We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Our room overlooked the Liberdade Square - the room was large and beautifully decorated - five star luxury and very quiet. The staff were very courteous and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It is centrally located and an easy ten minute walk down to the river. Continental breakfast was generous and reasonably priced. The hotel has been tastefully restored and is amazing value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are pleased that both our services and location met your expectations.
Your comments about the hotel are truly appreciated as our property is quiet new... it was recently opened (July 2011)!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

Arrived on train and taxi to a most professional welcome. I have stayed at many intercontinentals (Hong kong, Singapore, Australia) and this one easily maintains the standard. The staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful. What is promised is delivered. Booked a garden room and it is very quiet and comfortable. Free internet. Astoria is very good value for lunch. Great location for a first time tourist. This hotel has my full recommendation. I am not usually this gushing!

Room Tip: Chhose a room not facing the square for good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your preference and loyalty to the brand.

It's a pleasure to learn that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed so much Porto.
Your comments are most valuable for us as they help us in motivating our team to continuously try to improve our services.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the InterContinental for 3 nights. We had a deluxe room which was large and quiet. The hotel has a good gym, an excellent breakfast and the location couldn't be better. It is right on the main square and a 10 minute walk from the river.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are quite proud of their city and everyone, the concierge and the bell hops all want to give advice on the best sites to see.

My one piece of advice if you choose to stay here is to not take a room next to the elevator. The elevator makes a fair bit of noise when the door opens and closes. Other than that, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: My one piece of advice if you choose to stay here is to not take a room next to the elevator. The e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpal32489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
It's very rewarding to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoy both, our property and service, so much.
Our Concierge is doing their utmost in order to provide our guests with the best "tips"!

Looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I will start by clarifying that I am an American with extensive travel experience around the world. I like comfort and quality at a good price. My wife and I spent three nights at the Intercontinental in Porto and loved it. I don't know when they finished their renovations but it must have been fairly recently as the interior of the hotel appears to be brand new. We stayed in an upgraded room that over looks the plaza. The room was a nice size, the bathroom was a good size and the bed were heavenly. The only warning is that if you ask for the side facing the plaza, be prepared for noise!! Lots of noise!! We would not have slept a wink if it had not been for the applications on our ipads that gave us soothing background noise. It was a great view but never quiet.

Room Tip: Even ear plugs would not be enough to keep out all the noise from the plaza (we were on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drgirdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel InterContinental Porto. We are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us.
In fact the hotel opening was last year back in July 2011, quiet new!
Regarding the noise we absolutely agree that our location right in the city centre might have inconveniences as the noise, nevertheless we do have rooms facing the backyard that are more quiet! On your next visit must try one of these rooms!

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very conveniently and centrally located, just around the corner from the São Bento main station (amazing interior!) First impressions very favourable - beautiful long façade on Liberdade Square. Built as a monastery, later a palace, and following recent sympathetic conversion, it is now a very stylish hotel. Reception made us feel extremely welcome, especially when we were shown to what must have been one of the best rooms overlooking the square in the centre of the building. There was surprisingly little street noise. Service was first-class, not only from reception, but from the concierges, restaurant and bar staff - clearly all well trained and motivated. They all made us feel very special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that both our services and location met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Wonderful hotel in great location. The staff were helpful, Ricardo was a great help giving us sightseeing and restaurant tips. The rooms were exceptional, huge bathrooms,separate toilet and shower. The bed was extra comfortable, the rooms had everything in them you could want. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be a bit spoilt and looking for an upmarket hotel- most enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the main square.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

It is very rewarding to read your review and see that you had an enjoyable stay with us, thank you for sharing it.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our team to continuously try to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

It is a fine looking hotel in a good spot. The rooms are large. But very noisy, so if you have trouble sleeping with traffic noise you might be better to try elsewhere. The pillows all have yucky feathers which trigger my asthma. The staff seemed bemused when i asked for cotton fill. The bar staff are nice, the waiters good, perhaps a little over bearing. The women at reception could try smiling once in a while. They seem to prefer to argue rather than sort out niggles. No offer was made to move us to another room. Perhaps they all have the same problems. Yet as a Priority Club Member and (recently unkowingly lapsed) Ambassador, I expect a bit more effort to help. My wife is unimpressed.

My main problem here is I cannot sleep, cannot breathe and I feel itchy from the feathers. I was booked for 5 nights but am leaving tomorrow

We ate in the restaurant. I'd avoid the pawns, but the sea bass baked in salt was excellent.

This is all a bit disappointing....

Room Tip: This is the rub. If you overlook the square you get traffic noise and late night revellers on weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Professor58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
Our guests’ comments are very valuable for us as they help us to work harder in order to deliver a better service.
We absolutely agree that our location right in the city centre might have inconveniences as the noise, nevertheless we do have rooms facing the backyard that are more quiet! Regarding the other issues you've experienced I am glad to inform you that, as a five star hotel, we have available for our guests pillows and bedding antiallergic.
We understand that this might had not meet your expectations, although we look forward to another opportunity to showcase the full potential of our hotel and team in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £128 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing