We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in the heart of the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great location in the heart of the city!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

not much to be noted, but the breakfast quality has to be improved; true, they made a 50% discount in them considering little fails...but it is for its worth a great choice in O'Porto!

the best thing though is location, and the MATTRESSES, you feel like in heaven; staff is also very happy and diligent.

Room Tip: choose the rooms in the front side of the hotel; the higher the floor the better you will have a mag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F0rjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear F0rjaz,

Thank you very much for posting your review on trip advisor.
We value all our guests’ comments as they always help us to try harder and deliver a better service.
Although we understand we did not yet meet entirely your expectations and as per our last conversation we hope we can continue to count on with your preference and keep improving your experience with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    298
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
315
1,086
63
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This Intercontinental is not very big.Located in a former palace / convent in a protected area classified by Unesco as World Heritge if you look the facade you don´t know if it is an hotel or another beautiful building of this area.. Inside we have a comfortable hotel with all the things that a 5 star hotel has to have. We chose a room with view to the Liberdade Square / Avenida dos Aliados and it had enough space, two balconys to the square and at least at the third floor we didn´t hear any noise. The bed was very good and the bathroom normal for a five star hotel.
The breakfast was very good, not with a big quantity but with fresh products that they were replacing without delays. The service in all the hotel reception, doorman, rooms and breakfast excellent without any remark. So I would recomend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Any way choose a room with view to the Liberdade Square, perhaps 3rd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Elica49,

Thank you very much for such a nice review. It's really rewarding to see that we met your expectations and spent an enjoyable stay with us.
You're totally right when you say the hotel is not big, in fact we are one of the smaller of the brand, with only 105 rooms! The size is just perfect, as it allows us to personally take care of all our guests!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This classey heritage hotel was a delight. The complete package was wonderfull. It may have been a little pricey but well worth it. The location is perfect, The staff are outstanding and the rooms are clean and perfect to sleep in. Breakfasts are a bit pricy at 22 euros but the setting is worth it. Wi/Fi and buisness computers were available at no charge. The hotel is located at the south end of the main square and several restaurants and attractions are all within easy walking distance. Visit the Porto wineries and listen to some Fada while in Porto. We loved the whole place a week there was not long enough and want to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and located in the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard. Noise was never a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Thomas r,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
It's a great pleasure to see that you've enjoyed so much your stay with us.
Oporto is still a well kept secret with lots of pleasant surprises, and very welcoming to all those who come to visit. Our teams are doing their utmost in order to help our guests to get the most their experience here.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located in the city centre and within walking distance from all the major city attractions.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

From the moment we walked in at midnight, to the moment we left 4 days later we've never felt so valued as a customer. The staff went above and beyond what I had expected.

Let me first mention the room (212). What a stunning view with the best view of the square at the front. The room was large with two balconies which you can step onto (not wide enough to sit on though). The view was brilliant, we loved opening up the curtains in the morning and standing there, looking out over the square. The bathroom was huge, lovely big bath tub with a shower and a toilet cubicle. the floor was marble as you enter the room, then changes to carpet. The bed was one of the best we've ever slept on, so comfy and the pillows felt like they were made of clouds!

The breakfast was very good, we like late breakfasts and they run until 10.30am. A very large selection of food and lovely coffee. The service was excellent.

The concierge desk was exceptional - they helped make our stay perfect. Rogerio was a fantastic help, he booked us a restaurant , a port tour (Graham's), all of his recommendations were spot on. The reception staff were great, nothing was too much trouble for them.

It was my girlfriends 40th birthday while we were there and the staff went out of their way to make it a special birthday (Rogerio organised a birthday cake!).

Porto itself is a great city - lovely food, drink, scenery and the inhabitants are very friendly. We loved it and hope to go back. When we do go back we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear faceman0,

It is very rewarding to read your review and see that you had an enjoyable stay with us, thank you for sharing it.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to write help us in motivating our team to continuously try to improve our services to deliver a memorable experience to our guests.
Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our trip to Porto started so badly than can be, we had flight to Lissabon where we took train to Porto, near before been at Portugal so it was new , taxi went fast to train station from AirPort, we had 2 big luggages and small which was with my wife. Train came and we hurry in to it, I had those big ones and everything went fast, 2 persons fonttia of me started to help with luggages inside train, it was fast moment i thought it was strange , but luggages was on place, those men run outside and i was amazed what hapen and felt me front pocket, wallet was gone, they rob me and train was living, nothing can do, i was studio and had all my cash hundreds euros and 4 Credit cards, diving license, inside wallet. One week holiday at Portugal started without money, Credit cards... What a feeling. Felt so stupid tourist and firdt time this kind robbery felt bad.

Train journey took over 2 hours so had time to call and cancel all cards, luckly wife had cards, so holiday was saved that way.

At Porto we booked Intercontinental and nice suite, transfer included, driver was waiting for us and was very polite, we arrived to hotel where concierge Rogerio, best concierge i have had welcome us personally and when heard what happened to me was helpfull with police notice etc. Cannot say enough how nice we felt when arrived, this bad thing almost forgotten. Room was 2 level suite, very nice, welcome portugease sparkling and Porto Wine waiting us, after visit at police station we started to relax and with that Staff made this visit very nice.

At Porto weather was rainy, sun, rain. But we ilked the place, have to come again summer time. Lot of tourist trips available, we had full day visit to Douro area, wineyards, old small villages, nice view, and lunch, had private car and driver was like a guide, lot of things from area and also other information from Portugal, liked a lot, and rain didnt bother us. At city lot of to see and experience, Wine cellars, churches , beautiful look at river. Just ask excellent concierge Rogerio, he hels you plan a day!

At hotel we enjoyed excellent breakfast service, all needed available, but with extra money omelets and other eggs, but not so expensive to have these extra, service was nice, specially young always smiling , Sylvia, if remember correctly, every 4 morning she made us smiling too, coffee was challenging one day, cold not drink, but other food and drink was nice everday.
We used lobbybar, nice service, but we used often room service, menu itself was pile of A4 paper, not so tempting, and not level of 5 star hotel, but everyday used and service was excellent, friendly , quality of food nice too, maybe with poor printed menu is somehow way to avoid room service orders? That wasnt succesful with us ;)

We didnt got water at room without asking, when asked 4 people at reseption good me that its not included, i asked anyway, but after they checked our room and my platinium status told me that it included, but it was pretty much only "problem", and fixed when asked. Cleaning was excellent and our 4 days holiday at Porto and this hotel was nice, surely come back. Almost forgot that all my Credit cards and money was stolen. Thanks to Rogerio and Staff. Now to Lissabon.

Room Tip: If possible try to book one bedroom suite with 2 leveys, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Jimmy2712,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review, thank you for taking the time to do it.
It's very rewarding and pleasant to hear that at least for a few moments or days, we helped you to forget about the sad incident that happened on your trip to Porto!
We are very glad to acknowledge we made the best out of your stay in Portugal.
In fact our Concierge Team is always very helpful to deal with any problem the guest comes across, unfortunately how it had happened with you.
Concerning the areas mentioned that we need to improve, I’m happy to inform you that your comments were truly appreciated and we are already working on them.

Don't forget to let us know when you plan another visit here, so we can organize something special for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Exclusive hotel in the center of Porto. Renovated palace!
Luxury and perfect service. Very clean. Absolute perfect beds and no noise from outside.
Very good breakfast.
Near shops and restaurants, the old city and on walking distance of the Douro river.
In front of the hotel you have the hop on hop of buses.
The only negatieve point during my stay was that I had to carry out my luggage from the car by myself and that is strange arriving by a 5 star hotel. Otherwise the conciërge was very helpfull with making signs on the city map for interesting culturele points and the drop off point of Europcar.
Overall a excellent hotel I will always stay visiting Porto.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maartje J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Maartje J,

Thank you very much for your review.
It's a pleasure to hear that you've enjoyed so much both, Hotel and City. Our location is perfect for the one's who want to discover Porto as we are at a walking distance from almost all major city attractions.
Regarding the parking, unfortunately as the hotel does not owns the parking facilities we work with, a direct access from it is not an option, for security reasons. Nevertheless our Concierge team is more than happy to assist you with your car parking and pick up during your entire stay. Just park in front of the hotel, and allow us to take care of all the rest.

Try this next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Good location, excellent service. Rooms are really confortable. Nice view on the front of the hotel.
Breakfast is awesome.
Really interesting decoration.
Concierge really helpfull to find good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Mr. Charles G,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.
It's a great pleasure to see that you've enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing