We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life at the Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Warm, friendly and most welcoming - - We arrived at the hotel and check in went smoothly. Just beautiful marble all around, glass chandeliers, winding stairway etc. Mostly, we arrived there about 7:30am and they were so gracious they let us into our room early since we had been up for 24 hours. What a room! It was a large room with a balcony with a view of the center of town to the far right. The concierge's name was Gonceco - he was most helpful and right on about directions and places to eat and visit. There were four of us (2 rooms) and we had such a wonderful experience. The bar area was lovely with a piano player. We sat there the first night after our wandering and tiring day to enjoy some port wine and music. Service was gracious and very helpful in choosing our Port.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is by far the best five star hotel I've stayed in. First of all, I would like to thank everyone at the concierge for making our stay at the hotel be so memorable. Everyone is so genuinely friendly and helpful. They gave us some great tips on places to visit in Porto, great restaurants and bars/nightlife. The hotel bar is quite cozy and the bartender is very very friendly as well.
The rooms were beautifully furnished and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was very spatious as well.
We enjoyed the large variety at the breakfast buffet.
Kudos again, for the fantastic service!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Mrs Geraldine B,

There are no words to describe how our Team feels reading your kind words and seeing their work recognized by making our guest’s stay a memorable experience in Porto city.

Thank you for electing our Hotel as the best five star you had stay and a big thank you for the kind words.

We are looking forward to your next stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel was in a great part of town!!! Easy to get from the train the station. Great staff made be feel like royalty! Rooms were great where we had a great view facing the main street. Staying in a former palace was great!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Mr JAI S,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.

I’m delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that our staff made you feel like royalty.

Looking forward to receive you once again in our “Palace”.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I wouldn't normally write a review, but my husband and I enjoyed this hotel more than any other we've been to. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were gorgeous and clean. The location was perfect - and our view was stunning. Breakfast was superb! I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Porto.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Shari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Mrs Shari K,

There is no enough words to thank you for the kind words and for electing us the best Hotel you have been to, we hope that you had a memorable stay at the Intercontinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas. We are very proud to acknowledge you will recommend our Hotel to anyone travel to Porto.
We are looking forward to welcome you back as soon as possible and once again thank you for the kindest review.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We try to stay at four and five star hotels, and we travel a lot. This is the best, so far. The staff is incredible; always looking out to see that our stay was optimum. Location could not be better. Took great care of our car (valet) even washed it (for a fee). Loved the bar and their service. Beautiful lobby. Hop on/ hop off right outside the door. Next to beautiful train station. Definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Face the square.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wfredhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mr Wfredhart,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your visit to Porto city and a big thank to you for electing us as the best 5 star Hotel!
I am delighted to hear such kind words about our Hotel and hope we have delivered a memorable experience. Thank you for let us know that you enjoyed the attentive service that our team provided as well our facilities and location witch were convenient during your visit to the city.

All our team is looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've just returned from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, it's beautiful and in a fantastic location in the centre of town. Our room was an executive at the front, it was beautifully furnished and had a lovely view - though do note it can be noisy at the front so if you're a light sleeper take ear plugs. The service was also fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Gus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director Of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mr 18Gus2000,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words. It is very important to us to realize you had enjoy your stay.

We are looking forward to receive you in a nearest future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pleasantly surprised is an understatement. The location is central - a short walk to the Metro. The airport is only about 35 minutes by Metro or 20 minutes away by car. The rooms were spacious and luxurious while the staff was what one would expect from a 5-star property - knowledgeable, courteous and extremely helpful. As good as any Four Seasons and 1/2 the price. It's another reason (besides the charming city) to come to Porto.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobvigersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr bobvigersk,

There is no enough words to thank you for the kind comment about your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
I’m delighted to hear our staff was up to your expectations and the location convenient for your stay.
I hope you remain loyal to our brand and have a chance to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £156 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing