We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nicely renovated historic building, some reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, nicely renovated historic building, some reservations”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is located near the river in the Old Town. The location is convenient for sightseeing along the river, for walking to the port wine cellars in Villa Nova de Gaia, and for exploring the medieval center. The shopping and market areas of the city are a 15 minute, steep, uphill climb from this hotel. Although we chose to walk up the hill, taxis were always waiting right outside the front door if the hill climbing proved too difficult. This historic building is beautifully renovated in an area where there are many old and empty buildings just waiting for renewal. Front desk service was adequate but not particularly friendly or helpful. We found restaurant reviews on Trip Advisor to be more helpful than suggestions from the staff at the front desk, although they did make a few bookings for us when we asked. Housekeeping service was unreliable. One day we arrived back at our room at 4 PM to find the housekeepers just getting around to cleaning it and the bathroom floor soaking wet. We stayed 4 nights and bathroom toiletries were not refreshed. On the last day I had to go hunting for soap. Although the bed was nicely made every day I don't think the sheets were changed, at least not on a daily basis. Generally though, the room was clean and well equipped and the bed reasonably comfortable. We were in a junior suit (304) and the sitting area and the views from the large windows on three sides of the room were lovely. There was an unpleasant smell in the room every time we walked in. We wondered if this was due to the rainy weather and the sewer system in the old town. On the plus side, the AC was extremely effective and it was very nice to be able to control the temperature of the room so effectively. We've stayed in many 4 star hotels in Europe where the room could not be cooled, particularly in November or at night when they seem to turn the AC off so we really appreciated this! Breakfast was adequate but not remarkable and some of the pastries did not seem fresh. To sum up, this hotel has its positive points (location, AC, newly renovated building) but could be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveler1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    363
    108
    40
    19
See reviews for
122
450
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Forget the fact that rooms facing the main street are noisy, toilet paper is more like sand paper and breakfast is way overpriced.

On our last night we returned to our room only to find our suitcases were opened up and many items gone including jewelry, underwear!, tablet, bags, makeup case along with the makeup, books and above all a travel bag with all our documents.

The worst thing is that as soon as we reported this to the staff, we stopped being treated as guests. No apology, no offer to accommodate our needs considering we were starving and only sending the cops to pick us up. The hotel manager treated us without an ounce of empathy and only tried to cover this up. The housekeeper invented a made up story which the manager stuck by and refused to hand over surveillance tapes to the police when asked, stalling the investigation.

Needless to say no form of compensation was offered but on the contrary, a terrible attitude towards well paying guests who clearly got robbed by a staff member.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. There are plenty of good options around.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
18 Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Carris Porto Ribeira is set at the Cais da Ribeira district close to many bars and restaurants. The facade and public areas are beautifully restored and contemporary decor creates a great cozy atmosphere. Rooms are lined with hardwood and nice linens. Toileteries are green tea scented and of nice quality. Breakfast is generous, healthy and supplied of local products. Staff members were busy all thhe time but always attentive and caring for you> Paulo, Pedro, Catia were at front desk always answering questions, considering local places to eat and visit. Their suggestions were more than appreciated. Rooms are calm and silent. Porto is an amazing city with plenty to see and explore. Several streets were being repaved but this did not interfere in our city sightseeing. One may note that most of city activity is located in upper town (cidade alta) and Carris Ribeira is located in lower town (cidade baixa). THere is need to climb stairs or steep streets or take a cab. The road is relatively steepy and some physical -restricted folks may have some issues.

I´ve booked superior room and we were given a queen bed in the upper floor with a balcony. I informed that we would like two separate beds and lady brought a folding bed that could not be open in the room (too big). Later we were offered a room in the lower floor with two separate beds, we went there and room 121 was a little dark and facing an inner courtyard wall (no balcony). They informed all rooms in the upper floors have couple beds and no single beds. On the next few day we saw at the lobby another guest with same complaint.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. On arrival we were not at all impressed by the staff who seemed more like automatons than people. We were dealt with by a very surly guy. However during our stay the staff couldn't have been nicer. We never saw this one guy again so maybe he was just the weekend staff.
Hotel public areas were lovely. Our room was very nice but faced a brick wall, no view at all. But the air con was amazing!
We ate the first night in the restaurant and I have to say the food was awful. We both had fish and it came with boiled potatoes and vegetables. The fish was OK but the vegetables were all overcooked and watery. They were also very bland, no taste to them, no seasoning. The service was appalling. We went in at 7.45 pm and came out at 10.20 pm and we only had 2 courses. I have to say the puddings were very nice. I think the hotel prides itself on its fine dining but it seemed to be trying to be too pretentious with the food presentation. I would rather have had something more edible than all the trimmings. After this we ate out at night and there are some fabulous places, one only a little further on the same road. The ones at the waterfront are good too.
Loved Porto, so much to do. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't choose one starting 00 or you will end up in the basement looking at a wall as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyeSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks in October to celebrate my 50th. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. There is a good selection of TV channels. The double windows do a good job of insulating the street noise, though a light sleeper may hear some penetration. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the young woman at the front desk named Marta. Location is great. Right by the river and the port wine houses over the bridge. The center of town is uphill one kilometer away. The breakfasts are o.k. but never changed in the two weeks we were there.
A couple of things which we did not like were the funny smell in the hallway on the third floor, and how stingy they were with replenishing the soaps and shampoos. A four star hotel should not leave one scrap of soap for two people. Once we asked for more soaps they were provided however.

All in all, a comfortable stay in a great city.

Room Tip: I was told by the front desk that a double room with two beds pushed together is a bigger room than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paparufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Considering that I just got off of a river cruise , I should have thought this room palatial by comparison, but it was very cramped and very inefficiently designed. We could not change places in the room unless one person sat on the bed. Not to mention, there wasn't any place else to sit. If we opened the door to the patio, it swung to hit the bed and was a very dangerous glass door obstructing the path. The closet had dress and slacks hangers with a floor clearance for someone 2 feet tall. The bathroom floor was extremely slippery because there wasn't a door to shut while showering. The bed was comfortable, but piled with decorative pillows and no place to store them, except on the floor which added to the already poor traffic pattern.

On the good side, Carris is a beautiful and unique renovation of an historic building. It was within walking distance off all the wonderful sights in Porto-my new favorite city. The staff was excellent (though they did miss our wakeup call) and had a nice breakfast packed since we were leaving very early in the morning.

I would stay here again in an instant, but only after viewing the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoodRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiaxere, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great location--just up the hill from the river. The bedroom/bathroom was excellent but we rarely used the downstairs. Needed a closet up where we bathed, etc. The staff was excellent. Very, very helpful and courteous. Excellent restaurant!

Room Tip: If you're not into climbing stairs, stay away from the suites but the view of the river is almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandrichard240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#24 of 106 in Porto
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 106 in Porto
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#26 of 106 in Porto
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Property: Carris Porto Ribeira
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing