We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks in October to celebrate my 50th. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. There is a good selection of TV channels. The double windows do a good job of insulating the street noise, though a light sleeper may hear some penetration. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the young woman at the front desk named Marta. Location is great. Right by the river and the port wine houses over the bridge. The center of town is uphill one kilometer away. The breakfasts are o.k. but never changed in the two weeks we were there.
A couple of things which we did not like were the funny smell in the hallway on the third floor, and how stingy they were with replenishing the soaps and shampoos. A four star hotel should not leave one scrap of soap for two people. Once we asked for more soaps they were provided however.

All in all, a comfortable stay in a great city.

Room Tip: I was told by the front desk that a double room with two beds pushed together is a bigger room than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paparufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Considering that I just got off of a river cruise , I should have thought this room palatial by comparison, but it was very cramped and very inefficiently designed. We could not change places in the room unless one person sat on the bed. Not to mention, there wasn't any place else to sit. If we opened the door to the patio, it swung to hit the bed and was a very dangerous glass door obstructing the path. The closet had dress and slacks hangers with a floor clearance for someone 2 feet tall. The bathroom floor was extremely slippery because there wasn't a door to shut while showering. The bed was comfortable, but piled with decorative pillows and no place to store them, except on the floor which added to the already poor traffic pattern.

On the good side, Carris is a beautiful and unique renovation of an historic building. It was within walking distance off all the wonderful sights in Porto-my new favorite city. The staff was excellent (though they did miss our wakeup call) and had a nice breakfast packed since we were leaving very early in the morning.

I would stay here again in an instant, but only after viewing the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwoodRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great location--just up the hill from the river. The bedroom/bathroom was excellent but we rarely used the downstairs. Needed a closet up where we bathed, etc. The staff was excellent. Very, very helpful and courteous. Excellent restaurant!

Room Tip: If you're not into climbing stairs, stay away from the suites but the view of the river is almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryandrichard240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great location, one minute to walk to the river. We had a junior suite which was on two levels at the top of the hotel - beautiful view across the river to the port cellars. Efficient but frosty reception on arrival, but the other reception staff were very helpful. Very large (7ft) bed, and very comfortable. Rooms cleaned to extremely high standard. Only negative - unable to borrow an iron, although they do offer ironing service, and the wardrobe is short - unable to hang a normal length dress. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsABeautifulW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Travelled for a weekend away with friends. Beautifully restored old prison building (according to a local) in a fantastic location close to the quayside and it's restaurants and wine bars. We all had junior suites each of which had a lounge area, balconies and plenty of place as well as views (of differing quality) of the river. Pretty good value as well.

Only issues were the breakfast area (which seemed overcrowded and understaffed meaning that residents were having to queue for some time to sit down) and reception where the absence of a concierge meant having to wait for seemingly ages to get a routine request answered while the charming staff were booking trips recommending restaurants etc.

Despite these issues, it was a really enjoyable stay and I would return if in Porto again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor junior suites have proper balconies (i.e. not Juliet balconies) and great views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butch_Petrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is ideal for exploring Porto as it is close to the river and has good access to restaurants and activities. The desk staff are very helpful and can answer most questions. The hotel is cleverly restored and has a charming ambience.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a superior room as the standard rooms are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

In the heart of the old Porto city, ask for the Junior Suite, very spacious and modern with a view on the city from the bedroom. Loved the place, staff are very professional, speak English and available. Dinner was a good option, breakfast is available as well but we preferred to look for the local experience .. but not too many place are open early, most of them opens after 10am.

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlivierNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 109 in Porto
1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 109 in Porto
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £55 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing