We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Porto Hostel
Ranked #68 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We spent 2 night in Magnolia Porto Hostel. It is much better option than staying in a hotel. This hostel is nicely designed, good located, with warm atmosphere and service. Moreover, VERY CHEAP. Even a little breakfast was served. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Porto Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

We had a stay in this hostel just for two nights because Porto was the endpoint of our trip throught Portugal amd Porto was really full of tourists thistime.
So we catched a dormbed in this hostel for a preis who was ok for this time.
The hostel is a 15 minute walk from the heart of the old town of porto but it is good to walk.
The hostel itself was a little bit to full for a more personal talk to the staff but otherwise we needed only a bed for the night and this was ok.
Kitchen, tv-room and not really clean bathrooms-everything was there, and a nice little garden in the back, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Me and my girlfriend went to Porto last month and we found this nice hostel just by chance because we had no reservation and no clue where to go to.
We past it while we walked around in Porto and my girlfriend saw the big, red door and we stambled in.
The guys at the reception were very nice and offered us two beds in a multiple room.
The room was nice but the beds were really not new anymore, and I had really a problem to sleep there because it has been a problem for my back. My girlfriend slept like a baby and doesn`t understand my problem with the bed.
The rest of the hostel was good, a nice kitchen, clean bathrooms, Internetconnection and even a nice, little garden in the back.
The breakfast in the morning was also included and really not bad.
A weekness is the noisy street in front of the hostel with much traffic also in the nighttime.
I think, if my girlfriend wrote this review, it wood be much better like mine because she doesn`t wanted to leave the hostel because she really felt in love with the Magnolia Porto Hostel !!!
By the way, her name is Theresa and she loves this place really very much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank VaivaJackunaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

ThIS was really a Nice stay át. The Magnolia Porto hostel.
We arrived late in the evening without a reservation but the friendly staff did find two beds for us And we had a silent and peaceful nigh.
Át. The next morning there was a breakfast , nothing special but in the price included.
The only thing who was not perfect was it could be cleaner in the bathroom André the sleepingroom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank Nelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Perfect location, super friendly and helpful staff, lovely decorated room / common areas. Had probably the best sleep in years (excluding own home). The house is old, so some noise can be heard from the other rooms/common areas/outside, but overall quite peaceful and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spend a weekend in september in this hostel in porto and we don`t regret it so far.
Miguel on the reception welcomed us very friendly and gave us the key to our double private room. We were surprised because the room was without any window.
So we felt a little bit upset but it was Ok for a weekend.
The breakfast, who was included, was also good but standard.
After the breakfast they also offert a walk throu the old town of Porto and this was really informativ.
The hostel itself is a little bit outside of the old town, maybe 15 minutes by feet and ten minutes away from Sao Bento trainstation.
Bathroom, commenroom and kitchen, everything OK.
A downside is the quite weak WiFi signal who made it imposibel to connect my tablet with the internet.
But if I count everything together, so it was a nice weekend with helpful staff and nice other guests in the hostel.
Thank`s Miguel, thank you Magnolia hostel of the beautiful city of Porto !!!

Room Tip: not a private double, could be without window !!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
49  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hostel was by far, the best hostel we stayed at in Portugal. {We stayed at 6 different ones}

It was in a good location and the staff was very helpful. Miguel at the desk was simply amazing. He helped us by informing us about the sights of Porto and with a restauraunt recommendation. The other staff members were also kind and informative.

There is a selecion of bread, ham, cheese, cereal, coffee, milk, tea and orange juice for breakfast.
We stayed in the 8 dorm mixed bedroom. It had 2 separate showers and 2 bathrooms. There were huge lockers, which they provided keys for.

There are also two free walking tours, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. The tour is provided by Pancho tours and they pick you up at the hostel.

We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Oporto Invictus Hostel
Oporto Invictus Hostel
#34 of 244 in Porto
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mimhostel
Mimhostel
#81 of 244 in Porto
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden House Hostel Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porto Alive Hostel
Porto Alive Hostel
#78 of 244 in Porto
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Antas Ville
Antas Ville
#129 of 244 in Porto
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden House Porto
Eden House Porto
#87 of 167 in Porto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Porto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Porto Hostel

Address: Avenida Rodrigues de Freitas 387, Porto 4000-422, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: £25 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Porto Hostel is the perfect base to discover everything that Porto has to offer. located in the city centre, a 5 minute walk from metro station and with very easy access to all of the city's attractions, it’s the perfect spot for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the city’s culture or explore its vibrant night life.our newly renovated building combines typical Porto architecture with a relaxed and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Porto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Porto Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing