We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The hotel is in the perfect location. It is right in the center of he city, but easy walking distance to all the important sights. T he staff are very helpful and willing to go above and beyond for you. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words.
We are very glad you appreciated our city so much. Porto is still a well kept secret with lots of pleasant surprises, and very welcoming to all those who come to visit.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located in the city centre and within walking distance from all the major city attractions.
On your next visit, that we hope happens soon, our concierge will be more than happy to assist you on programming your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August, and we were very impressed. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were treated like VIP guests. The concierge staff were particularly helpful and proactive, helping us to select and book great restaurants and private tours. The location is excellent, right in the hub of Porto and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. When we checked out we had problems with our bank cards (much to our embarrassment) and the staff were very patient and courteous, and we greatly appreciated their professionalism and care of guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are very pleased that both our services and location met your expectations.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our team to continuously improve our services.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Like all other reviewers noted, this hotel has big comfortable rooms, great service and nice breakfast. I especially want to say thank you to the concierge staff. There was a train strike at the end of our stay in Porto so we asked Concierge how to get back to Lisbon. The concierge desk sent people going over to the train station to first check the situation, then left a map with detailed walking directions in our room showing us where to take the bus, also the bus schedule and pricing info. We got back to Lisbon with zero problem. Thank you intercontinental and yes I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your kind words; it's very rewarding if not the best reward to hear that our team made the difference within your stay. I
It’s truth that our Concierge team is always trying their best in order to deliver excellence service providing our guests with the best tips or solutions in your case!

So, now you know, if ever decide to come back contact our Concierge that will be more than glad to help you organizing your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when i visit Porto for my business. Although the price is higher than other hotels, you know you'll always get the good service and the good food you deserve. the rooms are spacious and comfortably decorated, very clean, reception and concierge always very helpful, breakfast is rich and the bar has the best cocktails. İt's positioning is at the heart of the city, very nice place and a walk distance to the river.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference and such a great review about your stay with us.
We have a few news, like new entertainment program in our Cardosas Bar with o Live Music Piano at Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays & at weekends Voice and Piano duo!!

All this and more, to enjoy on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Nice Hotel, very polite staff, big room and bathroom. I would highlight the Concierge Service which was great with a detailed explanation for our city tour. Our room (201) was a very quiet one. The Hotel has a great Fitness center. We had only one slight problem: the water in the sink did not flow down appropriately and this was resolved only for the second notice to the Reception Desk. But all in all I would recommend this Hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krisztina234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It's a great pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and both, our hotel and service combined with location had resulted in such an wonderful experience.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Porto is a great city, and I can't imagine a better place to stay to ensure you get the most out your visit. We stayed at the Intercontinental for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and as I am a Priority Club Ambassador we were upgraded to a beautiful duplex suite on the top floor. A great start!

The location is perfect for exploring the city and the region, less than 10 mins walk to the river and very convenient for the main Sao Bento station for local/regional trains or the city metro.

The hotel facilities were very good but what really made the difference was the staff. In particular the Concierge team led by Goncales and Rogerio went out of their way to:
- provide superb restaurant recommendations and very efficient reservation service;
- transport advice and train timetables for our day trip up the Douro valley, (a beautiful trip, highly recommended!) which made booking tickets much simpler across the street at Sao Bento;
- get hold of football tickets at very short notice (in good seats too) for an international match at Dragao.
The team were always willing to chat about Porto in general, or to get our feedback on the places we'd been to, especially to ensure we'd liked the places they had recommended.

All in all, the friendliest and most professional Concierge team I've come across in years of business and leisure travel. I really look forward to another opportunity to visit!

Room Tip: The top floor suites generally don't have a view of the square, but will have a view over parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevora61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you very much for your review and for your loyalty to the brand. It's very rewarding to hear from you, as an Ambassador, that IC Porto is the place to stay when visiting Porto.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our
team to continuously try to improve our services. Our Concierge is doing their utmost in order to provide our guests with the best "tips"!
We take this opportunity to thank you again for your preference, "Special occasions must be celebrated especially"!!
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Our room overlooked the Liberdade Square - the room was large and beautifully decorated - five star luxury and very quiet. The staff were very courteous and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It is centrally located and an easy ten minute walk down to the river. Continental breakfast was generous and reasonably priced. The hotel has been tastefully restored and is amazing value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Rooms Division Director at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are pleased that both our services and location met your expectations.
Your comments about the hotel are truly appreciated as our property is quiet new... it was recently opened (July 2011)!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £151 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing