We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very well located, outstanding service and very good food offered at the restaurant and bar.
The rooms are confortable and the bathrooms large. A perfect concierge service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debiasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Porto and appreciated our staff and service.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the IC for three nights in May as part of our anniversary trip. We are both 30 year old city professionals who wanted to have special trip so the IC as number 1 on tripadvisor had to be our first choice. I found a very good rate with bookings.com for an executive room. I also requested a room at the back overlooking what I was lead to believe was a lovely garden...unfortunately this is not the case, more like a patch of grass and then building site all around. The workers start early so make sure you ask for a higher floor (there are 4) we were on the 3rd floor which meant the noise wasn't too bad, although you do find yourself being woken up by drilling or hammering. Not really what you want when you have a few days to not wake up to your alarm clock.

The room itself (no. 300) was beautiful, marble bathroom with both bath and large shower and separate loo. The bed was like sleeping on a giant marshmallow! Bliss! Probably the best hotel bed I have ever slept on. (for those who prefer a stiffer bed....you have been warned!)
There is a mini bar, although as usual with IC hotels everything was expensively priced, best to just head down to the main street and pick up your own. There is a large widescreen TV right at the end of the bed with plenty of english channels and movies to keep you entertained when not out sightseeing. The wifi in the rooms is brilliant - best set-up I have used in a hotel in a long time. If you are there for business it will make your life so much easier!
One strange thing was the balcony doors which lead to no balcony and were locked shut, not surprising as the only thing stopping you from falling out is one horizontal bar at hip height - this is the only aspect of the room which has a unfinished feel to it.

The hotel location is undoubtedly the best in porto, 15 mins walk max to all central attractions including the river.

The service was good, but I would not rave like others have. It is as it should be for a five star hotel. The staff were very polite and courteous through out our stay.

The only hotel amenity that we used was the hotel bar for some late night port enjoyment. The bar is small and intimate at night, closes at 1am. Although be warned, a glass of 10yo port costs €10 a glass where in town its more like €3.50.... but then you are paying for the environment. It is a nice place to end an evening before heading up to your opulent room.

We opted out of breakfast as you can easily pick up something at the nearby cafe's at all times of day and at half the price.

In all, the hotel room and location were fantastic, the staff were very helpful and friendly, I can see why its no.1. If you have a never ending budget then you can enjoy using all the hotel has to offer at their prices, but I would recommend heading out and experiencing the local alternatives - why else go to Porto if not to explore from this great location!

One tip, I opted for the hotel's private airport transfer for €30. If you are travelling as a couple then it is the way to do it in style! A taxi will cost you €25 anyway and this way you have a personal driver in a swanky Mercedes waiting for you as soon as you come out of arrivals at the airport. A great way to start the trip in style!

Room Tip: If you choose a room at the back then ask for higher floor (3rd or 4th) to avoid the building site n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive and so complete review about your experience in our property and the city of Oporto.
We apologize for the noise made by the construction behind the hotel, but are glad it was not enough to spoil your stay. It'll be very soon finished and will most certainly look very nice.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed at the hotel in early May for a long weekend with my Mom. We were slightly worried about what we would do whilst there as the weather was scheduled to be bad. We visited concierge of arrival and were blown away with what Porto had to offer.
The hotel is amazing, in a great location with friendly staff. The rooms have a beautiful décor with high ceilings and the bathrooms are huge. The restaurants and bars all offer great food, drinks and service but it was the concierge made this trip for us. They made some fantastic dinner recommendations, arrange transport where needed and really looked to give us an authentic experience whilst in Porto.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city and definitely look to return myself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
The weather in May has indeed been rather wet, but we're very happy that with our staff's help, you were able to still enjoy the city so much.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

After 4 days in Porto, we are so glad we stayed at this hotel. You don't need to stay on the river as some guide books might suggest. This is a great location for all the right reasons: Safe neighborhood and short walking distance to everything. Of course, you will pay extra for a hotel like this...but we thought it was worth the price. We found a price of 170 Euro per night on Expedia.
The best part of this hotel was the conciege. We dealt with 3 or 4 different guys at the concierge desk and they were all superb in every way, shape, and manner. We dealt with Rogerio the most. This guy is the personification of professional. He always steered us in the right direction, gave us great ideas, things to do, places to eat...this guy was awesome. We had an issue with our rental car and needed to return it...long story short...Rogerio spent 30 minutes on the phone with the company until he convinced them to take back their car.
We didn't eat or drink at the hotel because of their expensive prices...but if you want a nightcap, there are places right across the street for a fraction of the price. And for restaurant recommendations, ask Rogerio!
Our bed was very comfy...slept well. The bathroom was huge by European standards and the shower had great water pressure. The internet was incuded in our price and worked well.
To get to the river it's a 10 minute walk downhill. Just wear good shoes with all the coblestone and be ready for that calorie-burning walk back to the hotel! It's not that bad.
Fitness room was updated and well equipped.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We couldn't agree more that the InterContinental's location is great. On Oporto's main square, our guests are able to visit most of the places of interest as well as find good restaurants and have a very nice feeling of the city's social life. Thank you specially for mentioning our concierge staff, namely Rogerio, who are always helpful and trying to make our guests' lives easier.

We hope to be able to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

In one of the main squares of Porto. This luxury hotel is very beautifully presented with very friendly attentive staff.

We ate in the restaurant and the head waiter was very helpful. He even chose the wine for us & it was a sensible price at 14 euro. Price for the meal was around 100 euro for two course a bottle of wine, 2 glasses of champagne & coffee. The room rate in a bit steep at 170 euro but you are talking a quality room.

Room Tip: Rooms are well insulated with heavy drapes there was no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments on our guests' experiences. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at InterContinental Porto.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Palacio das Cordosas in May of 2012. Although check-in time was not until midday, the hotel had no problem accommodating us with a room overlooking the square at 8:30 in the morning! And the rooms are beautiful as is the entire hotel.

After getting a feel for the nearby geography, the staff were so open with information on site-seeing that we felt as though we had been there for months. They took the time to get acquainted with us, and then made suggestions based on our personalities and interests. Kudos in particular to Sophia and Joel. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were more than prepared to go that extra distance. All our enquiries were handled with grace and professionalism. They always made us feel as though we were the most important guests in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are prime for those who love to indulge in urban life and the urban fabric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are indeed very proud of our staff's professionalism and are glad you felt so much at home and welcome.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very reasonable rates available for such a high quality hotel. Staff friendly & helpful. Room spacious & well appointed. Great location on the plaza in the centre of town. Bed super comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 439,587,934,875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 109 in Porto
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 109 in Porto
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £145 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing