We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ibis so far”
Review of Ibis Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Porto Centro
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    1,057
    257
    23
    5
See reviews for
338
974
136
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The hotel is really well located nearby the touristic spots in Porto.

Friendly staff,, clean rooms and good services.

Definitively the best choice to explore Porto without pay more than you need.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coppiabrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed at the Ibis Porto Centro for a weekend break in October. The location was very good, on the edge of the city centre. It was at the top of a hill as others have mentioned, but Porto has a lot of ups and downs and pretty much everything is 'at the top of a hill!' There are several places nearby to find a good meal for not a lot of money (definitely try the local fare, francesinhas are great!), and if you want to be even more budget-conscious, there is a supermarket called Pindo Doce literally steps from the hotel door.
Our room was cleaned daily and you can choose whether or not you require your linens to be changed everyday, which is good environmentally. Most people probably don't change their sheets at home on a daily basis, so why at a hotel?
The hotel does a continental breakfast buffet for €6 per person. We preferred to grab something from the Pindo Doce, but the selection on offer was quite extensive. The breakfast is offered all morning from 6-12.
The rooms do not have wifi, but there are a couple of computers set up next to reception where you can go online for free. Checkout was at noon, which was quite good as our fight was at 2 so we could go out in the morning and then head out.
Overall, it's a good choice for the location and price. It's not fancy, but it's in Ibis, it's not trying to be.
One thing I wanted to mention about the location. On the Ibis website, they say that they are opposite the Bolhao metro stop. It is not. It is about a 5 minute walk from there. I've seen comments about how it shows on Google maps, and I can tell you they are spot on. (The streetview is rubbish though as there is a dumptruck in the way!). The hotel is right next to the Invictus Commercial Centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-Saskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Ibis Porto Centro is located in Porto downtown, next to Porto Colosseum. Near to the hotel there is a metro station (Bolhão) acessible from the train station Campanhã or even from aeroport. The hotel staff are helpful. The rooms are nice and very clean. For a 2 stars hotel I was very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMaria-Lisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portimao, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed recently in this hotel for two nights and it was great and cheap (we paid 41 euros per night – it was a promotion with online reservation - but the normal price is 49 euros per night...) The hotel is in the center of the city near Coliseu, Café Majestic and the commercial street - Rua Santa Catarina. If you come from the airport, you should take the subway (Line E) and stop at "Bolhão". You will find the Commercial Street and the Coliseu. The hotel is very near the coliseu, next door to a supermarket called “Pingo Doce”. From the hotel to the river and Sé catedral is less than 10 minutes walk, but you can also use the public transports such as the electric that stops in front of a shop called Fnac near the hotel. In the commercial street there are great shops and two commercial centers – Via Catarina and Gran Plaza.
The hotel is new (opened in 2010), very clean, the bed is great, the bedroom is small but good enough for 2 people... The bedroom has a tv cable, and in the bar of the hotel you have free internet access wireless. If you wish you can have internet in the bedroom but you need to pay an extra fee. The bar has food and drinks... I had a great hot chocolate (1,50 €). Under the hotel there is a supermarket "Pingo Doce" with cheap meals.. but there are great restaurants and coffees very near the hotel. There is also a nice bar called “Oporto Lounge” in front of the hotel.
The staff is very nice and the security of the hotel is very good – you have only access to the reception and your floor, you can't go to other floors because your card-key doesn't allow you as in the elevator you need the card-key to access your floor..
If you wish to have breakfast in the hotel it's 6 euros per person, but there are great places to have breakfast near the hotel.
The hotel is very silent and you can sleep very well without any noise. In the bathroom you have hot water very fast, and it was very clean and new... It is a great hotel and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veralisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 108 in Porto
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#31 of 108 in Porto
1,361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
2.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 108 in Porto
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Porto Centro

Property: Ibis Porto Centro
Address: Rua da Alegria 29 A, Porto 4000-041, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing