We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than perfect”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We were going to blow the budget and go to the Yeatman, and I am so glad sense prevailed! It's a converted historic building one street up from the river - so all the views and proximity to life without the clatter. The Carris was so much more than we anticipated. The breakfast was varied, plentiful and served in a charming space. The staff throughout were helpful, efficient and smiley. Our room was a joy. I'd asked for a river view and boy did we get one! We were in the attic of the hotel with wonderful sloping eaves and a window overlooking the fantastic historic roof tops to the Douro. Each morning we would sit and watch the river wake up, each evening we could see the people putting away their boats. It was a joy and with a spectacular bathroom as well. Thoroughly recommended, and we are already putting a group together to go back next year!

Room Tip: 502 was a delight if you are ok with the eaves but they do have some lower with little balconies as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    366
    111
    41
    19
See reviews for
122
458
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had the most relaxing stay. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the door by two of the cheerful reception staff (one was a trainee) we knew we'd made the right choice. The decor was different and beautiful, and was very impressive and consistent throughout. Our room was completely gorgeous and very relaxing; we found it spacious and very comfortable - definitely one of the best night's sleep. We didn’t have breakfast but did have dinner and a late lunch in the restaurant, the restaurant is really convenience and found it was a very tasty, traditional.

The Hotel is right in the centre of things, and it seemed quite safe. Furthermore, the hotel is within a 30 seconds walk of to the river. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in Porto. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!
We stayed in the junior suite, room 304. Totally awesome view.
Check out my photos of the room. http://flic.kr/s/aHsjC8idym

Room Tip: Room 304, Junior Suite. A really good room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAi979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

It was hard to find a hotel in Oporto as everything seemed super expensive. The alternative was a business hotel far from the center. This hotel was reasonably priced and you can't beat the location. It's right on the river, very close to the Dom Luis bridge (get read to feel those calf muscles burn as you hike your way up town). The decor is modern but not impersonal, though it's a bit of a labyrinth. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was pretty good but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: It's better to try to get a room in the main building or you have to take the elevator, walk dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We loved the style of the hotel (you feel like you are in modern cellars) and it is right next to all the great restaurants and cafes, without hearing any noise from it. We slept extremely well and were amazed we could get such a nice place for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiphtoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Porto and picked this hotel based on its trip Advisior reviews,This hotel is very nice, With modern design and plenty of funky seating in the reception areas. Room was a good size and had an attractive bathroom and large flat screen TV. No wardrobe space which is the only minus.We were at the back of the hotel, so no traffic noise but not a good view.
Breakfast offered a good choice but all standard fare.We ate in the hotel tapas bar and food was delicious.
The hotel is very handy for the Ribeiro district and is just a few minutes walk away, however the pavements are quite uneven so flat shoes are a must.
Staff are really helplful and always smiling. Would return here anytime.

Room Tip: We had room 213 which is on the back and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for four nights in August 2012. The rooms are very comfortable and we had no problem getting a good nights sleep. The restaurant and tapas are first class.Staff very helpful. A very central hotel with easy access to all the attractions.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieBoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

After arriving via the Airport and Metro we took the walk from Sau Bento down the hill. A local sent us on a bit of a detour but we found the hotel eventually. We checked in quickly and went to our room which we found to be very very small especially considering we booked Superior.
After a phone call to reception they came and moved us to a room "over the bridge" in the annex. This room was much larger and had great bathroom, Huge TV and safe etc. Only problem was the view was of someones washing. This didn't really affect us but just so others are aware.
We booked breakfast but because of our room change they queried all three times we went down as they hadn't got us on the list. Good selection especially of pastries etc. Only gripe was that the hot selection wasn't hot at all on any of the days.
Bar was nice and not over priced and the location couldn't be bettered for the River.
Couple of Improvements (and a more info on the website about difference in rooms) and this could be a great rather than very good.

Room Tip: Be careful about room selection - ask the hotel depending on your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beduffshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#19 of 106 in Porto
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Property: Carris Porto Ribeira
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing