We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveller rating
1,860
352
59
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,860
352
59
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concierge staff duplex suite astoria restaurant beautiful hotel the main square former palace the river train station perfect location five star hotel the heart of the city beautiful room breakfast buffet douro valley high ceilings loved this hotel restaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I was so surprised on this trip to Porto. We were there for only a few days but everything was perfect. The hotel is located just in the heart of this oh-so-beautiful city and I would recommend spending a few more bucks for this incredible location and scenary. Our room was breathtaking, with a view to the City Hall (we didn't even mind the noisy friday night kids just to enjoy the light of the morning shining on the antique buildings). The staff was so polite, welcoming and helpful. Special thanks to the Concierge and Bellman staff, always willing to give us a help around the city. They managed to get us into the best restaurants with only a few hours notice. As for the restaurant inside the hotel, "Astoria", we had a delightful experience. We found the food was amazing, having an great view from our table to the main square as well as to the beautiful train station located just around the corner. However, we felt the restaurant was really understaffed. There were only two waiters working the room with a third one bringing the food to our tables from the kitchen. The restaurant was pretty packed so we almost felt bad for them... You could see they were trying really hard (and both ladies were absolutely lovely and treated us amazingly well, no complaints there!) but seems like a bad management decision to have such a short amount of staff in a luxury hotel restaurant with so much potential! The service was just excelent despite everything else and the food was delicious... Regardless of all the workload they had going on, one of the ladies took the time to recommend us some wines to try as well as great places to eat the famous Francesina! So just imagine how flawless it would be if the staff wasn't so overwhelmed... I thought I would mention this because same thing happened to us at the bar for the next two days we were there: only one girl waiting tables alone all night with a full bar, serving drinks and food. Managers, be aware of this situation and take care of your staff. I must say it is such a shame that this happens because it was the only flaw we found in this amazing stay. But still, five stars for sure!!!

Room Tip: Avenue view rooms are so worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JScottMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

My expectations coming to this hotel were high: #1 on TripAdvisor, mostly 5 star reviews, even the taxi driver (from the airport) recommended it.

The location is absolutely ideal; the building is beautiful. The concierge staff is awesome and had an outstanding recommendation for dinner, which was in fact the best meal I've ever had in Porto (and I've been to Porto many times). The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was decent -- which in Portugal, a country that doesn't really "do" breakfast in the American sense of the term, means above average.

Unfortunately, we had to be here exactly during one of the days everything conspired to prevent us from having decent nights of sleep, which is, of course, what hotels theoretically are for...

Let me explain:

As in many hotels in Europe, the Air Conditioning system is turned off in late September, to only be turned back on in March / April. And we were at this hotel in early November.

Unfortunately there had just been a string of very hot days, followed by a few very humid days, so the rooms heated up quite a bit. Unfortunately, the hotel's location and the fact this is Porto also means opening a window results in serious street noise, 24/7.

So it was between trying to sleep in an 80 F / 27 C room (which we tried the first night) -- nope, no sleep -- and opening the window and dealing with the noise (which we tried the second night) -- nope, no sleep either.

Ultimately the InterContinental failed at the most basic function of a hotel, while excelling at everything else.

Hopefully they eventually will stop turning off the A/C in September...

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FSFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel Kanazawa S, Duty & Quality Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear FSFan,

First of all we would like to thank you for this constructive review following your recent stay at InterContinental Porto - Palácio das Cardosas.
We were very concerned to learn of your feedback and would like to sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience with our Air Conditioning system.

Please allow me to explain you that our AC system is turned on 365 days/year.
All rooms are equipped with a main switch with self control, allowing our guests to choose if they like to switch it On or Off or simply increasing or decreasing the temperature and its air flow.
The system itself is so complete and environment friendly that the sensors installed in each window will interrupt the air flow in case those windows are opened and not latched as per the manual placed besides the A/C controller.

Much to my regret we did not have the opportunity to meet in person, as I believe we could have guaranteed a fast and reliable solution of problems on site without harming your experience in our property.

In another hand it’s very pleasing that you remarked our Concierge service and we are also very happy that you noticed the central location of our Hotel .

As mentioned previously, we value your constructive feedback and we are committed to enhancing our services, therefore your comments have been shared with appropriate head of departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a more satisfying experience,

Yours sincerely,
Joel Kanazawa Saldanha

Duty & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We loved everything about this absolutely fantastic hotel! It's in the perfect location, within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. Our suite was spacious and luxurious! At the end of exhausting, yet totally satisfying, days of sightseeing, I looked forward to falling into the dreamy bed with piles of pillows and fine fluffy bedding! Oh what a bed!!! The staff was exceptional...just total hospitality!!! The concierge, Roger, was amazing, we loved him! When only the very best will do, look no further/save the research, just stay here!

On another note, please don't let your guidebook undersell this incredible city! Even on the quickest of tours it deserves 3 nights and 2 FULL days! To put this recommendation in context (and to describe my personal travel style), I always like to joke that "I want the tapas, not the meal". What I mean is, I want to taste of little bit of this city and a little bit of that city, but I don't want to spend too much time in any one city. This is a rare city where I could have easily spent a week! There is so much to see and do (and eat!!!) in Porto! What an amazing city!!! All fingers and toes crossed that life will bless me with the O-Porto-tunity to return!!! ❤️

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Rmgtampafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Mint marble interior with above and beyond ‘make yourself at home’ caring staff.
We stayed a week and every detail perfection.
Mind blowing good; a true gem.
Best location. Around corner from train station. Shopping and docks walking distance. Plenty to do. At foot of town square center of city.

Room Tip: It’s all good. Won’t worry about playing games.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel Kanazawa S, Quality Manager at InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Jan T,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Hotel InterContinental Porto and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.
It is also a big pleasure for us to read such a nice tittle as "Maserati of Hotels"!

Thank you also for praising our team, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests.

We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in the industry, and your comments are an endorsement of such belief.

Again, thank you for choosing InterContinental Porto and for letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel InterContinental Porto in a not too distant future.

With warm regards,
Joel Saldanha

Duty & Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The hotel is beautiful and is arguably in the best location of any hotel in the city, but what really made it stand out was the service.

Goncalo was amazing and did everything to make sure that our stay was absolutely perfect - he went above and beyond. Here's an example. On our last night in Porto, we were looking for a restaurant nearby with local cuisine that could accommodate food allergies. He gave us the name of a restaurant. As we were about to leave, he actually called the restaurant, spoke to them in Portuguese to make sure that they could make something safe for a celiac diet, and handled the situation impeccably. When he got off the phone, he told us that our reservation was at 8:30! He also was able to provide convenient parking for our rental car, recommend and arrange transportation to an FC Porto game, and give us helpful information about wine tastings in the area. Goncalo was the best - his help, knowledge, professionalism, and service was top-notch.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but had drinks in the hotel bar area as well as light snack/tapas food. The caprese salad with pesto was very fresh and good, and the sangria was great as well.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again if I return to Porto.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews