We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Canelas de Coelho

Canelas de Coelho
Ranked #1,024 of 1,657 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: New restaurant opened in June 2010.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

It can be intimidating being the first diners in a restaurant. This can be double if it's in a foreign country. Therefore we were impressed by the warm welcome given to us at this modern looking tapas bar/restaurant.

There is a huge tapas menu chalked onto the wall, but this is only served up to early evening. After that it is their a-la-carte menu, which we ordered from. The list is small, which I prefer, and varied enough to cover most tastes. The food itself is well cooked and tasty. Whilst the service is friendly and reasonably quick and remained so even as the place filled up.

I'd certainly go back if I ever return to Porto.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markj706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    66
    28
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice romantic atmosphere, but expensive & tasteless”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

There are no seafood (except octopus). Dishes are not so tasty and big for their prices. Each dish costs more than 16 euros. Everything was not so bad, but the waiter added to our bill 4 euros for appetizer we didn't eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely unexpected surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We chose Canelas de Coelho as a place for dinner on a Tuesday night since the other restaurant located at Foz was booked out.

Parking is available across the street, although much of a rip-off, so we managed to find free parking spots not far (300meters) from the restaurant.

We had salmon roses and scallops for starters. My scallops were cooked to perfection, it was just a pity that for 8eur, only 2 of them were served.
The tenderloin steak was cooked as instructed, i.e, medium rare. Very very juicy, tender, wonderfully seasoned. The syphon Port foam was a great complement, altough the steak didn't need any sauce/jus at all since all the flavors were there. The duck confit was tender, crispy skin, unfortunately the asparagus risotto was a bit on the overcooked side.

What did surprise us the most was the wine pairings (very very reasonable priced and available by the glass, which is not frequent in this price range restaurants). The co-owner owns a winery in the Douro valley and did a perfect job choosing the wines, also the service was great - pleasant, nice, but not poshy or pretensious. The wines were between 3 and 4 euros per glass, and there were at least 3 choices of white, red and green,

Certainly a def. come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, attentive, good range of drinks - but not what I would call a Tapas bar”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

For a restaurant that describes itself as a Tapas bar we were a little disappointed on the Tapas food.

We selected their meats (cold cuts), cheeses and sausages - expecting them to be served in smaller individual plates, but no they were all served on large plates. The sausage (expected to be chorizo) were in fact simply sliced cold sausage meats of the mortadella style.

The range of the menu was certainly varied and from hearing other diners of good enough quality, but the Tapas side of the menu was certainly in my opinion neither acceptable nor reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fine meal with attentive service”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had a lovely meal here. The meats and cheeses were well chosen as an entrée, and the foie gras was subtle, in filo and a little almond. We thoughts the pork with cumin and orange was subtle and well executed. The desserts were the real stars, especially the chocolate fondant with lime sorbet. Excellent wine pairings, esp. the port (of course). The service was the real star: very attentive to food allergies. I have noticed on this site that some downgrade this restaurant because the other guests light up their cigarettes after dinner. I hate smoking, esp. in restaurants, but this is hardly the restaurant's fault, but rather a question of culture. I have seen this all over Portugal and this restaurant should hardly have its rating affected by something which is culturally prevalent (however regrettably).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canelas de Coelho also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Canelas de Coelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing