We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
366
449
150
61
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
449
150
61
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat locationjunior suitetaxi standold buildingmodern hotelport housesluis bridgebasic roomhotel restaurantshower gellower floorlobby areabathroom floorbars and restaurantsshort walkstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It is a great place to stay - 100 m from Ribeira (river front). Within the building (open plan) are exhibits of exquisite designer furniture which can be viewed from Reception level & fully glassed windows from outside. Very professional, polite & helpful staff.
WiFi is not available everywhere & was not at all in our room at all (ok with cable I was advised) which is difficult if you need to work there.
The Junior Suite was lovely, spacious & clean with a designer bathroom but under the roof with a very small window.
2 lovely looking restaurants, both of which were fully booked on 2 nights we wanted to go (Hotel was booked out), so cannot comment on the food.
Would return & recommend without any hesitation as one of the best 4 * Hotels I have stayed.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite to the back as you get views over the river & possible a balcony. They are spacious & very well set out with a super comfortable bed & low-noise air con. Front of the Hotel overlooks a very busy street (currently a building site which stretches around the corner), so lots of noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFRScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We used this hotel as a base for seven nights while exploring the city and local area and were very pleased with our choice. By far the best thing about the Carris hotel is its location, just one block back from the river front right in the heart of the tourist district. Just be aware that there are on-going road works outside the hotel and ask for a room at the back or on a higher floor if you value your sleep.

As other reviews have commented, the rooms are small and without much storage space but they are really nicely decorated and equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel of this quality. Just be careful which room you are given, some are on the lower ground floor and have no view or natural light and those overlooking the main road will be noisy. If you can it is worth spending an extra 10 euros for a room with a view on the top floor. I only knew this was an option after reading the reviews on Trip advisor as the staff did not suggest it.

The Wi-Fi didn't work in our room on the top floor but did work downstairs in the lobby and bar

The communal areas of the hotel are very comfortable, the bar is a nice place to start off the evening and they do some great value cocktails. The restaurant does a good value set lunch for 12 euros but the evening menu looked a bit pricey and there are many, many better value restaurants in the area. We found all the staff helpful and they speak a multitude of languages however the service was a bit over-formal and stuffy for what is essentially a mid price hotel.

Some general Porto recommendations: Take the no.1 tram from just around the corner to the beach at Foz. Cross over the river to the bars and restaurants on Villa Nova de Gaia, much better value than Ribeira and much friendlier service. Our favourites were Bar do Micha and Taberna do Manel. When you have had enough of Cod and potatoes served in a hundred different ways then try La Ricotta Italian restaurant just off Aliados.

For a day trip out of Porto you can visit both Braga and Guimares in a day. Take the train from Sao Bento station and a bus between the two cities, neither really have enough to keep you busy for more than a few hours.

We visited both Taylor's and Graham's port lodges, neither are right on the water front and a bit of a hike up the hill but well worth the extra effort to get away from the coach parties and enjoy a slightly more "exclusive" experience. Both offer a tour and tasting experience for 5-6 euros and both have restaurants. Taylor's has a beautiful terrace with amazing views and Graham's has a really interesting museum and video presentation about port making. Both highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to pay an extra 10 euros for a room with a view on the top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is brilliantly situated hotel just by the river front in Porto. The staff were excellent as was the wonderful buffet breakfast which was included in our room rate of around £66 per night (April 2013).

The room was small but perfectly comfortable with a nice modern bathroom and free wifi.

A great base from which to explore this wonderful city.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank san160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed for 1 night in January 2013. Unfortunately the service at reception was very poor. This was acerbated when we walked into the room. We had asked for a non smoking room and the room smelled of smoke and the air conditioner did not work. Eventually after a long wait and trips to reception we were moved to a new room. Again the air conditioner did not work. It took 2 hours to get a response from the receptionist and the air conditioner working. Staff training seemed to be a problem here.
the room was ok but very small.

On the flip side the restaurant in the basement was excellent with very good service

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GracaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here for three nights March 2013. Were able to get a deal on Expedia for approximately $100 USD per night.

Had a wonderful stay here. The hotel is just about a year old and they have done a wonderful job of re-purposing an existing crumbling structure into something chic and modern. Very interesting design. We were given a basement room and our windows overlooked a lovely ruined building. Room itself was small, but everything was comfortable and very clean. We kept our things in the safe while we were out sight-seeing.

Breakfast was included and it was great -- cured meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals etc. By stocking up at breakfast-time were able to save on lunch. Plus, the hotel is walking distance to the main square and to all the river front restaurants. It's only about a 15 minute walk over to the port tasting on the other side of the river.

We found the staff very nice as well. We arrived late and Marta checked us in -- she was really nice and took a moment to tell us about the area, even though it was quite late. She always had a smile on her face each time we saw her over the course of the weekend.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Very nice hotel, good value, and very chic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank q2435V34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews