We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights facing the Square. On arrival we were not only given a map of Porto but a brief introduction to the city by Vasco, the concierge. This was very helpful. The hotel is next to the local bus line, train station and the metro. You can get to and from Porto airport easily and cheaply by the metro. Situated away from the old part of the town down by the river, the hotel has enough sites around it (the photography centre in the Old Gaol is very good) and interesting side streets to keep you busy. Restaurants are okay, not great.

Our room was quiet, the bed excellent and the bathroom well-appointed with seprate bath and shower. Our only problem was the restricted settings on the air-con (20-24 degrees). Breakfast was very good (22 euros) in a sunny room facing the square. The restaurant wasn't open yet and our dinner on the last night in the brasserie was enjoyable. Free wifi was strong and stable; tv was ok. We enjoyed the free IHT in the lobby and the hotel bar was comfortable and we enjoyed a late night singer/ guitarist. The staff were polite, friendly and always ready to help.

Given this is a luxury hotel the cost was very reasonable. Would stay here again if returning.

Room Tip: The hotel is very long and rooms do face buildings, not open space, So if you want an full view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review with TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Porto. Our location is most certainly one of the best in the city, within walking distance for most of the points of interest. Our restaurant is in fact magnificently situated overlooking the main square and the recent terrace added the missing touch to it.
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    288
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
299
1,032
60
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a fine luxury hotel in the center of everything for touring Porto. Driving there is a challenge, but doable with a GPS. You will want to leave your car with the valet (which is very expensive), though, and take other modes of transportation around this part of the City. The center of the City is a World Heritage historic site. The hotel is a former palace turned into very comfortable rooms. You can easily walk to many of the most interesting sites. Shopping and good restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at InterContinental Porto. In fact, the hotel's location, on the city''s main square, makes it very easy for our guests to visit most of the "musts" without the need for transportation.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Wonderful hotel recently opened in 2011 the service and staff was outstanding.
The location of the hotel was fantastic
The designs and lay out of the rooms was spacious.
My pillows were too soft!! And they did not have firmer ones
So suggest if in Porto stay here

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne57Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments with TripAdvisor and also for suggesting InterContinental as the place to stay in Oporto.
We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very well located, outstanding service and very good food offered at the restaurant and bar.
The rooms are confortable and the bathrooms large. A perfect concierge service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debiasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Porto and appreciated our staff and service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the IC for three nights in May as part of our anniversary trip. We are both 30 year old city professionals who wanted to have special trip so the IC as number 1 on tripadvisor had to be our first choice. I found a very good rate with bookings.com for an executive room. I also requested a room at the back overlooking what I was lead to believe was a lovely garden...unfortunately this is not the case, more like a patch of grass and then building site all around. The workers start early so make sure you ask for a higher floor (there are 4) we were on the 3rd floor which meant the noise wasn't too bad, although you do find yourself being woken up by drilling or hammering. Not really what you want when you have a few days to not wake up to your alarm clock.

The room itself (no. 300) was beautiful, marble bathroom with both bath and large shower and separate loo. The bed was like sleeping on a giant marshmallow! Bliss! Probably the best hotel bed I have ever slept on. (for those who prefer a stiffer bed....you have been warned!)
There is a mini bar, although as usual with IC hotels everything was expensively priced, best to just head down to the main street and pick up your own. There is a large widescreen TV right at the end of the bed with plenty of english channels and movies to keep you entertained when not out sightseeing. The wifi in the rooms is brilliant - best set-up I have used in a hotel in a long time. If you are there for business it will make your life so much easier!
One strange thing was the balcony doors which lead to no balcony and were locked shut, not surprising as the only thing stopping you from falling out is one horizontal bar at hip height - this is the only aspect of the room which has a unfinished feel to it.

The hotel location is undoubtedly the best in porto, 15 mins walk max to all central attractions including the river.

The service was good, but I would not rave like others have. It is as it should be for a five star hotel. The staff were very polite and courteous through out our stay.

The only hotel amenity that we used was the hotel bar for some late night port enjoyment. The bar is small and intimate at night, closes at 1am. Although be warned, a glass of 10yo port costs €10 a glass where in town its more like €3.50.... but then you are paying for the environment. It is a nice place to end an evening before heading up to your opulent room.

We opted out of breakfast as you can easily pick up something at the nearby cafe's at all times of day and at half the price.

In all, the hotel room and location were fantastic, the staff were very helpful and friendly, I can see why its no.1. If you have a never ending budget then you can enjoy using all the hotel has to offer at their prices, but I would recommend heading out and experiencing the local alternatives - why else go to Porto if not to explore from this great location!

One tip, I opted for the hotel's private airport transfer for €30. If you are travelling as a couple then it is the way to do it in style! A taxi will cost you €25 anyway and this way you have a personal driver in a swanky Mercedes waiting for you as soon as you come out of arrivals at the airport. A great way to start the trip in style!

Room Tip: If you choose a room at the back then ask for higher floor (3rd or 4th) to avoid the building site n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive and so complete review about your experience in our property and the city of Oporto.
We apologize for the noise made by the construction behind the hotel, but are glad it was not enough to spoil your stay. It'll be very soon finished and will most certainly look very nice.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed at the hotel in early May for a long weekend with my Mom. We were slightly worried about what we would do whilst there as the weather was scheduled to be bad. We visited concierge of arrival and were blown away with what Porto had to offer.
The hotel is amazing, in a great location with friendly staff. The rooms have a beautiful décor with high ceilings and the bathrooms are huge. The restaurants and bars all offer great food, drinks and service but it was the concierge made this trip for us. They made some fantastic dinner recommendations, arrange transport where needed and really looked to give us an authentic experience whilst in Porto.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city and definitely look to return myself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
The weather in May has indeed been rather wet, but we're very happy that with our staff's help, you were able to still enjoy the city so much.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

After 4 days in Porto, we are so glad we stayed at this hotel. You don't need to stay on the river as some guide books might suggest. This is a great location for all the right reasons: Safe neighborhood and short walking distance to everything. Of course, you will pay extra for a hotel like this...but we thought it was worth the price. We found a price of 170 Euro per night on Expedia.
The best part of this hotel was the conciege. We dealt with 3 or 4 different guys at the concierge desk and they were all superb in every way, shape, and manner. We dealt with Rogerio the most. This guy is the personification of professional. He always steered us in the right direction, gave us great ideas, things to do, places to eat...this guy was awesome. We had an issue with our rental car and needed to return it...long story short...Rogerio spent 30 minutes on the phone with the company until he convinced them to take back their car.
We didn't eat or drink at the hotel because of their expensive prices...but if you want a nightcap, there are places right across the street for a fraction of the price. And for restaurant recommendations, ask Rogerio!
Our bed was very comfy...slept well. The bathroom was huge by European standards and the shower had great water pressure. The internet was incuded in our price and worked well.
To get to the river it's a 10 minute walk downhill. Just wear good shoes with all the coblestone and be ready for that calorie-burning walk back to the hotel! It's not that bad.
Fitness room was updated and well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa v, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We couldn't agree more that the InterContinental's location is great. On Oporto's main square, our guests are able to visit most of the places of interest as well as find good restaurants and have a very nice feeling of the city's social life. Thank you specially for mentioning our concierge staff, namely Rogerio, who are always helpful and trying to make our guests' lives easier.

We hope to be able to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing