We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location.”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Intercontinental Palacio das Cardosas and found it absolutely great. The restoration work is simply fabulous, and our room (329) was wonderful. The sound insulation is absolutely amazing and, unlike what happens at most U.S. hotels, we barely noticed any sounds made by other guests. The hotel is conveniently located just 10 minutes away from the “Ribeira” pier. There is a parking garage right behind it and, through an agreement, hotel guests enjoy discounted rates for overnight valet parking (driving and parking in Oporto is often times an expensive liability). Our only complaint is about the hotel’s Wi-Fi service, which worked remarkably well in the lobby but was a complete let down in our room (could be a localized issue – we’ll never know).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AACN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at IC Porto -Palácio das Cardosas.
We are very glad you appreciated the architect's restoration work on this 18th century palace. We agree he did a great job! In fact, insulation was one of the major concerns, as being located in the city's main square, street noise could become a serious issue to our guests. We're very sorry you have faced some problems with the wi-fi service in the room. We are doing our best to have this problem solved as soon as possible.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    298
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
318
1,088
63
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Open since July 2011 located in the main place of Porto only a few 15 minutes away from the Ribeira.
Very modern, nice and helpfull staff, modern rooms and a fantastic breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Take a room in the higher floors with view to the Avenida dos Aliados
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
The IC Porto team very much appreciated your comments and is looking forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel is very central to all the shops and nightlife. When you walk inside you know you are in are in for a treat. Right from the moment the concierge met us till the moment we left, the service was impeccable. Rooms are spacious and well thought out. Nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for your very nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in Oct 2011. The hotel was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will surely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Teresa van Zeller (PR Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

OK, let's let the elephant out of the room.... it's pretty pricey, but as the saying goes....you get what you pay for.
We had three nights here at the end of September, and wish it could have been more.
One thing that worried me before we booked is that it had only been open since July, on one hand everything would be brand spanking new , and of course it was, the other that the staff would not be up to speed. The Trip Advisor comments said otherwise, and they were dead right. The staff are fantastic. Smart, polite, helpful, spoke great English, everyone of them that I came across anyway. The Management Team should be very proud of them.
The Hotel itself. The main reason for picking it was for th location - there really can't be any argument about this it is bang in the middle on THE main square in the city. The station is next door and the tourist bus is right opposite. The River is a ten minute walk , but beware Porto is pretty hilly, in fact everything you need is within walking distance. The rooms , bathroom etc are really well appointed, a fantastic marble walk in shower shower, and the beds the comfiest I have ever had in a hotel. The Astoria Cafe in the hotel is great value for money and do a three course menu of the day, which we loved.
The only difference of opinion I have with other reviewers is to have, or to have not, a Liberdade Square view room. We did and I am so pleased we did, fantastic to look out on and see what is going on. We did not notice it being overly noisy at all, just close the window, the air con works great.
We walked passed all the other competitors in the upper end bracket and they did not , from the outside at least, measure up to The Intercontinental.
There are some really great little bars close by too.
The only word of warning ...Nuts...in the bar, very nice but, like me ,you might think they are complimentary, they aren't ;).
The best recommendation I can make is when we return, which we will (Porto is such a conundrum), no other hotel will be considered.

Room Tip: Make it a square view...............I did not get any undue noise , but I had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VladsQuiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and specially our staff. We are indeed very proud of our team.

Teresa van Zeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We just arrived back from our trip to Portugal and were very impressed with this hotel. We loved the location, an easy walk to practically everything. The service was efficient and helpful. My only warning is do not ask for a room with a view of the square if you are looking for quiet. The view is lovely, but can be noisy at night. The room, however, was terrific. It was spacious and well-appointed. We loved the city of Porto. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: For a quiet room choose one that is NOT facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eorchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with InterContinental.t. We're very pleased to know you appreciated our hotel and our city. Being located right in the centre where it all happens is great, but for guests with a lighter sleep probably a room facing the garden is the best choice.
Hoping to see you again in the near future.

Teresa van Zeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel brand new 5 star hotel, for my birthday, could not asked for anything better, was even treated with a very nice cake and something to drink in our room. All the staff was so friendly and helpful, the hotel is situated on such a nice spot, can walk everywhere, and the open top tourist busstop is right in front of the hotel aswell. The hotel is just lovely, and look great. Just want to say thank you again for the best stay ever, from Anna.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woestyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
You're very welcome. We're very glad you appreciated our little touch for such a special day for you.

Teresa van Zeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing