We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carris Porto Ribeira
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are a mature couple from the US and first time visitors to Portugal. We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is modern and unusual in it's style being that they combined a few of these old buildings to create one hotel. In the design they left a lot of the original stonework, which makes it charming. I agree with the other reviews regarding reception, friendly but not overly helpful. And yes it was a minor inconvenience messing with the internet. We were there five nights during the St. Joao celebration, and yes dancing in the streets right outside the door. We came in at 4am and our room was quiet and sound proof. The first three nights we had a room which
did not have much of a view, but was still very nice. After the celebration we moved to a room with two balconies, one over looking the Douro river. It was 20 euro more a night and worth it.
The air conditioner worked well. Breakfast offered at 10 euro a person, but you must agree to the entire stay otherwise it is 12euro. We tried it the first day, but there are cheaper choices around the corner. It was an easy 1/2 block walk to river and around the city, and there were always taxi's outside the door. There is an ATM machine also just outside the door. We would recommend this hotel and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a river view room if you can, wasn't much more $$.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
There are newer reviews for Carris Porto Ribeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Special hotel in the city centre of Porto. Decor modern and sleek, with a warm atmosphere. The rooms are located in a maze of multiple linked old restored buildings. Spacious beautiful rooms. Bar in the hotel. Restaurants within walking distance. A must!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BalouIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Reception team helpful, well spoken and friendly.

Nice modern hotel with intriguing design.

We had superb view of the river with balcony.

Comfy bed / pillows. Very clean rooms.

Bar area nicely tucked away for a sip of Porto, they have a big selection.

Mini bar selection could be improved.

Great location, just around the corner from the main river Duoro.

We will be back. Thank you to Marcelino at reception especially.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mandb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for my husband's birthday, to introduce our friends to one of our favourite cities and for the S. Joao celebrations.
Location good but the windows' sound proofing qualities are so poor that sleep is difficult especially with an Irish pub across the road....and that was before the night of S. Joao! Lifts took forever and the wifi access - what a pain! New code every 24 hours, which had to be re-entered often within that time. With the air traffic control strike, we needed information but struggled to get it.
Staff are polite but don't expect gushing. Their communication between each other could be better eg when we were trying to book transport to the airport.
The room was small...or perhaps the bed was too big for it. Nice for us to have complimentary port and biscuits - not in our friends' room though. The TV was not on a bracket so couldn't be angled into the room. Pillows were not comfy and the bed duvet/covering were on upside down. Odd. I don't see the necessity for a window into the bathroom especially when the blind doesn't reach the bottom of it. Three coat hangers for two people was a pain.
Both the bathroom and room had Silverfish - damp issues? The hair drier was awkward to use - almost standing in the toilet - and my friend's only worked for 10 second bursts. Wobbly toilet seat and difficulties setting off shower were annoying. Good to have a magnifying mirror, but better to have a heated main mirror and/or an working extractor so the room didn't steam up. Air con worked well.
It's not a cheap place so you expect better attention to detail. I wouldn't go back. I will always return to Porto itself however!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JMcFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I wish I could write a more complimentary review, but our recent stay in this hotel was not as hassle-free as it should have been.

First off, one doesn't want to believe what they say about the "hard-nosed" people of Porto in Lisbon, but it was noticeable that this hotel's reception staff were polite but not friendly. They were also over-loaded: on Friday morning after breakfast there was one receptionist on duty, with no fewer than six guests needing her attention.

The desk was unable to supply us with an international adaptor plug on request - the only one on hand was 'broken'.

Do hotel owners and architects ever stay in hotels?

Our bathroom had a ledge over the drain in the shower, but no soap rack. That meant putting things like bath gel and shampoo down on the floor and having to bend down whenever something was needed. That's O.K. when you're twelve or twenty, but at my age that's starting to be an uncomfortable imposition. Needless to say, it was useless to use the soap in the shower. It quickly washed away to a slim flake which fell on the floor and disappeared under the drain cover.

There was nowhere to hang up your used bath towels. The two hooks side by side next to the door accommodated a pair of dressing gowns. Needless to say, we moved the gowns to less elegant quarters and hung our towels up in their places.

Air conditioning is not a luxury when you have a bedroom in the eaves of an old building and the outside temperature is 31 degrees Celsius. But some genius had set our air conditioner on an incomprehensible program. It worked - fitfully - on our first night, but then failed. We made two appeals for help to reception without seeing any improvement, and eventually demanded - and waited an hour for - a visit from maintenance. The technician's tinkerings gave us two hours of relief, but then the unit simply stopped working. This was a major irritation.

I don't think we'll stay at the Carris Porto Ribeiro again, which is a pity. It is an attractive hotel, and could be extremely comfortable with very little effort by management and owners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eindelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are not sure if the positive reviews were for the same hotel. Our experience was tragic. The lobby gives directly onto the bussiest street in Porto and there is absolutely nowhere to park and unload luggage. Nearest garage some 500 yards and lugging luggage over cobblestones was no picknick. The room was the tiniest we have ever had outside Japan. The queensize bed took over the whole room with barely room to get into bed. Luggage stacked as there is no floorspace. Complained was shown a larger room which we accepted but on opening the door the receptionist changed her mind when she saw a bottle of Port on the table. It was then magically reserved. The staff are surly and really do not want to be there. Please do not use the USB portin the computer center as it is wired to 220 volts and fried the thumb drive. The braekfast was OK but the thought of having to trundle all the luggage to the parking garage took out any appetite that one may have had. What a disgraceful hotel and future travellers be warned
giovanni

Room Tip: Ground floor no view but acceptably large
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giovanni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel, we love the beautiful lobby and good breakfast, the front desk is polite and keen to provide any help. The room is not big but very cozy. Location is good, I'd recommend this hotel to whom traveling to Porto.

Room Tip: The side face to the rive is better, but the other side to street is cheaper
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#13 of 108 in Porto
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 1, Porto 4050-297, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £64 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing