We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was a gorgeous hotel in a great location on the main square in Porto. We had a wonderful view from our balcony of the entire square. Breakfast was wonderful. My main complaint would have to be the lighting in the room. The bathroom was so dark that it was actually difficult to see myself in the mirror to put on makeup. The light switches in the entrance to our room were hard to figure out and one night I had to wake my husband from a deep sleep to try to figure out how to turn the light off under my nightstand. I had to call housekeeping because they had hung our wet towels over our robes and had not replaced them when they cleaned the room. They were quick to respond.

Room Tip: Although we were on the front of the hotel, we weren't bothered by the noise as other people lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loisjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Mr loisjoy,

We would like to thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
I'm delighted to see you have enjoyed your Executive room facing the Aliados Av. and you find our Breakfast wonderful.
I will forward your comment to our Maintenaince Department to improve the lights situation reported and please do accept our appologies for the housekeeping situation, I'm happy to see it was solved quickly.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Obviously, you expect an InterContinental to be "tops" and this one is no exception. Conveniently located just around the corner from the Sao Bento subway station. I cannot comment on the "value" since I was using my one free night per year benefit from my IHG credit card. The concierges were extremely helpful with any questions. Rooms were unbelieveable!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DGAT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mr/Mrs DGAT1989 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor during your visit to Porto.
I'm delighted to see you had a memorable stay and to consider our Hotel one of the "Top" InterContinental Hotels.
Would like to thank your loyalty to the Brand and for using your IHG Rewards Club points at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
Our team will be happy with your kind words and are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is really a nice hotel, like most of the inter continental hotels. Actually, it is one of the few chain hotels in Porto. Very good service, very classy rooms and a helpful service. is waiting for you. Strongly recommended...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anilimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mr/Mrs anilimo,

Thank you for you kind words about your recent stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, all our Team will be delighted to read them.
I would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having spent some time in northern Portugal I decided to treat myself to a one night stay at the InterContinental Porto to catch an early flight home from Porto airport.

It is simply a wonderful hotel. The rooms are exquisitely decorated and no expense has been spared. My room was luxurious and spacious. Make sure that you have the very reasonably priced lunch menu at the hotel restaurant - fantastic and authentic Portuguese food in a very grand atmosphere. This hotel is excellent in every respect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is situated close to all of the historical attractions in Porto, but is somehow not noisy. The rooms are spacious, clean and somewhat luxurious. Our bathroom had both a shower and a tub, and all of the extras were there (good hair dryer, nice TV, toiletries, bath robes, etc.). The service we got from front desk and the concierge was fantastic! We asked many questions, and they always responded politely and professionally.

The only negative is that we found the restaurant to be expensive and not very tasty, but besides that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KPL0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We chose this property for its central location (across the street from Sao Bento train station) as we were checking in late from our train ride from Santiago de Compostela/Vigo, Spain. The hotel's staff was outstanding! Extremely courteous, helpful and most professional. In our opinion this is a 5 star hotel. The amenities are excellent and within walking distance to all major tourist sights. The Hop On Hop Off bus tours start at the Plaça da Liberdade just outside the hotel's door! In the future, when in Porto, my wife and I will not consider staying anywhere else! Enjoy beautiful Porto!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We chose this hotel partly because of its Tripadvisor rating and partly for its location. Right on the central square of the old city, it's perfectly placed for sightseeing and we walked pretty much everywhere during our 4-day stay. We had a one-bedroom suite which was traditionally decorated and comfortable. Not a great view - we probably should have asked for a view over the square - but we were on the 4th floor, it was very quiet and we could see the cathedral.
Check-in was speedy and professional and indeed staff throughout our stay were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was an excellent buffet and waiting staff very attentive.
With all these pluses it might seem strange to rate this hotel as 'very good' as opposed to 'excellent'. It is reasonable to expect high standards from a 5 star hotel but we were puzzled
when we arrived at our suite to find just one bottle of water, one glass and one plate of fruit with one knife and fork. A nice gesture, but which of us was this for? We were surprised that we didn't receive water each day and, disappointingly, no chocolate at turn-down. We paid nearly 300 euros a night and for this it's reasonable to expect little extras. There was a coffee machine provided but each capsule was charged at the rate of 2.50eu. There was also a kettle and packets of tea and instant coffee - and two tiny containers of milk each day. We felt we were being rationed! Of course we could have called housekeeping for more but what a bother. Water in the minibar was 6eu for a 25cl bottle and, while you expect to pay over the odds for minibar drinks, this was 12x the price for the same in a local shop.
So, for us, there were minuses as well as pluses.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,344 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 111 in Porto
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca la Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £135 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing