We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great brunch”
Review of bbGourmet Maiorca

bbGourmet Maiorca
Reserve with
bbGourmet Maiorca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #271 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: US$17 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great brunch”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This restaurant offers a great brunch! It serves from 12am, it has a great variety of choices, and homemade food. and you can still choose a hot dish, i recommend the pancakes with maple syrup!
The teas are great, but they could serve more warm drinks, specially in winter!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    94
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice food and setting - appalling service”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Really enjoyed the menu, and the place to sit... but it was a good job we felt so comfortable because it was SO slow. There were only a few tables in the restaurant but we just didn't seem to see a waiter for long periods of the meal... so we didn't get our wine, we sat with dirty crockery in front of us for about half an hour, the waiter left us with desert menus for another good 25 minutes. by which time the restaurant had emptied out so we didn't want to sit and eat alone with empty glasses. We had to go to the bar to pay because still no one came. None of these things are the end of the world but it is a real shame because it completely ruined what would have been a nice meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanstead78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge S, Manager at bbGourmet Maiorca, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Good morning, I am this place manager and read carefully Your comments. I am very desappointed with what You described. I am very sorry Our service did stand at the level it should. Would You be so kind to tell me when exactly You did visit us ? Many thanks, Jorge Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Porto”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We also were referred to BB Gourmet by the concierge at the Tiara Park Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by it, both by the menu and the outstanding service. Even though almost everyone in the restaurant spoke conversational English, BBG seems to be focused on the upper middle-class locals living in the immediate neighborhood rather than tourists.

We ate there twice during our stay in Porto. Admittedly, I prefer very fresh, non-aromatic fish and I'm not a fan of bacalao but BBG's was about the best I tasted during our stay in Portugal. Still not a fan but thankfully there were plenty of tasty pasta/seafood options on the menu so my girlfriend could indulge her quest to find the perfect salted cod.

BBG has a good wine list as well as its own retail wine store adjoining the place. Not for nothing, they also served the best vinho verde we tried in Portugal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkTheDoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Chic little restaurant, food was excellent, I had the sea bass and it was so fresh and cooked to perfection. Lovel selection of desserts and the waitress who served us has great english and will recommend wines if you ask.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank catmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced, nice atmosphere, but food was hype.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I wanted to believe the hype, as most of the restaurants around this part of Porto are trashy, and this place is smart and cool, but I ordered the salmon salad, for ten euro. The lettuce was bitter, the salmon dry, the dill sauce not particularly refined, and the portion on the small aside. Plus, tap water is not available, which is offensive in my opinion. The salads at Casa de Chocolate are higher quality and much better value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherLowrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bbGourmet Maiorca also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to bbGourmet Maiorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing