We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of bbGourmet Maiorca

bbGourmet Maiorca
Reserve with
bbGourmet Maiorca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #263 of 1,633 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: US$16 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

bbgourmet is an excellent place for a cup a tea and a dessert. Unfortunately service is not very professional and a bit slow. The desserts are flawless!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maniakmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    94
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
192 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice spot in Porto”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I went with a friend for lunch. The food is not fantastic, but keep in mind that BBG is not a Michelin star. The service is professional. The local has a simple decoration with a very good atmosphere. Good restaurant to go for a quick meal with a fair price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOSPIR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This restaurant offers a great brunch! It serves from 12am, it has a great variety of choices, and homemade food. and you can still choose a hot dish, i recommend the pancakes with maple syrup!
The teas are great, but they could serve more warm drinks, specially in winter!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice food and setting - appalling service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Really enjoyed the menu, and the place to sit... but it was a good job we felt so comfortable because it was SO slow. There were only a few tables in the restaurant but we just didn't seem to see a waiter for long periods of the meal... so we didn't get our wine, we sat with dirty crockery in front of us for about half an hour, the waiter left us with desert menus for another good 25 minutes. by which time the restaurant had emptied out so we didn't want to sit and eat alone with empty glasses. We had to go to the bar to pay because still no one came. None of these things are the end of the world but it is a real shame because it completely ruined what would have been a nice meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanstead78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge S, Manager at bbGourmet Maiorca, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Good morning, I am this place manager and read carefully Your comments. I am very desappointed with what You described. I am very sorry Our service did stand at the level it should. Would You be so kind to tell me when exactly You did visit us ? Many thanks, Jorge Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Porto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We also were referred to BB Gourmet by the concierge at the Tiara Park Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by it, both by the menu and the outstanding service. Even though almost everyone in the restaurant spoke conversational English, BBG seems to be focused on the upper middle-class locals living in the immediate neighborhood rather than tourists.

We ate there twice during our stay in Porto. Admittedly, I prefer very fresh, non-aromatic fish and I'm not a fan of bacalao but BBG's was about the best I tasted during our stay in Portugal. Still not a fan but thankfully there were plenty of tasty pasta/seafood options on the menu so my girlfriend could indulge her quest to find the perfect salted cod.

BBG has a good wine list as well as its own retail wine store adjoining the place. Not for nothing, they also served the best vinho verde we tried in Portugal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkTheDoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bbGourmet Maiorca also viewed

 

Been to bbGourmet Maiorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing