We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique Inn experience”
Review of THE 4ROOMS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
THE 4ROOMS
Ranked #47 of 169 Porto B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed aet 4 rooms 3 nights in June-our son had been and highy recommended it. Caterina,innkeeer,couldn't have been more helpful; the setting is beautiful -we had the garden room with a garden either side of the actual room(small but functional), Breakfast,exquisitely prepared and served in our own little garden was special, The location,near the river and the sea, yet an easy commute to town gave us a chance to see an area we would not have seen had we stayedi n the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you have had your fill of large impersonal hotels in city centres give Four Rooms a go. Small but beautiful boutique hotel with very personal service from Catarina. Great advice on what to see in the city and we took her suggestion of a restaurant within walking distance of the hotel and were not disappointed. The breakfast in the garden is an experience and the location is perfect. Tram or bus into the centre is easy and efficient. The only downside is if you are trying to find the hotel by car.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms are small but there is a lovely lounge and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanchester71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon in the first week of July. We spent the first night in the Garden Loft which is immaculate, high tec, but really really small, and the following six nights in the Sky Loft, which was spacious as well as beautifully organized and maintained. Breakfast was excellent. Catarina was charming and helpful, with great ideas and suggestions. We loved eating at Tito 2 in Matosinhos and the tiny one in the Fos called Tentacoes no Prato, just near the hotel. We loved Porto in fact and this hotel is in a great location from which to explore it.

Room Tip: Both beds we slept in were very comfortable and the neighborhood is generally quiet. The Garden Loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in the garden loft for three days in June. The room is small but everything else is BIG. Beautiful and well equipped room, tasty breakfast and location in a lovely part of Porto. And Catarina! She is the jewel of the crown! She is the perfect host and she has adapted all the codes to make the guests feel good. On our different travels we seldom return to a place we have been before, but this time I am sure we will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Björn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at Four Rooms for two nights in May and had a delightful time. A truly contemporary suite in an older, renovated home away from the hustle and bustle of the city. No street noises at night. Catarina greeted us warmly and gave us all sorts of ideas for touring the city and suggested two excellent restaurants. Our suite was on the main level, so we had our own private entrance! The bathroom was a tad small, but we made do! Catarina served a beautiful breakfast each morning - eggs, yogurt, fruit, breads - more than enough to get us started each day. Would definitely stay at Four Rooms again if we return to Porto!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed at Four rooms for three nights in the sky loft and had a very comfortable stay. The room was well equipped and spotless. The service provided by Catarina was fantastic and made up for a couple of minor hiccups that stopped our stay from being perfect. Finding four rooms is not easy as there is no outside sign and the directions we received provided no street number. Once found though it is a sanctuary. We were greeted by a cup of tea and scrummy chocolate cake. Tea and homemade cake was available each day. Being located in Foz just outside Porto was perfect for us as we do not need a big nightlife scene. We took the tram in to Porto which was a nice experience and very easy and inexpensive to do. There are plenty of local restaurants and bars in Foz and it is a beautiful area to walk around. Breakfast each day was varied and substantial. A memorable stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a great place to stay! I had a couple of logistical challenges that they helped me with, which I really appreciated. It was also interesting to experience a less touristy part of Porto.

I can only recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry-of-Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boa Vista
Hotel Boa Vista
#48 of 108 in Porto
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Porto Foz
Residencial Porto Foz
#75 of 108 in Porto
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flattered To Be In Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa das Laranjas
Casa das Laranjas
#59 of 169 in Porto
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Casa de Cadoucos
#129 of 253 in Porto
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Porto Foz Velha 4 Flats
#156 of 253 in Porto
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE 4ROOMS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE 4ROOMS

Address: Rua Padre Luis Cabral 1015, Porto 4150-464, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £70 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THE 4ROOMS 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4Rooms is a stylish Bed & Breakfast located in a narrow, winding street of one of the most charming and fashionable Porto districts - the historical old Foz - where the Douro river meets the Atlantic Ocean.Bringing together history, tradition, attentiveness and architectural excellence this place was created to enjoy an unforgettable experience.It was designed by the internationally awarded architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, Pritzker Prize winner 2011, and it is catered for by the exquisit Restaurant Pedro Lemos, which provides all food and beverages served to our guests.Besides, we work with several more carefully selected partners in order to provide the most enjoyable products, amenities and services to our guests in Porto and around Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your THE 4ROOMS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4rooms, Al Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing