We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality , Location , Service , Friendly and Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality , Location , Service , Friendly and Helpful”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If these are the things you are looking for in a hotel in Porto then you should stay here.
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights from 06 April 2014 booked directly through the hotel website . We booked on a room plus breakfast basis - this is certainly the most cost effective accommodation if you plan to take breakfast every day . We had an executive room on the third floor with a small balcony overlooking the main square Praca Liberdade and up the Avenida Dos Aliados towards the City Hall - a great perspective on the City .
A nice sized hotel , not too large but big enough to have the feel of a quality hotel and somewhere where guests are made to feel very welcome .
The location is perfect , close to all the main visitor places in town , literally just round the corner from the railway station and 15-20 minutes walk to the waterfront . Porto is quite hilly so be prepared for this !
Liberdade Square is a busy place by day and often by night but we had no problems sleeping with the balcony door closed and the aircon on. The room was excellent ; bed large and with a comfortable deep mattress . Beautifully equipped bathroom , Sky News International and BBC World . Free internet which was of a good speed most of the time . Room was well seviced during our stay .
The breakfast buffet is extensive and the staff are very attentive . During busy times some things do run out , that's normal , but the staff are quick to replenish .
Reception is a calm place , not the mad desk I have seen in other places . Its low level with seats for guests to sit down during the process and where normal conversation can also take place . Makes you feel valued .
The concierge is a key feature if you visit the website but is does deliver exactly what it says on the can ! Very friendly , good humoured and well prepared to help you get the most out of both the hotel and your stay in Porto .
As nice a place as we have stayed in anywhere but the people make the difference .
Enjoy as we did.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennantCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    298
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
317
1,088
63
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here before and after a Douro River cruise.
The place is totally immaculate from design, decor, public spaces, rooms, baths, linens.
The staff is amazing, totally solicitous and professional.
We loved the bar which serves a great light menu, reasonably prices food and wine.
The hotel is located at ground zero in Porto...the celebrated tile murals in the train station are just across the street, beautiful belle epoque architecture in the plaza facing the hotel; cathedral, waterfront and all the sights are all easily walkable. If you are sure-footed you can take the old pathway from the plaza in front of the Cathedral all the way down the river, but take the funicular back up!
Avoid the mini bar...
This is a special place with an amazing staff who will delight you.

Room Tip: Front rooms look out at the central plaza with beautiful architecture, but there is a lot of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimsBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in historic restored building - perfect location on main square in centre town, easy to walk to all sites and in a safe area. Rooms very spacious, well decorated, comfortable beds and large luxurious bathroom. Most impressive is the always smiling, friendly staff , and the extremely helpful concierge who never let us down. We thank the hotel staff for a wonderful stay in Porto.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindaPat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I mean really, there isn't much I can add to the review of this hotel that hasn't already been stated. Excellent location, helpful staff, beautiful room, comfortable beds, large bathrooms. I will absolutely be staying here again on my next trip to Porto. Simply one of the best hotels I've stayed at recently. Kudos to the staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prepare4landing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Having travelled through most of Europe for work and leisure for the past decade, I can safely say that this is Europe's best hotel. The staff are multi-lingual, professional and very friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. The bar and restaurant are 5 star dining. The breakfasts are amazing. The hotel's location within Porto cannot be faulted. Finally, every guest with whom I spoke was of the same view. Every city deserves a hotel as fine as this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent ages searching for the best place to stay in Porto and were very pleased that we had decided on the Intercontinental. Excellent location for exploring the city. Good sized rooms with comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Ultimate luxury of being able to have clean sheets every day. Breakfasts were fine but could have been even better.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The rooms where lovely and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the people were extremely helpful and friendly. It is in a great location as well.

The one issue we had was with the air-conditioning. It didn't work that well so at night we got a bit hot. Other than that, it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mrs Holly K,

Thank you for sharing you experience on TripAdvisor.
I’m delighted to acknowledge you had such comfortable and pleasant stay at the InterContinental Porto.
Your comment related to the AC will be pass to our Manager to improve the comfort in this room, thank you for let us know.
All our team will be glad to read your kind words about them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Property: InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing