We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
369
460
160
68
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
460
160
68
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat locationjunior suitetaxi standold buildingmodern hotelport housesbasic roomluis bridgeshower gellobby arealower floorhotel restaurantbars and restaurantsbathroom floorfacing the streetbusy street
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

There are unquestionably more expensive and better hotels in Porto but there can be very few which are better sited offering excellent service and value for money. The hotel is in the Ribeira area down by the River Douro waterfront right by the D Luis bridge. Do walk across on the top level - but no place for vertigo!

The hotel staff are very helpful, the standard rooms very small by US standards but modern and very clean. You will probably only use it for sleeping in anyway, there is so much more to do outside. Breakfast was included in our arrangements and the buffet very good. In fact the restaurant which we used for lunch on our departure day was transformed by the addition of table linen and wine glasses. Having said that there are restaurants everywhere you look in that area. Pricier if they have a river view of course but we did enjoy them all.

Must things to do? Cross the Douro on the D Luis bridge on the top to Gaia the city on the opposite side of the river and come back on the lowe level. Catch the funicular up to the top of the city. Visit the railway station Sao Bento (makes the UK equivalents look shabby!) and if you cannot take a 1 day cruise on the Douro do take the 50 minute boat trip down to the river mouth and under Portos 6 bridges. This last for €10 each.

Porto was what I imagined Paris might have been like at the turn of the century in terms of architecture. Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better but ours on the 2nd floor facing the river was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Nice hotel. We stayed in a Junior suite well worth the extra, plenty of room and a separate seating area.

The food was very good - a brave attempt at an English breakfast and excellent dinner menu. We found that here (as well as other restaurants) that the food was served warm rather than hot, could be a cultural thing.

We hired a car which was a mistake. parking is 20 Euros a day and the city traffic in Porto is horrendous.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite, river view and plenty of room. Worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after traveling around Northern Portugal. Absolutely loved Porto & this hotel was great. The position is perfect, near to the river where there is alot going on & easy to access the rest of the city. Rooms are a little on the small side but for a city break it works very well, furnished with all mod cons. Book for breakfast, it is very good with lots of choice. Would definately recommend a stay here

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. It really is a beautiful hotel and in perfect location - less that 60 seconds walk from the buzz of Douro waterfront and some great walks. The Palacio da Bolsa and the amazing 'golden church' of Igreja de S. Francisco are on same road less than 2 mins walk. There is a taxi rank right across the road, very handy for heading into town (anywhere from the waterfront means steep uphill walks to town centre shopping!). Ate two nights in their downstairs restaurant 'Forno Velho' - which seldom gets profile anywhere ... I just don't know why as its really excellent with a wide section of fish AND meat dishes and vegetarian options too. At circa €80 for a full fine-dining evening dinner for two with wine - it was still great value. We ate there on two evenings - as we just couldn't better it - and we don't like going anywhere twice. The hotel is very cosy and the staff friendly. Travelled from Ireland and would select the same hotel anytime. No negatives - just some roadworks to the side of hotel ...but they are ongoing in most parts of central Porto ... and only reflecting its progress. If you like a walk it's a short walk to the Ponte D Luis 1 Bridge - cross it and take in a visit to one of the Port House Visitor Attractions such as Sandemans Port.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Carris for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful right from the start - in particular Marta and Cathia. They could not do enough for us during our stay, whether it be restaurant recommendations or directions. Our room initially overlooked the main road and was a little noisy, so we asked to move and were given a lovely room with glimpses of the waterfront, which was quiet. The breakfast was fantastic and well worth including in your budget. Highly recommend this hotel for it's ambience, staff and location.

Room Tip: Room 301 was a small double, but lovely views out to the river.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews