We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed several times at the Cardosas. A beautiful central location, a lovely building and very fine rooms. However, it stands out for its service. Everyone at the hotel is attentive, happy and helpful and makes a great effort to resolve any query you have, from the best place to eat a francesinha, to where to buy bubble wrap to pack wine, from how to reserve train tickets to Lisbon to the special breakfast cart service for early departures. From the concierge to the rest of the hotel, a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyS724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr JeremyS724,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor and for taking part of your precious time by describing your experience at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
We would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Brand and especially for you kind words about our Hotel and service. All our Team will be delighted to acknowledge their good and consistence service been recognized by our regular guest.

We are all looking forward to open the doors of your “home” once more at the InterContinental Porto.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from a great driving vacation to Portugal and Spain. As some may be aware, Porto is one of the more challenging towns to navigate by car and was our first destination. When we arrived there the staff could not have been more service oriented. Our car was valet parked, we were escorted to reception where we sat on luxurious chairs during the friendly check in process and then given a beautiful room overlooking the town hall square. This hotel has an outstanding location accomodating staff and is decorated in a beautiful fashion. We liked it so much we extended our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr grsteve,

We would like to thank you kind words and for sharing your memorable stay at the InterContinental Porto.
I’m delighted to acknowledge our service was primordial since arriving to the check-in moment and the Hotel met your expectations.
Thank you for extending your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you to Porto.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Fantastic location in Porto--newly refurbished palace--rooms are beautiful and spacious--service is exemplary--rates are not cheap but this level of hotel doesn't come cheaply.I sent an e-mail 2+ weeks before arrival asking them to book restaurant for our group of 6 because restaurant doesn't have website and this was done flawlessly. Staff friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: We were upgraded but my impression was that all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackiecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director Of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr Blackiecharlie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palácio das Cardosas.
I’m delighted you have enjoyed our service previously and during your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the InterContinental Porto.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a 3 day stay and agree with all the reviewers here that it is an outstanding property with top notch staff,rooms and location.

We asked for a room in the back to insure a quiet stay and it surely was that. We chose to not take breakfast here- all sorts of coffee and pastry shops nearby.

Wish there was a property like this in this price range everywhere we visit-definitely a bargain for the best place in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr jfadds,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for post it on Tripadvisor.
All our team wil be delighted to read such kind words and hopes to welcome you back at your “home” in a nearest future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It's not often when you come across a hotel whose service is so impressive that it completely surprises you. Upon check-out, we had to leave the hotel very early to go to the airport. It would have been before breakfast was normally served. Upon exiting the elevator early in the morning, we found a portable table with two chairs waiting for us in the lobby with an excellent assortment of breakfast foods. There are other examples of excellent service on this stay that warranted this review.
Unfortunately, we stayed on the second floor of the hotel facing a public square in this vibrant city. There are definite sound abatement issues that have to be addressed. That is the only reason that I didn't give this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid lower rooms toward the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr Vinoman,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor about your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
We thank your kind words about the service and staff. Nevertheless, we always do our outermost to our guests have memorable experiences. We took note of your comments about the noise and we will forward them to our management team and we will try to find solutions for it.

We hope you may give us the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This overall is a very good hotel, centrally located and probably the best in Porto. But it just falls short of the five star experience.

The staff from the reception, the concierge, to the restaurant staff are largely excellent, well trained and speak very good English. Polite and always willing to help.

On arrival we were recognised for our IHG Ambassador status and were grateful to receive an upgrade to a suite, and a late check-out.

On check-in we were also offered a "special" price of €11 per person for breakfast, which we took. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, but not outstanding. It was not mentioned to us though that omelettes and boiled eggs were €5 extra each. It was slightly annoying as Mrs PT likes her omelette and it really should have been pointed out when the "special" offer is made (better still, the additional charge dropped).

The suite was on two levels, with the bed and bathroom on the upper level and the sitting room and shower room on the lower level. The furnishings were in excellent condition and the bathrooms looked pretty new and well equipped.

Be aware though that on the lower level that the sitting room looks out across a small "balcony" to the concrete wall of the hotel exterior up to head height. There is therefore no view of the square in front of the hotel, and some may find it slightly claustrophobic during the day. At night it is not an issue, but it is an unfortunate fact of life when the building was originally built, and the hotel has made the best of this difficulty. It might have been an alternative to have the sitting room on the upper level so that you get a view over the city from the sitting room.

Other minor detractions, all of which are fixable include:-
No separate plug for a laptop on the desk (which was next to the bed), so the desk lamp had to be unplugged to recharge the laptop if you were working on it.
The desk lamp itself, and the two bedside lights, had pathetic light bulbs that were far too weak to be of any practical value - the bed did have reading spotlights so it was less of a problem.
A wastepaper bin should be provided downstairs, instead of just one upstairs.
One of the two face flannels was removed by the cleaning staff and not replaced - a phone call quickly sorted that.
And curiously none of the 70+ TV channels in the room were showing the world cup matches outside Portugal's group (Mrs PT was grateful!)

Nothing serious, but it all slightly detracts from a five-star experience and is a matter of thinking through some of the practical details.

All that said, we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: The square in front of the hotel can be noisy at night (traffic, music, general hubbub), so you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parseltongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Mr Parseltongue,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and especially for your loyalty to the Brand.
I’m delighted you acknowledge all Ambassador Benefits were delivered such as room upgrade, late check-out and special rate of 11Eur per person for breakfast.
All the details about your feedback will be forward to our GM to improve our room facilities and Wellness service, thank you for taking part of your time to share your feedback which is very important to us.
Thank you for the kind words about our staff, all our team will be thrill to read your comment and see their good service is recognized by our guests.

Looking forward to open the doors of your “home” in Porto city.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. The staff are incredibly helpful and attentive. My room faced the square in front of the hotel and was a little bit noisy due to some events taking place over the weekend but overall a very comfortable large room.

The breakfast choice was very good everything from cooked breakfast to fruits, pastries, cheeses etc. Their is a nice relaxed bar area serving reasonably priced coctails etc which some evenings has live Jazz.

Would stay here again if i return to Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms at he front can be little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 111 in Porto
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £149 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing