We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #38 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A modern hotel in a great location.
We had a room rate including breakfast, which was a great start to the day - much more than a standard Continental offering with plenty of fresh choice.
The staff throughout were all very courteous and on hand for any queries.
On departure we had a query with our room tariffs, but this was dealt with very swiftly by the front office management.

Nice rooms with very comfortable beds, but with a few oversights:
1. No spyholes in the doors - not great as a woman in a room on her own.
2. Lovely powerful showers - but no shelf to put shampoo / soap etc.
3. No hand soap for the basin - had to use the shower gel for washing hands.
4. No complimentary water or tea/coffee making facilities in a 4 star hotel

The room I was in was small but, as mentioned by other reviewers, you only really use it as a base, and it was more than sufficient for single occupancy and the air-conditioning was very effective.
However, on the down side, there seemed to be a distinct lack of soundproofing. We could hear everything going on in the corridor and the adjoining rooms. One evening I was going back to my room and could hear snoring from one of the rooms - I pity whoever was in the room next to it!
Having said that, noise was not a problem overnight (maybe because the hotel wasn't too busy).

For the location alone, I would more than likely stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room with a river view, away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit-Born-Cyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel has the prefect location, in the middle of the old centre and close to the Douro. There are many nice restaurants nearby. The rooms in this old building are really modern. Clean, comfi beds, nice shower. We were lucky to have a room with a view on the Douro. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon. Fantastic location and nice modern décor. Lots of helpful recommendations from friendly staff, Paulo thank you!! Small rooms, but we did move to a larger room on the 4th floor on the second night facing the river and it was worth it! The regular rooms although nicely decorated were very, very small. The breakfasts were also very good and looked forward to them every morning!

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the river. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hotel is superbly located in the ribeira district in Porto. We booked a room with view which was worth it! The hotel staff gave us easy recommendations to the interesting tourist sites. The staff also assisted us in finding a pay shop for highway toll fares and recommended the most excellent spot to enoy a francheshina sandwich. If you go to Porto, just book this modern hotel even though the rooms are rather small. The breakfast is good, free wifi and centrally located close to the port houses and lots of lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is in one of the best modernised buildings I have stayed in. Originally a wine warehouse it has been extensively modernised in a sympathetic and excellently planned way. Stay here and you are literally sleeping on Roman foundations! We were cordially welcomed by the staff on arrival. We wanted a river view and the duty manager offered us a choice of two possibilities one of which had beautiful views of the river and bridge, at night you could see the Port signs illuminating the area. It was clear that the general philosophy of the hotel management was to make sure that guests wishes were catered for as much as possible. The room was clean comfortable and well appointed. The old river front was barely five minutes walk away and the city centre no more than fifteen minutes. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, well presented and tasty, excellent value. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anybody visiting Porto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedcoatEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights (1-6 june 2013). This hotel is in Ribeira area down by the river Duoro just the perfect hotel in perfect location! The rooms are relatively small and without much storage space but they are nicely decorated and equipped with all the amenities. The WiFi didn't work in my room but work downstairs in the lobby and bar.
The staff were really excellent, polite, professional.
Breakfast and dinner menu just excellent.
I would definitely recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: ask for a river view room if a possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nektarios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

There are unquestionably more expensive and better hotels in Porto but there can be very few which are better sited offering excellent service and value for money. The hotel is in the Ribeira area down by the River Douro waterfront right by the D Luis bridge. Do walk across on the top level - but no place for vertigo!

The hotel staff are very helpful, the standard rooms very small by US standards but modern and very clean. You will probably only use it for sleeping in anyway, there is so much more to do outside. Breakfast was included in our arrangements and the buffet very good. In fact the restaurant which we used for lunch on our departure day was transformed by the addition of table linen and wine glasses. Having said that there are restaurants everywhere you look in that area. Pricier if they have a river view of course but we did enjoy them all.

Must things to do? Cross the Douro on the D Luis bridge on the top to Gaia the city on the opposite side of the river and come back on the lowe level. Catch the funicular up to the top of the city. Visit the railway station Sao Bento (makes the UK equivalents look shabby!) and if you cannot take a 1 day cruise on the Douro do take the 50 minute boat trip down to the river mouth and under Portos 6 bridges. This last for €10 each.

Porto was what I imagined Paris might have been like at the turn of the century in terms of architecture. Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better but ours on the 2nd floor facing the river was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#12 of 108 in Porto
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £61 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing