We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Nearby Hotels
US$275
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$248
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$610
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$309
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$80
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Eurostars Oporto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$281
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,138)
Filter reviews
2,138 results
Traveller rating
1,736
335
55
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,736
335
55
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcierge staffduplex suiteastoria restaurantbeautiful hotelthe main squarethe rivertrain stationperfect locationfive star hotelthe heart of the citybeautiful roombreakfast buffetold palacedouro valleyloved this hotelhigh ceilingslong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 2,138 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is really great - starting from the moment you arrive - how employees are greeting you up to your departure! Rooms are very comfortable, beautiful and clean, there is absolutely everything you need: high quality bathroom amenities, kettle with diferent types of tea, iron and ironing board, good wi-fi connection etc. Atmosphere in all hotel is very welcoming and relaxing. You can really have rest from the moment you enter the building.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volk-dasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a walking distance to most tourist attractions. The hotel is new even though the building itself is quite old. The breakfast is quite good with some exotic items like jam made from tomatoes or pumpkin. Rooms are spacious. Good advice was provided by concierge re where to have a dinner.

We have been upgraded on arrival due to having a gold loyalty card.

You might be offered a glass of port wine upon check-in.

Few negatives:

1)They have a shuttle to Corte Inglese (the department store), albeit we have not been told about it - even though we have asked them to order us a taxi to go there. This was a bit of a nuisance.
2) They have not addressed our request re pillows/blankets, which was not too difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zilonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a luxurious hotel with lovely rooms and first-rate service. The value was incredible in comparison to Spain or France. The reception and concierge were extremely attentive. They spoke enviable English and made excellent recommendations. We had a huge corner room with a beautiful view. Though it faced the busy square and train station, there was little noise. The bathroom was enormous. The only minor disappointment was the restaurant, where we had dinner one night. The food was below par, esp. considering the prices.

We would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolandsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Mr rolandsf,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your stay in Porto city.

Your feedback about Astoria Restaurant is important to us and we hope next time we can meet all your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel and our service, we are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay and will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This wonderful hotel is located in a great location easily walkable to everywhere we wanted to go. The lobby is absolutely beautiful. We had a fantastic service from doorman to concierge and reception and this service continued during our entire 5 days stay. Our deluxe square view room was spacious, beautifully furnished and felt really luxurious. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever had in any hotel. It was on the top floor and on the corner with windows on two sides (room 305). Even though it faced 2 busy streets, it was remarkably quiet. The bathroom with double sinks had both a tub and shower. It was spacious and beautifully finished. The buffet spread was excellent although the quality of the baked goods was not of the standard expected at a hotel of this caliber. The service was good but also not quite what we expected. We ate dinner one night in the restaurant. It was very good, but again not outstanding and service lacked polish. Overall, this is a wonderful hotel and given everything that it has to offer and the superb service (with the possible exception of the restaurant) the Palacio das Cardosas gets our top rating.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing the square are fantastic. Our corner room (305) was incredible-windows on 2 sides, bright and spacious. Even though we faced 2 busy streets, it was amazingly quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs SanFran11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our service, comments like yours motivates our team to deliver their very best everyday.
We are doing some changes in our Astoria Restaurant and we are pleased that you gave your feedback so we may improve our service and quality. Hoping we may surprise you in your next stay in our Hotel.

Nevertheless we are thrill you enjoyed your room and the Hotel location was convenient during your stay.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at the InterContinental as part of a tour group. The staff spoke English a huge plus since we do not speak any Portuguese and were very well trained and cordial. The rooms and public areas are just gorgeous and very well maintained. The breakfast buffet (included in our tour pckg) was great. The Portuguese really know how to make delicious pastries!! The hotel overlooks a large square with the city hall at the other end of the square. The train station is right around the corner and is a must to see. Lovely tiles telling a historical story. The area felt very safe and we walked to the Gaia area at the river. Take the funicular back up the hill unless you enjoy over 200 stairs. Highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosemagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs moosemagnet,

Thank you for the kind words and for the feedback about your recent stay at the Intercontinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

The central location of the Hotel allows our guests to walk easily through town and touristic areas.

Hoping we have presented a memorable stay for all the group and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews