We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded high expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I expected the generally high standards found at Intercontinental hotels, these were met and exceeded. This hotel does not have a "chain" feel about, more of a city landmark and something quite special. Excellent staff, great location and a lovely ambience. I travelled for business but would love to stay at this hotel again for leisure.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are worth the extra few euros
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Nel2011,

Thank you very much for your kind words! It's very rewarding to read your review and see that we made the difference on your stay. We aim in a daily basis to meet our guest’s expectations and provide them unique experiences; with your comment we can see that we were able to do this and even a little more... Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

And don't forget to let us know when you plan another visit here, so we can organize something a wonderful leisure journey, this time!!


Francelina Ferreira do Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,995)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

I am not surprised to see that this is the number 1 Hotel in Porto. It fulfils the service of its star rating whilst offering the feel of a city landmark.

Its fairly well priced and location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Jsc8,

Thank you very much for you comment!
Short and direct; straight to the point, and full of significance for us!
We're very happy to see that your stay was so much enjoyed, and that hotel, service and the City had result on the best choice!

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Francelina Ferreira do Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

As the taxi pulled up to our hotel the night we arrived, I was immediately impressed. The ornate architecture of the exterior of the building and the posh lobby interior were a welcoming site after a long flight. The staff was friendly but especially the waitress in the bar. The bar had a library type decor which was sophisticated and perfect for sipping port. The evening we arrived it was late but we were hungry as we hadn't had dinner that during the traveling that evening. We kindly asked the waitress if could at least have a small cheese plate as the kitchen had already closed. She obliged with a nice selection of cheeses and some bread. We munched on this along with some recommended Port. It was a perfect way to end our first evening in Porto. The rooms are relatively spacious, beds quite comfortable, and modern clean bathrooms. A nice extensive breakfast is offerred in their restaurant, which has a good view on one of the main squares......a relaxing place to start of planning your day! We received a great rate for our room...which made it all the more worth it!. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when in Porto!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear doingstuff,

It is very rewarding to read your review and see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, thank you for sharing it.
A warm welcome is the least we can do for our guests... so they can have a great start on their IC POrto experience!
Comments like the one you were so kind to write help us in motivating our team to continuously improve our services and deliver a memorable experience to our guests. Rest assured that we'll share your review with all the team!
Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Francelina Ferreira do Amaral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed in the Intercontinental Porto for business, what an incredible experience, excellent service, really super friendly and attentive staff, super comfortable bed and room. I had manicure in the Spa, quite recommended. The snacks in the bar very tasty. I will definitively will stay in this hotel next time I will go back to Porto.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollitacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Dalixta,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.
It’s very rewarding to see that even on business you were able to enjoy your stay with us!!
Let’s schedule a leisure escape so we can showcase the best of our hotel and city!!
Once again thank you very much for your comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hi there, just back from a really beautiful long weekend in Oporto, staying in Palacio das Cardosas, where the staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Our concierge gave us advice as to restaurants to visit, places to avoid and seemed always to be available to make our stay enjoyable.My last visit to Oporto was as a wine student in the summer of 1967,so not only has the city changed so much for the better,but as pensioners my wife and I are so much more able to appreciate the beautiful buildings and Fado music in the numerous bars surrounding the hotel.. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the square, and was surprisingly quiet.We dined in the hotel on one evening,and our seafood was incredible...Full marks. Breakfast was quite good,after which we were able to catch the Hop on Hop off bus just outside the door. Our bed was one of the most comfortable ever, and the view over the square in the morning from the balcony windows was stunning. We hope to return in September, and would certainly use the Palacio.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the front are a must for the stunning morning views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear noel k,

Thank you very much for such a nice and detailed review, our pleasure to read and see that you enjoyed so much, both the hotel and the city.
We are very proud of our hotel and our teams are always doing their best to please our guests and therefore we do believe that this Palace is the ideal place to enjoy a wonderful break!
Rest assured that we’ll be waiting for you, next September with more impressive tips about Porto!

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I’m travelling from time to time for business to Porto. The Porto hotel scene is quite unspectacular. After a really disastrous experience a couple of years ago, I am staying in the “international” hotels, mainly Sheraton and Park Atlantic. This time, I choose the Intercontinental Palacio Das Cardosas in the town center. Helpful reservation desk, kind reception, but who is leaving the guest on his own to search for his room.

Nice executive (standard) room (as requested quiet on a higher floor, i.e. not to the front side, which is dominating one section of one of the large squares in the city center). The rate was presented breakfast included and corresponding to the rates of the other top hotels in the city.

The room was decorated in standard international American hotel style. Bathroom ok, but somewhat dark, narrow and not spectacular at all. The work area is reasonably well done, not excessively large, but equipped with easily accessible connectors. The safety box is large enough for a laptop. The hotel has a wifi working reasonably well.

The hotel staff is very friendly and quite obviously drilled in American style. However, housekeeping surprised me with not replacing used towels when doing the night service, and other items, as notice paper and pencils, were not replaced either.

I dined in the hotel restaurant. Extraordinary fresh and tasty oysters from Foz do Arelho, a decent risotto with clams and grouper and Portuguese cheese, coming with a nice open dry wine from the Douro. However, the quantities were - for Portuguese kitchen - really very small, without any of all those delicious small finger food served in traditional Portuguese cuisine. Everything was clearly – and very economically – standardized and gave the impression to tend to making “some savings”: I ordered sparkling water and got an unknown bottle. When I asked, I was told that the water came from the local Porto tab and was carbonized in the hotel. I never saw that before. When I ordered my cheese without fruits and other decorum, I got nevertheless the standard plate. For an overall steep price tag of 123 EUR for one person, it’s very easy to find far better in Porto. The service was friendly, but very slow, despite the fact that only three tables were occupied.

The breakfast was not spectacular either. The minibar in the room was not very well equipped, mainly with cheaper products, but heavily overpriced. I found one bottle of water which had been opened before.

In short, as the other Porto hotels, a decent 4 stars, but certainly not five. Finally, you are not at all staying in a Portuguese palace, as the advertisement suggests, but in a very standard Intercontinental, comparable, but not better than the Sheraton or the Park Atlantic. On great advantage: you are in the very center of the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioJulioNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear AntonioJulioNegro,

Thank you very much for taking the time to do such a detailed review.
We value all our guests’ comments as they always help us to try harder and deliver a better service. Your review pointed out that we need to better focus on some areas improving the consistency of our service and we'll do so.
Although we understand your first experience with InterContinental Porto didn’t meet entirely your expectations, we look forward to another opportunity to showcase the full potential of our hotel and team in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

not much to be noted, but the breakfast quality has to be improved; true, they made a 50% discount in them considering little fails...but it is for its worth a great choice in O'Porto!

the best thing though is location, and the MATTRESSES, you feel like in heaven; staff is also very happy and diligent.

Room Tip: choose the rooms in the front side of the hotel; the higher the floor the better you will have a mag...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F0rjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear F0rjaz,

Thank you very much for posting your review on trip advisor.
We value all our guests’ comments as they always help us to try harder and deliver a better service.
Although we understand we did not yet meet entirely your expectations and as per our last conversation we hope we can continue to count on with your preference and keep improving your experience with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £156 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing