We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stand out place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Stand out place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Here is a really outstanding example of a 5star experience.
We got the room on the corner of the 3rd floor probably the one they use for promo photo. 4 windows with views onto the new square and San bento.

Beautiful hotel.
Concierge was very knowledgeable and went the extra mile to guide us in his city.

Location really central and much preferred to down at the river.

I can imagine few places would be better than this for a visit to Porto

Room Tip: The one on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalmTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear CalmTraveller75

We want to thank you for such a wonderful review!
It is a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet yours expectations, and that you enjoyed so much the Executive Room you’re given… it’s indeed lovely!!
We will share your review with our team, and celebrate with the Concierge the great work they did.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us such a positive feed back.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours truly,

Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    288
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
299
1,034
60
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
great falls, mt
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Travelers to Porto would be well advised to stay at this first class property. Location, on-site food, concierge, rooms all exceeded expectations. The lobby and rooms have a Four Seasons/Ritz/Fairmont feel and are up to date but not to modern. The staff was very helpful, highlighted by the concierge services which was spot on with restaurant recommendations and a private guide for Duoro valley. Breakfast buffet was top notch and it was a nice touch to have english language newspapers in the lobby. We stayed in several properties in Portugal during a two week stay and this offered the most relaxing experience.

Very deserving the #1 hotel in area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insecret9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear insecret9,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us such a great review.
It's very rewarding to hear (read) that you enjoyed your stay in all aspects, and therefore it was a memorable one! We are very glad to acknowledge we made the best out of your stay in Portugal.
Thank you very much!! We work hard with our teams in order to deliver a very high level of service and comments like yours are the best way to motivate them. We will celebrate with the Team!

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Yours Sincerely

Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is really great - starting from the moment you arrive - how employees are greeting you up to your departure! Rooms are very comfortable, beautiful and clean, there is absolutely everything you need: high quality bathroom amenities, kettle with diferent types of tea, iron and ironing board, good wi-fi connection etc. Atmosphere in all hotel is very welcoming and relaxing. You can really have rest from the moment you enter the building.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volk-dasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a walking distance to most tourist attractions. The hotel is new even though the building itself is quite old. The breakfast is quite good with some exotic items like jam made from tomatoes or pumpkin. Rooms are spacious. Good advice was provided by concierge re where to have a dinner.

We have been upgraded on arrival due to having a gold loyalty card.

You might be offered a glass of port wine upon check-in.

Few negatives:

1)They have a shuttle to Corte Inglese (the department store), albeit we have not been told about it - even though we have asked them to order us a taxi to go there. This was a bit of a nuisance.
2) They have not addressed our request re pillows/blankets, which was not too difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zilonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanFrancisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a luxurious hotel with lovely rooms and first-rate service. The value was incredible in comparison to Spain or France. The reception and concierge were extremely attentive. They spoke enviable English and made excellent recommendations. We had a huge corner room with a beautiful view. Though it faced the busy square and train station, there was little noise. The bathroom was enormous. The only minor disappointment was the restaurant, where we had dinner one night. The food was below par, esp. considering the prices.

We would absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolandsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Mr rolandsf,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your stay in Porto city.

Your feedback about Astoria Restaurant is important to us and we hope next time we can meet all your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel and our service, we are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay and will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This wonderful hotel is located in a great location easily walkable to everywhere we wanted to go. The lobby is absolutely beautiful. We had a fantastic service from doorman to concierge and reception and this service continued during our entire 5 days stay. Our deluxe square view room was spacious, beautifully furnished and felt really luxurious. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever had in any hotel. It was on the top floor and on the corner with windows on two sides (room 305). Even though it faced 2 busy streets, it was remarkably quiet. The bathroom with double sinks had both a tub and shower. It was spacious and beautifully finished. The buffet spread was excellent although the quality of the baked goods was not of the standard expected at a hotel of this caliber. The service was good but also not quite what we expected. We ate dinner one night in the restaurant. It was very good, but again not outstanding and service lacked polish. Overall, this is a wonderful hotel and given everything that it has to offer and the superb service (with the possible exception of the restaurant) the Palacio das Cardosas gets our top rating.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing the square are fantastic. Our corner room (305) was incredible-windows on 2 side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs SanFran11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our service, comments like yours motivates our team to deliver their very best everyday.
We are doing some changes in our Astoria Restaurant and we are pleased that you gave your feedback so we may improve our service and quality. Hoping we may surprise you in your next stay in our Hotel.

Nevertheless we are thrill you enjoyed your room and the Hotel location was convenient during your stay.


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven County, Ct
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at the InterContinental as part of a tour group. The staff spoke English a huge plus since we do not speak any Portuguese and were very well trained and cordial. The rooms and public areas are just gorgeous and very well maintained. The breakfast buffet (included in our tour pckg) was great. The Portuguese really know how to make delicious pastries!! The hotel overlooks a large square with the city hall at the other end of the square. The train station is right around the corner and is a must to see. Lovely tiles telling a historical story. The area felt very safe and we walked to the Gaia area at the river. Take the funicular back up the hill unless you enjoy over 200 stairs. Highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moosemagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs moosemagnet,

Thank you for the kind words and for the feedback about your recent stay at the Intercontinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

The central location of the Hotel allows our guests to walk easily through town and touristic areas.

Hoping we have presented a memorable stay for all the group and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing