We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pensao Favorita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Favorita
Ranked #17 of 149 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Following tripadvisor's recommendations, we have been 100 % satisfied with our choice! We wanted to stay there for 2 nights but booked one more after our first night. Great location, excellent food in the restaurant, nice room, possibility to park and a small green garten. Very friendly staff and reasonable prices. We can only recommend it!! and it's difficult to find a negative point...maybe the internet connexion wasn't that excellent all the time in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden, second floor, with a small but lovely terrasse :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    46
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
108
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this little hotel. The design is great, the garden at the back is wonderful for relaxing in and the owners are so helpful and friendly. My room was beautiful, a garden room with a terrace (room 9). The bathroom was really nice and the room was bright, yet private. There is a small restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel which serves great food. Breakfast is lovely with fresh juice and eggs cooked to order. There were also croissants, breads, yoghurts and cereals.

The location is great, it is a bit of a walk from Trindade, the closest metro station but it is only a five minute walk to the centre of the city and there is a shopping street with clothes etc. at the end of the street.

The only reason I did not give this hotel 5/5 was that it was extremely noisy in my room at night due to its close proximity to the garden and therefore restaurant customers eating outdoors. This would not be an issue if you were planning to be out late but as I was travelling for work, I had planned to get an early night. Also, the sound insulation between room was also not great, I could hear the people in the room above complaining about the noise to each other!

NB. There is a new building in the garden at the back of the hotel centred around the garden which I stayed in. The rooms are beautiful. However, I expect that the rooms in the main building may be a bit quieter.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again as I think it is well priced and it is an enjoyable place to be with friendly people and interesting design. However I would request a room in the main building for noise reasons.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the garden, as for a garden room with a patio or balcony.... but only if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEM011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

the hotel is perfectly located in the artists quarter, very close to the historical centre of Porto.
Our room (n. 4) was huge and top clean. The staff is really friendly, helpful and gives lots of information on what to do/see in Porto. Absolutely a stay worth!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Helpful, welcoming staff,. We had a very spacious garden room, clean and bright, with a small modern showerroom. There is a lovely garden and outdoor terrace, where meals are served in warmer weather. We had good breakfasts, but were so busy exploring the town that we never used the restaurant. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

From the great staff, to the wonderful restaurant/breakfast room and lovely garden, I can't say enough about Favorita. Crisp, minimal, but somehow homey, room. Loved the small but spa-like bathroom. Big comfy bed. We had a small snack one night in the restaurant, which was fantastic - mushroom tagliatelle and chocolate cake, topped with vinho tinto and port.

Great location in an artsy part of town (I loved CC Bombarda).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Pensao Favorita is one of the best ratios price/ quality that have experienced in Europe.

The personnel led by Emma, the owner, is very helpful and efficient, the rooms are quite and well decorated, the food is great, the location is perfect to visit Porto without being in the noise of the historical center, that meanwhile can easily be reached by foot or by tramway.

Room Tip: ask ground floor in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philippe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights during a Portugal trip. Pensao Favorita has nice and spacious rooms with a small bathroom. Furnishing is quite minimalistic and reduced to a minimum with modern objects - very nice if you like this style. Breakfast was served on the terrace with freshly squeezed juice. Location is a bit outside of the main part of the town but it is a nice walk down to Rio Douro and not so touristy. If you arrive by car be prepared to park in one of the garages down the street. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knabberbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.7 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 213 in Porto
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#3 of 149 in Porto
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#5 of 149 in Porto
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Favorita

Property: Pensao Favorita
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 267, Porto 4050-381, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pensao Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing