We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
366
449
151
61
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
449
151
61
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat locationjunior suitetaxi standold buildingmodern hotelport housesluis bridgebasic roomhotel restaurantshower gellower floorlobby areabathroom floorbars and restaurantsshort walkstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Fantastic hotel clean, tidy, friendly staff. the hotel is near to the city centre, 2 min and a short tram ride from the beach the local eateries are just yards away but the Hotel is double glazed and therefore very quiet, pay it a visit and you wont regret it, a wee bit expensive but well worth it. Porto its self is a lovely place to spend a short holiday. give it a try you will like it, oh and the Port Too!

Room Tip: view the side road as all rooms have veranda
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEDRO1002015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and location and want to thank you for recommending us. We hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Two nights at end of our tour. Small room with basic extras. Safe that didn't work and a window that looked at another wall. They are expanding into next building which meant no bar. Our tour leader very disappointed at the rooms we were given and they have been using this hotel for years.
On a plus it was in a good location

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking a moment to comment your stay with us. We are very sorry to know your room was not of your liking. If we had been informed of this during your stay and we would have had no problem in offering you a change of room if it was available. We also want to apologize for the inconveniences arising from the work that we are carrying out in our building. These are coming to their end and soon we will be offering larger and improved spaces. We hope you can visit us again in the future in order to enjoy them and have a more pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel with great potential in a perfect position near the river.

Room 315 was immaculately clean and modern but very small. The wifi didn't really reach to the bed and it was better to stand using it outside the bathroom. Not ideal.

There are a number of lifts taking you to bedrooms but there is no sign telling you which rooms are served by which lifts. So it's easy to take the wrong one, and I did.

Breakfast is served in floor -3. When you exit the lift at that level, you might be forgiven in thinking you have strayed into the staff quarters - it's completely soulless - but persevere and you finally get the the breakfast room.

I checked in at 11pm and there were 2 staff on duty and I was served immediately by a very friendly member of the team. I checked out at 10am by another very friendly staff member but this time there was only one person at reception. A queue had built up.

I don't think it should be a surprise that 10am is a peak checkout time and surely not beyond the wit of management to ensure there are enough staff.

This lack of management is very much in evidence in the breakfast room. It cannot be a surprise about when the peak times for breakfast are. However, food was running out very often. And when food was available, they ran out of plates. Someone should be alerting the kitchen when food or plate stocks are running low. There didn't appear to be anyone in a management position taking charge.

I had to put my cooked breakfast in a bowl as they had run out of plates. I mentioned this to a member of staff. Rather than tell me she would fix it, she argued with me as to whether there were plates or not!!

Finally, they have the slowest coffee machines possible which leads to more queuing.

Management really should come to breakfast and see for themselves what it's like.

In summary, great location, nice room, friendly check in staff. More effective staff management would make this a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. We want to apologize if our staff service was not of your liking. Our team is still adjusting to the new situation due to the renovation of our building, but this should never have affected our guests care and we are deeply sorry. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future in order to offer you a more pleasant experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Let me start with a positive - the location was spot on for us being so close to the river in the Ribiera area of Porto which was one of the main reasons for booking this hotel.

Now for all the negatives .......

I was aware from TripAdvisor comments when I originally booked back in May that there was some work taking place at the hotel but hadn't realised to what extent and how long this would be going on for and nothing at all was mentioned by the hotel prior to our arrival despite booking directly with the hotel

Apart from the hotel restaurant (which we didn't visit as its in the basement level so didn't appeal), all other food & drinks facilities at the hotel are closed! No bar at all, the Tapas bar is closed and their website also now includes details of a Gin Bar/terrace which doesn't exist yet - if none of these facilities are available then the website should mention this or the hotel should inform guests upon booking or prior to arrival.

Breakfast is a total shambles! The breakfast buffet itself is perfectly adequate (nothing exciting & hot selection very poor) but ok for a few days - although I do hate having to get your own coffee from machines. However the staff seem to have no system for ensuring tables are cleared promptly and seem stressed with no one obviously in charge. Not exactly a pleasant or relaxing start to the day.

Reception staff are all polite and helpful but, most of the time, there is only one person at the desk so queues form quickly and the phone goes unanswered - again no sign of anyone actually in charge. I assume this hotel does have management but they are not evident!

Room was a decent size (chose the deluxe suite) but no terrace despite the hotel booking page saying this category of room has a terrace! This was the reason we decided to pay the extra so we were very disappointed with this - since we booked back in May the main website seems to have been updated to say large windows or terrace .....

Porto is a wonderful city and we enjoyed the location of this hotel allowing us to wander along the river, into town and also over the river to visit the port cellars with ease but we wouldn't recommend staying here until all the works are completed and all the facilities are back up and open. If we had been aware that this is not currently a fully functioning hotel as described on their website then we would certainly have stayed elsewhere.

Porto is fantastic but avoid the Carris hotel until the work is over!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank alice123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. First of all, we want to apologize for all the inconveniences with the service during your stay. Due to the renovation of our hotel, we are still adjusting to the new situation but we offer you our most sincerely apologies since this should never have affected our service. We also want to apologize for the gin bar not being available at the time of your stay. It should have been ready, but there was a last minute delay in the renovations which, unfortunately, we could not have predicted. The work in our building is coming to an end and we hope you can visit us again in the future in order to enjoy our new spaces and have a more pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

A hotel with room on the floor near reception and lifts, never seen this before.
Room 001 is between reception and the lifts, the door opens out to the lift lobby, charming!!! Not!! Loved hearing every person check in and out of the hotel, and all the loud boisterous conversations in the lift lobby.
So not secure anybody can walk into the hotel and straight to the guest rooms.
Our children were placed in another room also on the same floor but past 2 sets of lifts, the front door, toilets and a bar!
When asked if we could change, nup no rooms available. We had to sleep one adult and one child to a room as we could not guarantee our children's safety.
A poor experience !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very sorry that our hotel’s lack of availability at the moment of your stay did not allow us to offer you more convenient rooms, because we always try to satisfy our guests’ needs and preferences. We offer you our apologies and invite you to visit us again in the future to enjoy a stay as pleasant as we know our hotel can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews