We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel does just about everything right. The rooms are modern and elegant with stylish and functional decor.

The bed and bed linens are soft and luxurious feeling. The pillows and duvet are plush down.

The blackout curtains are the most effective I have ever experienced. I thought it was still the middle of the night when I woke up and opened the curtain and it was already sunny out.

The bathroom was large with a separate shower and soaking tub. The shower was effectively sealed with the door closed so the bathroom floor didn't get soaked. The tub is large and perfect for a long hot bath. The towels are huge and fluffy. The hairdryer in the room is the highest quality hair dryer I have ever found in a hotel.

The staff are helpful and attentive but the service is not suffocating. The lobby and the bar on the ground floor are very nice. The location is convenient to anything one could want to do in Porto.

The valet parking was inexpensive and convenient.

The only complaint I would register is that both checking in and checking out there was only one person working at the desk and I had to wait quite a long time both times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs LikeMagic,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
We are very happy to acknowledge you had such a wonderful stay with us and have enjoyed special the room and our service.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    292
    51
    9
    8
See reviews for
307
1,065
62
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a lovely city is Porto and staying at intercontinental made it even nicer.coming into the hotel what a wonderful smell.we even bought this bottle with scent to take back home.hotel is very well located.concierge services very helpful and attentive directing us to all interesting sites.large spacious rooms and bathrooms.free wifi and such a comfortable bed!
Breakfast had a delicious variety.opening everyday the window we saw sunshine and decorated for Christmas view of the square
Will recommend and come back myself

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilana2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mrs ilana2207,

We would like to thank you for choosing the InterContiental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your recent stay in Porto.

We are pleased to acknowledge you had a wonderful stay and brought home a little scent of our Hotel, so you can remember your experience in Porto city.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel and we are expecting to see you in a near future once again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Impeccable hotel, great service and helpful staff. A real grand hotel, everything modern, however more classic interior. I might prefer lighter colours, however, that's a matter of taste. I'll come back when I going to visit Porto again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Value4Price-Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs Value4Price-Seek,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind words.

The InterContinental brand it’s a classic style Hotel, the guests will know what to expect in any InterContinental Hotel.

We are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent checkin process with Port included. Concierge very good at directing us to all the interesting sites. They recommended O Paparico Restaurant which was excellent and even had the owner of the restaurant meet us at the door when we arrived. Hotel is well located. Next to the train station, metro, and bus lines. Easy walking distance to the Bridge to get to the gondolas taking us to all the Port Houses on the other side of the Douro River. Large rooms, free WIFI, and great views of the square in front of this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawika66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mr kawika66,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

Our aim is to provide our guest with memorable experiences and I am delighted to learn that we were able to leave a positive impression about our Hotel and specially about our service.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Pros: Really nice, seems new, very comfortable bed, good concierge, really nice umbrellas to borrow
Cons: None I can think of

Internet: Free
Parking: 22/night
Breakfast: 24 euros (if I am remembering correctly)

The hotel is located right next to a big square on the top of the hill on the north bank of the river Douro. It is also right next to Porto's main train station which makes it very convenient to get to if you are taking the train. Upon entering the hotel, you are greeted with a wonderful lobby. It is well appointed and very clean. When we checked in, the staff was very professional and friendly. We were actually upgraded to a suite at the time due to the amount of times we've stayed at IHG hotels. We then went up to the room and it was pretty awesome. The suite was on 2 levels where the bottom level was the living area with a full size bathroom and the upper level was the sleeping area with another full size bathroom. The rooms were well appointed and in very good condition. The color scheme was a white/grey/black scheme which really worked well. It was really a beautiful room. It also had great views of the city. The window on the second level looked out to the south and you have a great view of the cathedral and the city.

After enjoying the room for a little while, we went downstairs and spoke with the concierge about a place to eat. He gave us some good recommendations on some local restaurants and also a map to help us get to the restaurant. It was also raining, and he had some really nice golf umbrellas. It required us to sign something that said if we didn't return the umbrella we'd owe 50 euros/umbrella, but it was worth it (and we needed to use it and also didn't lose it). Even if you lost it, it seems like it would be an umbrella that could be worth 50 euros.

After doing everything for the day we headed back for the evening and went to sleep. To be honest with you, it may have been one of the most comfortable beds that I ever have used in a hotel. It was a real good night sleep.

I would completely recommend this hotel. It is a very afordable price when you compare it to other Intercontinentals that are around the world and I think it is worth it to splurge a little for this hotel if you were to visit Porto.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mr Sean F,

Thank your for taking the time to review the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas following your recent stay with us and for your kind words.
In deed our mattress is very appreciated by our guests, they even request the brand upon check-out.
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and our team will be thrilled as it is greatly appreciated when their efforts are recognized.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in our Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

With a location on the end of the city square and having access to multiple neighborhood restaurants, Hop on Bus tours, walking distance to Porto's historical sites, this is an excellent place to begin a visit to Porto. The hotel arranged both our train arrival and airplane departure private car hire which was added to the hotel bill. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and having a shower and soaking tub it was difficult to leave to do sight seeing. All our questions and tour needs were addressed by the Concierge desk. Our 4 day visit provided a whole host of experiences within 10 minutes of the hotel in shopping at a local covered market to having roasted chestnuts from a street vendor, coffee at sidewalk cafes and browsing high end shops. With this being our first visit to Porto, it would be difficult to find a hotel that could provide more on the next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mr John S,

Thank your for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team. Our aim is to provide our guest with memorable experiences and I am delighted to learn that we were able to leave a positive impression.
Once again, thank you for your kind words.

We are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is convenient for those who like to walk. Much better located than The Yeatman with way more reasonable rates. Yeatman rooms are bigger but not any nicer. Located right in the main square Praça da Liberdade, the lobby is rather small but elegant with a beautiful dining room that serves an included buffet breakfast. A really lovely breakfast spread. The rooms are grand and luxurious with rich colors and textures. Big marble bathroom with a nice shower. Our room was on the third floor and looked right out to the square – beautiful, albeit maybe lacking a bit of privacy with the drapes open. We stayed here only one night but were very, very comfortable, particularly for European standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mrs Niki B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
We are glad the Hotel location was convenient and the facilities were up to our competition as to your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcome you back for a longer stay in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing