel has the time of breakfast ... From 6h30 to 12h. Excellent time because you can sleep until you want ...
Very good, I recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilmar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is excellent value for money in the lovely city of Porto. We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was clean, our room was large and modern, and the staff were pleasant. There was even ChelseaTV which pleased my other half!!

There is a supermarket nearby which is convenient and there is also a tram stop nearby to get to the airport. Nearby there are restaurants and cafes which is useful for mealtimes.

Porto itself is a lovely little place and the Port houses are amazing. This hotel is located in the old town on the opposite side of the river from the Port houses (it's all close when you're down by the river though) so it is a bit of a trek up the hill in the evening to return to the hotel, but you can use the funicular which is cheap and easy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangeybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. I chose this one because the rate was great (€44 per night including breakfast), there was a car park next door, and it was in central Porto. Turned out to be a very good choice.
Well located within an easy walk of the town. Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.
The hotel was only let down by the fact that the air conditioning didn't work. It started off cool, but after a while started to get warm. The only answer was to open the window, and then it got a bit noisy. I did report it, but as far as I could tell, all they did was to open the window!
That was the only downside of the stay. Having said that, I would certainly stay there again for the convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a great value--Ibis rethinks inexpensive hotels and comes up with something that makes few compromises. Wifi, modern rooms, nice breakfast included (although cold), modern bathroom, clean, elevators, air conditioning, nice big bed...no problem. Great staff, too. It is part of the Pingo Doce complex, sort of.

Two caveats: the most minor is that they have no bathroom mat. That surface is slippery, as is the floor. No doubt they claim it is non-slip, but that is clearly not true. I'm surprised I survived.

Second, the location might be an issue. It is in Porto Centro, but generously defined from a tourist perspective. Like Lisbon, Porto has many hills and steep streets. As the crow flies, it is not far to the heart of the tourist center (say, around Palacio Bolsa and the river), but getting back up to the hotel from there is another matter. Theoretically a 15-20 minute walk, you should be in good shape. And if you have a lot of problems walking or with fitness you should try get something closer to where you want to me. Extra walking is not easy here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsieurms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 108 in Porto
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#48 of 108 in Porto
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 108 in Porto
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 108 in Porto
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Porto Centro

Address: Rua da Alegria 29 A, Porto 4000-041, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £37 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing